AccessPhysiotherapy: Getting Started

Gross Anatomy Lectures

Student-friendly 10-15 minute lectures on different aspects and features of anatomy, including:

• Back Muscles
• Vertebral Column
• Spinal Cord and Spinal Nerves
• Dermatomes
• Myotomes
• Anterior Thoracic Wall - Structure
• Mediastinum
• Mediastinum: Sympathetic Pathways
• Overview of Abdomen, Pelvis, and Perineum: Osteology
• Overview of Abdomen, Pelvis, and Perineum: Gut Tube

Please view the complete collection Gross Anatomy Lectures at this link.

Anatomy and Physiology Revealed (APR)

An interactive cadaver dissection experience designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation with detailed information and audio pronunciations to help build anatomical knowledge. Comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.

Interactive cadaver dissection tool uses cadaver photos combined with layering technique that allows you to peel away layer by layer to reveal structures beneath the surface

Each section features animation, dissection, histology, and imaging slides and interactive self-test

Great way for students to learn and practice their anatomical knowledge through detailed imaging slides and animations

APR is keyboard navigable, offers descriptive text for functionality (buttons were added), is available for mobile delivery, and now has options for students with low vision, such as choice of highlighting colors and arrows within images. Efforts are ongoing to increase accessibility of this technology.

View the Anatomy & Physiology Revealed User Guide at this link.

Also, view the Anatomy & Physiology Revealed overview video below:

The video collection in AccessPhysiotherapy offers users student-friendly length procedural and conceptual videos in different categories navigable on the left-hand sidebar, including:

• Clinical Presentation of Disease
• Diagnosis
• Examination/Evaluation
• Interventions
• Medical/Surgical Procedures
• Physiologic Areas
• Specialty Areas

View the complete video library in AccessPhysiotherapy at this link.

Multimedia items come with their own unique durable URLs found in the browser URL link at the top and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS course page, lecture slides, syllabus, etc. See the "Linking to Content" box in this guide to find out more about linking to content on AccessPhysiotherapy for course integration.

In each video, users can take advantage of the player tools found in the menu in the video, including to share and download. The accompanying transcript is available for each video on AccessPhysiotherapy.

Interactive Modules

These modules are derived from Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine, 4/e. Through videos, quizzes, images, and interactive elements, users will learn clinical approaches to assessment and techniques for managing common injuries and pain:

• Module 1: Hip-Related Pain
• Module 2: Acute Ankle Injuries
• Module 3: Anterior Knee Pain
• Module 4: Ankle Pain
• Module 5: Acute Knee Injuries
• Module 6: Lateral, Medial, and Posterior Knee Pain

Notes: (I icon), noteworthy facts (F icon), images and tables (respective icons) 

Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, 6e

The #1 most trusted evidence-based text in orthopaedic physical therapy. The definitive text for orthopedic students, Dutton’s delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment.

This new edition offers the perfect balance in its coverage of the continuum of care, emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features.

Evidence-based and written by a prominent practicing therapist, this is an essential resource for physical therapy students and practitioners.

Features:

• 1,200+ photos and illustrations depict orthopaedic techniques
• NEW videos on testing and method techniques available on AccessPhysiotherapy
• NEW information on balance, pain assessment, gait, and concussions
• Incorporates the APTA Practice Patterns to address certain dysfunctions

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Clinical Anatomy: A Case Study Approach

Written to promote the integration of basic anatomy with clinical findings in the context of specific patient conditions.

Use the following format to present clinical cases relevant to each body region:

