Case Files: Teaching Cases Collection: About

What Is Case Files: Teaching Cases Collection?  

Also known as Teaching Case Files, this collection of unique, real-life patient scenarios from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling teaching cases content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.

Teaching Case Files can help students at all levels excel in coursework and in clinical rotations and allow faculty to include clinical cases into their digital curricula.

Teaching Case Files is an unrivaled collection of peer reviewed clinical cases designed specifically for active teaching and learning. The collection will feature 100 clinical, peer-reviewed cases covered in medical curricula and knowledge comprehension and assessment taken from the United Stated Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) outline.

• Cases in the collection are designed as a roadmap like the approach taken when treating a patient, e.g. all cases start with a chief complaint, encouraging discussion with the patient
• Cases designed to maximize retention
• Cases help faculty teach, rather than passive learning with slide presentations
• Cases standardize instruction, especially useful across a multi-campus institution
• Great resource for clerkship
• Geared toward teaching excellence and not just great test-takers

Teaching Case Files is grounded in high quality pedagogy to include concept mapping and cross-referencing. Our collection of cases spans the curriculum, and each case has multiple components designed to support contextual learning. 

Teaching Case Files collection integrates basic sciences with clinical exposure to align with increasingly integrated 4-year medical curricula. Essential concepts are woven into the cases, including:

• Basic sciences
• Communication and professionalism
• Ethics and cultural sensitivity
• Epidemiology and statistics
• Patient safety and quality improvement

Key Stakeholders

In Teaching Case Files, there are three user types each with a different login. The user types are the admin, instructor (faculty), and student described below. Each user type may sign in to Teaching Case Files.

• Admin: As an instructor, you may or may not serve as the admin for your Teaching Case Files account (admin login credentials provided in welcome letter). The admin account is where you will create and manage user types (instructor and student), as well as create and manage class sections. The admin account also includes tools for pulling user login usage reports. Details on how to create and manage users and class sections, how to pull usage reports, and other information can be found in the Getting Started & Admin Guide. *NOTE: The admin for your Teaching Case Files account may be in your department or college or your institution’s library. Reach out to your admin or Customer Success for assistance with logging in, class sections, and student users.
• Instructor (Faculty): The instructor account holds all case content and visibility controls for students. The instructor account is where your instructors may share cases, assign quizzes, view student performance data, and manage their own respective class sections separately from the admin account. Details on the functionality, features, and tools in the instructor account can be found in this guide below.
• Student: The student account is where your students may view shared cases and complete assigned quizzes.

Dr. Eugene Toy on the Case Files: Teaching Cases

Dr. Eugene Toy is the creator of the bestselling Case Files series and the Case Files: Teaching Cases digital platform. He is Professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, and Assistant Dean for Educational Programs at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

In this interview he discusses case-based learning, why he created Case Files: Teaching Cases, and how students and instructors can benefit from the platform.

The Teaching Case Files Author Team includes Dr. Eugene Toy, Editor in Chief. All case authors are content experts, including physicians, scientists, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants who are also recognized medical educators. The complete list of authors and reviewers can be viewed from the Teaching Case Files Author Team page.

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com. 

For institutional accounts:

• Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

• For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

• To provide feedback on one of our sites, please use our online feedback form.