Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessMedicine: User Resources

COVID-19 Response

JUST LAUNCHED!

AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central provides all new and updated information on the coronavirus from the best minds in medicine and enables users to review the latest content written by our experts. 

Also, view our Distance Learning Resources on the Access User Center.

For questions or assistance, please contact User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

Searching

The search feature in AccessMedicine is simple and easy to use. You can learn more about the search feature at this link.

Search:

  • In AccessMedicine, you can search for resources across all content types
  • Auto-suggest appears as you type (can be disabled)
  • You can "phrase search" using quotations
  • Get the same search results by combining terms together or by using AND
    • e.g., asthma pediatrics = asthma AND pediatrics

Search Builder:

To the left of your search results, search builder allows you to:

  • Focus the search by modifying your terms (keyword, title, author, ISBN)
  • Filter results by format (chapter, tables, cases, images, multimedia, etc.)
  • Select textbooks to see results by specific titles 
  • Narrow results by topics

Federated Search:

A federated search expands your results from AccessMedicine to include results from other McGraw Hill Access Medical sites. 

  • Use the dropdown menu to the left of the search bar to select federated search
  • Search builder elements above apply
  • Green dot indicates the item is available in your subscription 

User Guide (PDF)

The AccessMedicine User Guide walks the user through a step-by-step self-guided tour of the site, including information outlining all of the resources available in AccessMedicine. Select the PDF document below to download the AccessMedicine User Guide.

Content Maps

With our content maps, our digital medical resources are matched with academic curriculum or professional specialty needs for a specific audience (i.e., medical students, advanced practice nursing students, emergency medicine students, practicing clinicians, etc.). Resources highlighted in content maps include entire books, book chapters, quick references, multimedia, cases, and question banks. General content maps for faculty and students pair key MH resources with curriculum accreditation standards for specialty clinical education (i.e., undergraduate medical, family nurse practitioner, nurse midwifery, clinical nurse specialist, etc.). Customized content maps can be created on a case-by-case basis and are specific to an institution’s educational program or professional needs.

Explore our dynamic list of content maps on the Access User Center.

QSEN Competencies

Integrate QSEN Competencies into Advanced Practice Nursing Education

Download the Free Red Paper

This free red paper provides an overview of the graduate Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) competencies and related knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs). It then offers strategies and exemplars for combining systems-thinking concepts and QSEN competencies for a clinically focused approach to APN quality and safety education.

Renaming Quizzes

In AccessMedicine, you can rename review quizzes you have completed. In your MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in, AccessMedicine), under the "My Review Questions" tab, you can select the "Rename" pen tool beside any quiz you wish to rename. This is useful for sharing quiz results.

Click the link below to view a tutorial on how to rename quizzes in your MyAccess profile in AccessMedicine or visit the Access User Center at this link.

AccessMedicine Intro Video

What Is AccessMedicine?

About AccessMedicine  

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.

Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts.

AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.

Why Is AccessMedicine Unique?

AccessMedicine delivers indispensable support and invaluable online solutions in medical education and clinical practice through these interactive features:

Leading medical textbooks – More than 100 references help students and residents succeed throughout their medical education, including the latest editions of the world’s most respected medical texts such as, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.

Extensive multimedia library – A unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations that feature complicated concepts presented in terms students can understand are available, including videos illustrating fundamental medical concepts drawn from the world’s most trusted medical textbook, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

Differential Diagnosis Tool – Connect to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a tool that saves you time by allowing you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.

Multiple Quick Reference Tools: 

  • Practice Guidelines are annually updated guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care and Inpatient Medicine that assist in disease screening, prevention, and management by providing succinct digest versions of longer original guidelines.
  • Diagnostic Tests, from the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.
  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.

Self-Assessment – Extensive Q&A from leading references such as Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review and the LANGE textbooks to assist students and residents in exam preparation.

2 Minute Medicine ® – Concise and curated reviews and summaries of new medical studies. Studies are rated for the appraisal of evidence-based medicine.

Customizable Patient Education – Comprehensive, reliable healthcare information for adults, pediatrics, and medicines, available in multiple languages and for thousands of topics to help you help your patients understand their care and improve their health status.

Integrated Drug Database – Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, with printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish.

Downloadable Images – Tens of thousands of photos and illustrations to aid in visual diagnosis are available to save and download to presentations for educational purposes.

Cases – A selection of cases from across the popular Case Files series and Pathophysiology of Disease helps medical students better understand and evaluate real world experiences by offering questions to frame the case and the approach to the patient.

CME – Receive CME credit for searches and prepare for in-services, certification, and recertification with content that covers a broad area of medicine.

About the AccessMedicine App

The AccessMedicine app delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice through these mobile features:

  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.
  • Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Differential Diagnosis Tool provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
  • Diagnostic Tests, from the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

The AccessMedicine app is available to users at institutions with a full site license. To activate and for continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN. Sign up for a My Access account today by logging into your subscription and clicking on your institution name in the upper right hand corner.  To download the app, please visit the App Store or Google Play. 

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to User Services for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

MyAccess Profile

To engage with AccessMedicine and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessMedicine. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site.

  • Create a MyAccess Profile: To learn more about how to create a free MyAccess profile, select the PDF link below or visit the Access User Center at this link
  • Reset Your Password: To learn how to reset your MyAccess profile password, watch this tutorial on the Access User Center

CME

CME in AccessMedicine is designed for the practicing physician.

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of Interstate Postgraduate Medical Association (IPMA) and McGraw-Hill Companies. The IPMA is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

To learn more about earning CME credits in AccessMedicine, select the CME Flyer link below or watch a tutorial on the Access User Center at this link.

Usage Reports

For more information on how to pull usage statistics for your institution, please visit our page on the Access User Center at this link.

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessMedicine through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessMedicine via durable URLs, please visit the Access User Center at this link.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 
  • To request live custom training for your institution, email User Services at userservices@mheducation.com

Hypothes.is

Hypothes.is is a free platform annotation tool in AccessMedicine. To learn more, select the PDF guide link below or watch a tutorial on the Access User Center at this link. 

MARC Records / KBART Title Lists

For more information about McGraw Hill MARC Records and KBART Title lists, including how to receive updates and download records, visit the Access User Center at this link.