• Patient Presentation - This section outlines the presenting complaint(s) as might be described by a patient.
• Relevant Clinical Findings - A standard sequence for clinical evaluation is presented: History, Physical Examination, Laboratory Tests, Imaging Studies, and Procedures. It is understood that vital signs are collected and assessed for every patient, but only those that have significance for the particular case are noted. Reference values for laboratory tests are derived primarily from Harrison’s Online (http://www.accessmedicine.com).
• Clinical Problems to Consider - The relevant clinical findings are used to generate a list of diseases or conditions that correlate with the anatomical region involved in the case. The list is not intended for use in making a differential diagnosis.
• Relevant Anatomy - The essential anatomy is reviewed for each disease or condition presented in the list of Clinical Problems to Consider. This section assumes students have knowledge of basic anatomical information and concepts.
• Clinical Reasoning - The Clinical Problems for each case are defined and Signs and Symptoms, and Predisposing Factors outlined.
• Diagnosis - A likely diagnosis is presented and the basis for the signs and symptoms associated with each Clinical Problem is discussed.
• Review Questions - USMLE-type (clinical-vignette) questions that emphasize important aspects of regional anatomy are presented at the end of each chapter. Explanations for the correct answers are given in an appendix.

(Source: Preface)

The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, 2e

The purpose of this textbook is to provide students with the necessary landmarks to accomplish their task—to understand the big picture of human anatomy in the context of health care—while bypassing the minutia. The landmarks used to accomplish this task are text and illustrations. They are complete, yet concise and both figuratively and literally provide the “Big Picture” of human anatomy.

The format of the book is simple. Each page-spread consists of text on the left-hand page and associated illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, students are able to grasp the big picture of individual anatomy principles in bite-sized pieces, a concept at a time.

Key structures are highlighted in bold when first mentioned:

• Bullets and numbers are used to break down important concepts.
• Approximately 450 full-color figures illustrate the essential anatomy.
• High-yield clinically relevant concepts throughout the text are indicated by an icon.
• Study questions and answers follow each section.
• A final examination is provided at the end of the text.

(Source: Preface)

Histology: The Big Picture

With 400 full-color illustrations, Medical Histology: The Big Picture is a different kind of study tool. With an emphasis on what you “need to know” versus “what’s nice to know”, and featuring more than 400 full-color illustrations and micrographs, it offers a focused, streamlined overview of human histology. You’ll find a succinct, user-friendly presentation designed to make even the most complex concepts understandable in a short amount of time.

With just right balance of information to give you the edge at exam time, this unique combination text and atlas features:

• An efficient, study-enhancing design consisting of text on the left-hand page and related illustrations on the right-hand page – allowing you to grasp individual principles, one concept at a time
• The inclusion of detail, often clinical in nature, that clarifies the link between the structural and functional applications of histology
• Review questions and answers at the end of each chapter
• A complete final exam at the end of the book
• Icons that indicate high-yield, clinically relevant concepts
• Key Structures highlighted when they first appear to indicate their importance
• More than 400 full-color illustrations and micrographs depicting essential histology
• Concise, easy-to-remember bulleted text

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Photographic Dissector for Physical Therapy Students: A Step-by-Step Approach 

An accessible guide to anatomical structures and the tools used for dissection.

Learning and naming the many parts and systems of the human body can be a daunting task for medical and physical therapy students preparing for careers in various scientific and medical professions. With a combination of informative text and clear images, Photographic Dissector for Physical Therapy Students provides an unparalleled examination of anatomical structures and the tools used for dissection.

Using visible external landmarks, students will learn how to locate internal structures and develop a better understanding of anatomy. The book offers thorough coverage of the types of tools for dissecting along with detailed photographic instructions for every step of dissection. Each tool is clearly defined with its purpose.

Features:

• Modeled to follow the curriculum of Doctor of Physical Therapy programs, which often includes simultaneous courses in kinesiology and physiology
• Clinical correlates throughout the book provide important information about function and dysfunction in order to inspire diagnostic thought
• Examples are drawn from real cases in clinical practice
• Each chapter contains a checklist of important structures
• Exam-style multiple choice questions and answers, along with explanations and strategies for working through the questions

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Basic Biomechanics, 8e

Is running barefoot beneficial? What is the most mechanically efficient way to move a piece of heavy furniture? Can stretching before a competition worsen performance? How do cats always land on their feet? The answers to these questions are all based on the science of biomechanics. In Basic Biomechanics, 8e, the focus is on the anatomy and movement capabilities of the human body, explained with examples of relevant sport, clinical, and daily living applications. The quantitative aspects of biomechanics are presented in a manageable, progressive fashion, using a structured and problem-based format with practical advice.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Kinesiology: The Scientific Basis of Human Motion, 12e

