Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessMedicine: Clinical Sports Medicine Collection

What Is Clinical Sports Medicine Collection?

About Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine

The Clinical Sports Medicine Collection comprises the world-leading Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine, the essential authoritative foundation for clinicians and students.

Written by an expert international team of more than 120 contributing authors from 19 countries, it covers fundamental principles as well as hot topics such as challenging hip pain, sudden death in sport, hamstring tear management, sideline emergency care and the latest in pain science.

The fifth edition Volume 1: Injuries is the essential guide to all aspects of preventing, diagnosing and treating sports-related injuries. It serves physiotherapists, team clinicians, athletic trainers, sports therapists, sports rehabilitators and trainers, as well as students in the health professions and in Human Movement Studies.

The Exercise Medicine Collection — abridged content from the fourth edition — serves general practitioners and other clinicians who prescribe exercise to promote health and to treat medical conditions such as heart disease and diabetes. Additional content will be forthcoming in Volume 2: Exercise Medicine.

The collection also includes more than 40 video master classes showing procedures such as foot examination, hip injections and basic bio-mechanical assessment.

Multimedia

Multimedia videos are organized into multiple categories, including:

Hypothes.is

Hypothes.is is a free platform annotation tool in Clinical Sports Medicine Collection. To learn more, select the PDF guide link below or watch a tutorial on the Access User Center at this link. 

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Literature

Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine 5e, Volume 1: Injuries

Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine, the world-leading title in sport and exercise medicine, is an authoritative and practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine for clinicians and students. This fifth edition has been split into two volumes and updated by an international team of sports physiotherapists and sports physicians. The first volume focuses on all aspects of preventing, diagnosing and treating sports-related injuries.

Fifteen new chapters include:

  • Shoulder pain
  • Acute knee injuries
  • Posterior thigh pain
  • Low back pain
  • Return to play
  • Sport-specific biomechanics

Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine 5e, Volume 2: The Medicine of Exercise

Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine, the world-leading title in sport and exercise medicine, is an authoritative and practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine for clinicians and students. This second volume, The Medicine of Exercise, focuses on the health benefits of exercise and discusses the current medical issues in sport.

The six sections are:

  • Physical activity and health
  • Managing medical problems
  • Exercising in challenging environments
  • Exercise medicine for specific groups
  • Performance and ethics
  • Practical sports medicine

MyAccess Profile

To engage with Clinical Sports Medicine Collection and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu). Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site.

  • Create a MyAccess Profile: To learn more about how to create a free MyAccess profile, select the PDF link below or visit the Access User Center at this link

Searching

The search feature in Clinical Sports Medicine Collection is simple and easy to use. You can learn more about the search feature at this link.

Search:

  • In Clinical Sports Medicine Collection, you can search for resources across all content types
  • Auto-suggest appears as you type (can be disabled)
  • You can "phrase search" using quotations
  • Get the same search results by combining terms together or by using AND
    • e.g., gait biomechanics = gait AND biomechanics

Search Builder:

To the left of your search results, search builder allows you to:

  • Focus the search by modifying your terms (keyword, title, author, ISBN)
  • Filter results by format (chapter, tables, cases, images, multimedia, etc.)
  • Select textbooks to see results by specific titles 
  • Narrow results by topics

Federated Search:

A federated search expands your results from Clinical Sports Medicine Collection to include results from other McGraw Hill Access Medical sites. 

  • Use the dropdown menu to the left of the search bar to select federated search
  • Search builder elements above apply
  • Green dot indicates the item is available in your subscription 

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in Clinical Sports Medicine Collection through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and multimedia content.

For a tutorial on how to link to content via durable URLs, please visit the Access User Center at this link.