Skip to Main Content

Onboarding Landing Page: Librarians

Introduction

Depending on how your institution has purchased Boards & Beyond, you (the library) may be managing the subscription in full or you may 0be managing access to the subscription through the library. This guide includes everything librarians need to know to configure off-campus access to Boards & Beyond and First Aid Forward and add Boards & Beyond and First Aid Forward to your Database A-Z List.

If you are managing the subscription in full, please also review the Administrators page. 

Configuring Off-Campus Access

Boards & Beyond 

Boards & Beyond supports a variety of off-campus authentication options, including EZproxy, OpenAthens, and VPN. 

  • EZproxy: Please add our EZproxy stanza to your config file (or request that it be added if your EZproxy is hosted). Once complete, send notice of completion and your EZproxy IP address to CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com 
  • OpenAthens: Contact your OpenAthens rep to turn on OpenAthens for Boards & Beyond. Once complete, send notice of completion and your proxy IP address to CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com 
  • VPN: Please send the IP addresses for your VPN to CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com so we can confirm we have them on file. 

First Aid Forward

There is nothing you need to do to enable off-campus authentication for First Aid Forward! That is because it already works: First Aid Forward utilizes implicit access to authenticate users. We have a list of email domains on file in the backend of First Aid Forward. Users must create an account in First Aid Forward with their institutional email address to gain access to your First Aid Forward subscription (e.g. if we have the domain @mheducation.com on file, I could create an account with my email CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com but it would not work to create an account with CustomerSuccess@gmail.com). Learn more about creating an account and maintaining access in our Access First Aid Forward guide. 

Databases A-Z

We know everyone does their A-Z List a little differently, and we're here to help provide a description that works for you and your users. 

To provide the clearest instructions to users, we recommend copying Access First Aid Forward to your own LibGuides and then linking to the guide in your A-Z list description. See A-Z List (with LibGuide) below. 

If you if you don't have LibGuides, or prefer not to copy our LibGuide, you can simply add descriptions to your A-Z List instead. See A-Z List (without LibGuide) below.  

Questions? Email CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

A-Z List (with LibGuide)

First Aid Forward - Step 1 

First Aid Forward - Step 1 is a digital study companion for preclinical education and USMLE Step 1 prep. It includes the most up-to-date First Aid editions of the First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 core book, Cases for the USMLE Step 1 book, and Clinical Pattern Recognition for the USMLE Step 1 book, as well as subject-level quizzes, performance tracking, advanced note-taking, and more. 

Follow these instructions to gain and maintain access. 

First Aid Forward - Step 2 

First Aid Forward - Step 2 is a digital study companion for clinical education and USMLE Step 2 prep. It includes the most up-to-date editions of the First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 core book, Clinical Algorithms for USMLE Step 2 book, and Clinical Pattern Recognition for Step 2 book, as well as subject-level quizzes, performance tracking, advanced note-taking, and more.

Follow these instructions to gain and maintain access. 

A-Z List (without LibGuide) 

First Aid Forward - Step 1 

First Aid Forward - Step 1 is a digital study companion for preclinical education and USMLE Step 1 prep. It includes the most up-to-date First Aid editions of the First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 core book, Cases for the USMLE Step 1 book, and Clinical Pattern Recognition for the USMLE Step 1 book, as well as subject-level quizzes, performance tracking, advanced note-taking, and more. 

First-time users will need to go to First Aid Forward - Step 1, enter their institutional email address, and get a magic link to sign in.

To keep access to Step 1 active, you must go to First Aid Forward - Step 1 and sign in via magic link once every 180 days. 

First Aid Forward - Step 2 

First Aid Forward - Step 2 is a digital study companion for clinical education and USMLE Step 2 prep. It includes the most up-to-date editions of the First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 core book, Clinical Algorithms for USMLE Step 2 book, and Clinical Pattern Recognition for Step 2 book, as well as subject-level quizzes, performance tracking, advanced note-taking, and more.

First-time users will need to go to First Aid Forward - Step 2, enter their their institutional email address, and get a magic link to sign in.

To keep access to Step 2 active, you must go to First Aid Forward - Step 2 and sign in via magic link once every 180 days. 

The following is a template for your A-Z list. Please edit the template with your institution-specific information [marked by brackets]. If you're missing any of this information, email CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com and we'll send it over to you. 

We also recommend adding full registration instructions to your own LibGuides. Your Boards & Beyond admin will have received these instructions; email them or CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com if you need a copy. Find a copyable LibGuide template here. 

Boards & Beyond  [link to your institution's landing page]

Alternate Name(s) Boards and Beyond 

Boards & Beyond from McGraw Hill Medical provides on-demand video libraries and USMLE-style questions. [Our institution's] access includes [products e.g. Step 1-Preclinical, the OMM Series]. 
 
IMPORTANT! Affiliation lasts [# of days, 180 by default] days. You must sign in through the link on the library page or from on-campus at least once every [xxx] days to maintain access to our subscription.