Since the publication of the first edition of this text, courses in kinesiology have undergone many changes in both content and emphasis. Each subsequent edition has reflected these changes, and the twelfth edition is no exception. The primary goals of this revision have been to update and expand the material where appropriate and to strengthen the textbook as a pedagogical tool. Several chapters have been condensed or rewritten to focus on the most critical points. The resultant content makes this a book ideally suited to help students achieve an understanding of the integrated nature of kinesiology as an area of study that includes both anatomical and biomechanical components.

(Source: Preface)

Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine Injuries, Volume 1

Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine, Vol. 1, is the world-leading title in sports and exercise medicine, providing an authoritative foundation for clinicians and students. This complete practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine covers all aspects of diagnosis and contemporary management of sports-related injuries. This fifth edition has been expanded to accommodate a much higher level of evidence-based content. It reflects the huge amount of new research and significant changes in thinking since the fourth edition was published.

For this volume, all chapters have been comprehensively updated by sports physiotherapists and sports physicians at the top of their fields from around the world. There are more than 300 new figures and tables, as well as six new chapters on training programming and prescription, return to play, and the clinical aspects of pain.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine Injuries, Volume 2

Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine, Vol. 2, is the world-leading title in sports and exercise medicine, providing an authoritative foundation for clinicians and students. This complete practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine covers all aspects of diagnosis and contemporary management of sports-related injuries. The fifth edition has been expanded to accommodate a much higher level of evidence-based content. It reflects the huge amount of new research and significant changes in thinking since the previous edition was published. The contributing editors are an international compilation of globally recognized experts within their fields. This is essential reading for sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, and physical therapy students.

Topics in this volume include: Exercise and health, exercise and disease, environment, harassment and abuse, special groups, maximizing athletic performance, and nutrition for performance.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Ethics in Physical Therapy: A Case-Based Approach

Ethics in Physical Therapy utilizes a unique case-based approach to teach students and clinicians how to apply theoretical concepts to real-world situations.  The cases were carefully selected to encourage thinking and discussion. The accompanying text provides a framework to answer the “should” questions, such as “What should I do?” and “How should I act?” The format provides the opportunity to move beyond the individual realm, when appropriate, resolving issues within an institutional or societal perspective. 

The text is divided into two sections: “Ethics for the Physical Therapist” and “Types of Ethical Decisions: Case Analysis”. They are designed to integrate with one another, but, each section can also be used separately.  Part I provides more didactic, foundational material, while Part II strives to apply ethical decision-making tools to relevant cases in physical therapy practice, with the second section focusing on case analyses.

The purpose of Ethics in Physical Therapy is to give students and clinicians a lens through which to analyze contemporary ethical challenges. Philosophical theory within the text is limited to that which can be applied practically in the clinical setting. This book is not intended to be a work on ethical behavior, rather, it is designed to provide students and clinicians with a framework in which to approach the uncertainty of ethical decision making with tools to aid their inherent judgment.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance, 11e

Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance is designed for students interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The text provides students with an up-to-date understanding of the physiology of exercise through the use of numerous clinical applications.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, 8e

The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system—fully updated with the latest changes and trends.

Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system’s nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change.

Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you’re a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone.

Features:

• Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement
• Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation
• Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health
• Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Neurologic Rehabilitation: Neuroscience and Neuroplasticity in Physical Therapy Practice

A full-color neuroscience text that skillfully integrates neuromuscular skeletal content, Neurorehabilitation in Physical Therapy delivers comprehensive coverage of the structure and function of the human nervous system. It also discusses normal motor development and motor control, as well as common treatment techniques in physical therapy. In order to be engaging to students, cases open each chapter, with questions about those cases appearing throughout the chapter. The text includes numerous tables, flow charts, illustrations, and multiple-choice board-style review questions and is enhanced by a roster of world-renowned clinical contributors. This text covers both pediatric and adult issues and includes full-color presentation with numerous images.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Neuroscience for Rehabilitation

The first neuroanatomy text written specifically for physical therapy students.

