AccessScience: Using AccessScience

Contact CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com to request custom training; or view the additional options below.

General Overview Webinars: Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar providing a tour of site features and available content.

User Guides: Watch the AccessScience Overview for a quick start using basic functions of the site, or download the User Guide for detailed descriptions of content types and site functionality.

• Agriculture, Forestry & Soils
• Anthropology & Archeology
• Astronomy & Space Science
• Biology
• Chemistry
• Computing & Information Technology
• Earth Science
• Ecology & Environmental Science
• Engineering & Materials
• Food Science & Technology
• Forensic Science
• General Science Concepts
• Mathematics
• Medicine & Health Sciences
• Paleontology
• Physics
• Psychiatry & Psychology
• Scientific & Engineering Instruments

Add the AccessScience Search Widget to your guides!

Get the code at this page: https://www.accessscience.com/search-widget

General Search:

• Search for terms across all content types
• Start typing and autocomplete will suggest titles related to your search terms
• When searching a common term, the first result will be a definition of that term

Advanced Search:

• Search for an exact phrase by putting the phrase in quotation marks Example: "cellular respiration" 
• Search for results with multiple terms using uppercase "AND" Example: cellular AND immunology
• Search for results with one term or another using uppercase "OR" Example: cellular OR microbial
• Exclude terms from your search with uppercase "NOT" Example: cellular NOT plant

Search Results:

• Misspelled terms will yield a "Did you mean?" result
• Use the filters on the left-hand side of the page to filter by content type or topic
• Save searches to your personal account to use again, or sign up to get email alerts for new results

Articles:

AccessScience articles are written by world-renowned scientists and experts in their field. Thousands of expert scientists and engineers have contributed, including over 40 Nobel Prize Laureates. Articles are skillfully edited to be engaging and informative and contain pedological features to increase student understanding.

Biographies:

AccessScience contains a collection of text and video biographies of prominent scientists. Video biographies are all under six minutes and describe the featured scientist’s background and developing interest in science as well as their significant contributions.

Books:

AccessScience contains a growing collection of upper-level science books and Schaum's Outlines for math and science courses. Correlations of book chapters to AccessScience articles support deeper exploration of concepts.

Editorial Briefings:

AccessScience briefings are shorter, topical articles written by AccessScience editors on the latest discoveries, phenomena, and scientific breakthroughs. With their engaging content and highly relevant topics, briefings are a great tool for helping students pick a topic for a research assignment.

News Stories:

AccessScience includes curated content from Science News magazine, an independent source of accurate information. Browse stories by year or by topic to stay on top of the latest news of science, medicine, and technology.

Videos:

AccessScience includes over 700 videos and animations to illustrate and explain various scientific concepts. Videos include a curated collection from the American Chemical Society on the chemistry of everyday life.

Additional Features Include:

• Tools to generate a citation, share a direct link, or save the item to your personal account
• Related content sections with links to additional AccessScience content
• Contributor information including institutional affiliations
• External links to related primary literature and references to additional readings and websites (Articles & Briefings)
• Key Concepts and Self Test sections help you learn (Articles)

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality educational material covering all major scientific disciplines. An acclaimed gateway to scientific knowledge, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.

To register for a free personal account:

• Click on My Account from the homepage or any content page to open the sign-in window.
• Click Login via email/username to create your personal account. 
• Click Register, then enter the required information.
• (Optional) Select topics of interest to receive email alerts when new content is added in those areas

Personal account features include:

• Bookmark individual items to your account.
• Organize your content with your own labels.
• Save searches and sign up to receive email alerts when new content is added related to that search.

PLEASE NOTE:

• Personal accounts are an optional feature and are not required to view or use any of the content on the site.
• Personal accounts do not replace authentication via your institution; you must first be logged in through your institution to use AccessScience.