Written by recognized experts in human nervous system development, Neuroanatomy for Rehabilitation provides physical therapy students with a thorough understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. Approximately 200 line illustrations and photographs teach students how to accurately interpret the wealth of new human brain images now available.

The text opens with an informative section that discusses the structural and functional organization of the nervous system and includes coverage of functional neuroanatomy and response to injury. This is followed by sections covering:

• Vascular Supply of the Central Nervous System (arterial supply, venous drainage, response to injury)
• Cellular Organization of the Nervous System
• Development of the Central Nervous System
• Functional Neuroanatomy by Ascending Region
• The Brainstem, Cranial Nerves and Visual Pathways
• The Cerebellum and Basal Ganglia
• Diencephalon
• The Cortex

Each section opens with a case study and an overview of key concepts, and concludes with case discussion and review questions. No other text provides physical therapy students and instructors with such relevant, authoritative, and well-written material designed to enhance understanding of the human nervous system as Neuroanatomy for Rehabilitation.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals, 2e

Everything the physical therapists needs to know about the documentation process in one clear, concise, easy-to-follow text.

Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals is your best choice for gaining a solid understanding of the entire physical therapy documentation process. There is no faster or easier way to learn the when, what, and how of physical therapy documentation than this trusted guide. The second edition has been updated to include the most recent professional guidelines, codes, and methodologies and covers timely subjects such as Medicare, electronic record keeping, legal issues, pediatric documentation, utilization review and management, and much more.

With Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals, you will learn how to incorporate all of the general principles of documentation and health information management in order to effectively maintain and organize records, record appropriate information, and receive proper reimbursement based on the documentation content.

Master All Aspects of PT Documentation With:

• APTA Standards and Guidelines, Medicare, Home Health, Electronic Record Keeping, ICF Model and Application, Pediatrics, Legal Issues, Utilization Review & Management, SNF: RUGS and MDS,Sample Documentation Content, Initial Examination and Evaluation Criteria, Continuum of Care Content and Goal Writing Exercises, Documentation Aspects of Supervising PTAs, Abbreviations, Reimbursement, ICD9 and CPT Codes and Application, Chapter Review Questions, Content Principles.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills, 2e

A comprehensive intro to the art, science, and practice of physical therapy.

With Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills, 2e, you get complete and well-rounded coverage of the practice of physical therapy (PT). This comprehensive introduction  provides the conceptual framework you need to build a solid foundation in PT—including a historical perspective of the profession, an introduction to healthcare policy, and in-depth coverage of evidence-informed practice.

The book describes how movement evolves, how it becomes skilled, and how dysfunction can occur; illustrates the necessary skills you need to successfully practice PT; explains how to development areas of expertise, including how to enhance a patient's function in such tasks as bed mobility, transfers, and gait training; and much more. The author emphasizes both patient and clinician safety through the use of correct body mechanics, application of assistive and safety devices, and infection control procedures.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, 6e

The most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies.

This practically oriented guide presents the basic science and current best available evidence for each type of therapeutic modality used in physical rehabilitation. Here, clinicians will find the information needed to determine which modality will be most effective in a given situation to achieve optimal patient outcomes. Each chapter examines the physiologic basis for use, clinical applications, specific techniques of application through the use of related laboratory activities, and relevant individual case studies for each therapeutic modality.

Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, Sixth Edition is divided into six parts:

• Part 1:  Foundations of Therapeutic Modalities examines the scientific basis for using therapeutic modalities, classifies the modalities according to the type of energy each uses, and includes guidelines for selecting the most appropriate modalities for managing pain and for use in different phases of the healing process.
• Part 2: Electrical Energy Modalities discusses the principles of electricity, components of electrical and electrotherapeutic currents, treatment parameters, physiological responses to electrical current, iontophoresis, and biofeedback.
• Part 3: Thermal Energy Modalities focuses on modalities which produce a change in tissue temperatures through conduction and convection including thermotherapy and cryotherapy.
• Part 4: Sound Energy Modalities covers modalities that utilize acoustic energy to produce a therapeutic effect, including therapeutic ultrasound and extracorporeal shockwave therapy. Biologic effects and clinical applications are also discussed.
• Part 5: Electromagnetic Energy Modalities examines diathermy, as well as photobiomodulation (light therapy) treatment techniques and protocols.
• Part 6: Mechanical Energy Modalities includes chapters on traction, intermittent pneumatic compression, therapeutic massage and vibration.

Presented in full color, the text is enhanced by valuable learning aids, including chapter objectives and summaries, figures and tables, clinical decision-making exercises, review questions, instructional videos, a glossary of key terms in each chapter, up-to-date references, case studies, lab activities, and appendices.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2e

The acclaimed on-the-go wound care guide for the physical therapist offering the benefits of both a foundational textbook and a full-color atlas.

Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2/E delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Utilizing more than 700 full-color illustrations and clear, concise text, this unique learning tool provides thorough easy-to-understand coverage of evidence-based concepts of would treatment. 

Each chapter follows a similar design, with consistent headings, brief bulleted text, and numerous high-quality illustrations. Learning aids include case studies, chapter objectives, assessment guidelines, chapter references, chapter summaries, and new NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter. This innovative format allows you to see actual examples via high-quality color photographs and learn foundational concepts through text. The case studies also give real-world relevance to the principles discussed. 

The book’s 20 chapters are logically divided into four sections:

• Integumentary Basics which covers fundamental topics such as anatomy and physiology of the integumentary system and acute and chronic wound healing
• Wound Diagnosis which discusses specific disorders such as vascular wounds, lymphedema, pressure ulcers, diabetes, burns, and more
• Wound Bed Preparation which details debridement and dressings
• Biophysical Technologies which includes electrical stimulation, negative pressure, pulsed lavage with suction, hyperbaric oxygen, ultraviolet, and low level laser therapy

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis

A quick-reference, highly visual guide to diagnosing and treating wounds. 

What is the wound etiology? What factors are impeding wound healing? What interventions will facilitate optimal healing? Those are three questions every clinician must answer when caring for a patient with a wound. Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis provides the facts needed to quickly and accurately diagnose wounds and plan both medical and wound management. The information is presented in a highly visual way: each diagnosis features close-up wound images and a succinct discussion of the pathophysiology, clinical presentation, medical management, and wound management.  

This unique guide serves as a self-assessment tool to help practicing clinicians learn, perfect, and assess   clinical diagnostic skills. Perfect for studying for exams/boards or treating patients in any clinical setting, Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis provides key information in concise, bulleted text, so answers to clinical problems can be located quickly and easily.   

Features essential information on the evaluation and treatment of:

• Ischemic wounds
• Venous wounds
• Pressure injuries/ulcers
• Diabetic foot ulcers
• Burns
• Immune-mediated tissue injuries
• Infected wounds
• Malignant wounds
• Miscellaneous wounds

An appendix lists wounds most commonly encountered based on anatomical location to further assist in making a timely diagnosis.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

AccessPhysiotherapy features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessPhysiotherapy, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessPhysiotherapy highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills, 2e (discusses diverse patient populations and backgrounds)
• Complete Medical Spanish, 3e (discusses cross-cultural communication, chapter on Hispanic patients)
• Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine (discusses cultural, diversity, and environmental issues)
• Essential Elements of Wound Diagnosis (discusses melanin in skin, changes in skin regardless of color, different appearances of blanchable skill in darkly pigmented skin, sickle cell disease, and a burn case study on African American male patient)
• Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2e
• Communicating Clinical Decision-Making Through Documentation: Coding, Payment, and Patient Categorization (Documentation for Certified Nursing Homes, including a resident assessment instrument; content for American Indian, Alaska Native, Asian, Black/African American, and Hispanic/Latino populations)
• Quick Answers: Physiotherapy (includes discussions on disease in African American populations, including Legg-Calvé-Perthes Disease; prostate cancer; diabetes mellitus; Osteoarthritis, Carpometacarpal (CMC) Joint; hip osteoarthritis; and colorectal cancer)

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.