Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessAnesthesiology: Getting Started

What Is AccessAnesthesiology?

About AccessAnesthesiology  

AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.

Authoritative, trusted, and comprehensive, AccessAnesthesiology is the field’s leading website guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes three distinguished physician-educators: Mark Dershwitz, MD, PHD; David E. Longnecker, MD, FRCA; and Brian D. Sites, MD.

AccessAnesthesiology can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; allow practicing anesthesiologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification; and provide CRNAs with an important foundation in their career.

Why is AccessAnesthesiology unique?

AccessAnesthesiology provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine through these exclusive interactive features:

  • Leading anesthesiology textbooks – The definitive collection of anesthesiology texts including the comprehensive reference, Anesthesiology, along with the world’s best-selling anesthesiology book, Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology.
  • Interactive Self-Assessment – More than 3,800 Q&A designed to help residents prepare for their in-service exams and boards, and clinicians for recertification or specialty exams such as TEE and Pain Medicine.
  • Practice Guidelines – Concise tables and algorithms summarize the latest protocols to distil essential information for easy access.
  • Cases – More than 100 patient cases from Case Files and Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology help students better understand and explore possible patient scenarios in the clinical setting.

Visit the AccessAnesthesiology support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources.

Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with AccessAnesthesiology and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessAnesthesiology. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.

Multimedia

Procedural and conceptual videos are available on AccessAnesthesiology in multiple categories, including:

  • Advanced Monitoring
  • Airway Management
  • Regional Anesthesia
  • TEE
  • TTE
  • Ultrasound of the Abdomen
  • Ultrasound of the Lungs/Pleura
  • Vascular Access

Click here to ​​​​​​view the complete library of procedural videos on AccessAnesthesiology.

Anesthesia Foundations is an online learning program that teaches the fundamentals of anesthesia education through AccessAnesthesiology. Composed of 9 modules, Anesthesia Foundations will cover important topics that are pertinent to the anesthesia trainee. Modules consist of simulation videos, lectures on difficult topics for further learning, and multiple-choice questions to test your knowledge

Pediatric Anesthesiology Lectures are narrated and provided by different medical subject matter experts and include learning objectives specific to the lecture. These modules are fully licensed for educational purposes and can be shared through email and social media and are navigable on the left-hand side. These modules also are durable URL-enabled, so an instructor can copy the browser URL and embed into a course LMS page to take students directly to the content in AccessAnesthesiology.

Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacology Lectures in AccessAnesthesiology provide short, student-friendly animations supplementing this landmark text. These videos are navigable on the left in each module and are durable URL-enabled for embedding into a course LMS. Multiple animations are included in the following concepts:

  • Cardiac Electrophysiology and Pharmacology
  • Hemostasis Antiplatelet Anticoagulant and Thrombolytic Drugs
  • Neuropharmacology

The online Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three (3) modules:

  • Handwashing
  • Understanding Error
  • Communication Concepts

Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessAnesthesiology through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessAnesthesiology via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.

Overview of AccessAnesthesiology

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessAnesthesiology, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check out the library at these links:

  • Complete Full-Text Library 
  • Archived Textbooks
    • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessAnesthesiology for purposes of reference.

Check out these new and noteworthy texts in AccessAnesthesiology:


Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology, 6/e

  • This text is a mainstay of anesthesia education and training, and of the large market in nursing anesthesia. Already the #1 best seller in Amazon's anesthesia category, the new edition features important updates and expanded content in trending areas of anesthesia right now, including the use of ultrasound and critical care anesthesia.
  • The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology in full color.
  • A Doody’s Core Title for 2021!
  • Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: “to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia.” This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field’s must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.
  • This sixth edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice.
  • Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics:
    • Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember
    • Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice
    • Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty
    • Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall
    • Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care
    • URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories 

Anesthesiology, 3/e

  • This is a fully-revised third edition of Anesthesiology. Edited by University of Pennsylvania's David Longnecker, MD, the editorial team includes prominent anesthesiology and pain medicine chairs from Duke, Vanderbilt, Stanford, and Harvard. This cornerstone textbook on AccessAnesthesiology covering anesthesiology, perioperative medicine, critical care medicine, and pain medicine,  is an essential reference source for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, and nurse anesthetists.
  • Key features of this edition include:
    • Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease
    • Key points and references to encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research
    • Balanced presentations convey clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice

Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, 4/e

  • In a typical hospital, large or small, a small army of health care workers are trained in the use of mechanical ventilation. The importance of mechanical ventilation, and the large number of clinicians who need to be familiar with it, explains why textbooks, manuals, and reference works on the topic are traditionally very popular. This book will be of interest to those in teaching hospitals, community hospitals, critical/intensive care medicine and nursing, allied health schools especially respiratory care, anesthesia, hospital medicine, and pulmonary medicine.
  • This content in this book is practical. For example, the chapter on setting the ventilator, is every day, essential information of the most clinical, frontline nature possible. The book stays grounded in presenting essential clinical topics every hospital-based provider will at some point encounter, such as:
    • Ventilation in specific diseases, from respiratory distress to neurologic disease
    • Patient positioning in different modes of ventilation
    • Complications of ventilation such as lung injury and infections
    • How to use and understand the ventilation equipment
    • How to manage the patient on ventilation, with coverage of topics such as sleep disorders, psychological impairment; and weening the patient off the ventilator
    • The ethics and economic aspects of ventilation, which hospitals need to address frequently

Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3/e

  • Author Martin J. Tobin is renowned for being a foremost expert on mechanical ventilation, and this text is widely regarded as being the most comprehensive and well-respected book on the subject. This book is important for critical care and pulmonary departments. No collection is complete without this book.
  • Dr. Tobin is Professor of Medicine, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Loyola University Health Systems in Chicago, Illinois.
  • This book, especially when paired with the Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, is an ideal resource for community hospitals and their critical care and pulmonary departments. 
  • This text is a Doody's Core Title selection for 2017. Librarians rely on Doody's to know whether a medical book is truly among the best of the hundreds published each year.

Obstetric Anesthesia

  • This is the first book dedicated solely to obstetric anesthesia on the site (although the topic is covered in Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology and Longnecker's Anesthesiology). Obstetric Anesthesia is a great resource for residents who need to be proficient during their training years and is also a dedicated subspecialty of anesthesiology. This concise reference serves as a guide for managing the basics of obstetric anesthesiology and provides information about the most common obstetric and comorbid conditions.

Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e

The cornerstone text on the theory and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing practitioners and students with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques.

Recognized leaders in the specialty have filled this richly illustrated volume with authoritative, completely practical help. Readers will find algorithms for managing or avoiding a wide range of common clinical dilemmas or complications. The book includes time-saving tools such as intravenous-to-oral opioid conversion tables and PCA setup guides as well as a selection of nerve block techniques and advice on their strengths and pitfalls. This handy reference helps readers make wise choices about anesthetics, dosing intervals, equipment, and perioperative management of patients receiving single-injection or continuous nerve blocks or spinal or epidural anesthesia. It tells them how to successfully manage patients with suspected epidural hematoma or neurologic injuries and much more.

  • New information on the emerging use of ultrasound in nerve blocks – including patient outcomes, how it affects resident physician training, and the very latest recommendations
  • Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations
  • Covers the entire field of regional anesthesia
  • Details how to achieve reliable anesthesia and analgesia for surgical interventions on the face and upper and lower extremities
  • Provides information on the advantages and disadvantages of using regional anesthesia in patients with coexisting diseases
  • Features up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications

The Anesthesia Guide

A practical quick reference guide to clinical anesthesiology and useful at the point-of-care in the OR and ICU settings.

This carry-anywhere handbook is concise yet comprehensive, adeptly covering the wide range of topics encountered in the practice of anesthesiology. It is the perfect learning tool for trainees and an outstanding reference for experienced anesthesiologists. Presented in full color, The Anesthesia Guide utilizes numerous illustrations, diagrams, tables, and algorithms to impart must-know information on how specific cases should be managed. Coverage includes drug dosages, monitoring, complications, and clinical pearls. An international team of contributors ensures coverage of topics from a global perspective.

The Anesthesia Guide is divided into thirteen color-coded sections for ease of reference:

  • Preoperative
  • Coexisting Disease
  • Monitoring
  • General Anesthesia
  • Specific Procedures
  • Cardiovascular and Thoracic
  • Neuro
  • Regional
  • Acute Pain
  • Pediatrics
  • Obstetrics
  • Critical Care
  • Rapid Reference (includes important formulae, commonlyused phrases in anesthesiology, BLS, ACLS, PALS, and management of malignant hyperthermia)

Critical Care

A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU, and a Doody’s Core Title for 2019.

LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of “Controversies” chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care.

This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure.  In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists.

FEATURES:

  • Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU
  • Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms
  • Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics
  • Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review

AccessAnesthesiology features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessAnesthesiology, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessAnesthesiology highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html

Quick Reference

This section provides reference information for quick lookup, including:

The Anesthesia Guide

  • A pocket reference if you need to look something up quickly. The book will allow a trainee to be fully prepared for a case and will “remind” an experienced clinician how a specific case should be handled. They have diagrams, images, and other great content.
  • References with links to PubMed literature.

Guidelines

  • We have guidelines that are pertinent to anesthesia practice. This is very important after the shutdown of the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
  • Originating from journal articles. 
  • Links with the G icon are authored digests featuring succinct tables and algorithms to distil essential information for quick reference.
  • The malignant hyperthermia guidelines are coming from the Malignant Hyperthermia Association of the United States.

FDA MedWatch

  • Originating from MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program.
  • RSS feed of clinically important safety information regarding human medical products updated every 2-5 days.
  • Great for students who are likely to engage in pharmacovigilance activities designed to detect, assess, understand, and prevent drug-related problems. 

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Cases

Cases in AccessAnesthesiology provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from these resources in AccessAnesthesiology:

  • Case Files: Anesthesiology
  • Case Files: Critical Care
  • Cases from Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6/e
  • Cardiac Anesthesia & TEE
  • Medical Challenging Cases
  • Interactive Cases for the Oral Boards
  • Virtual Cases

Study Tools

The Study Tools tab in AccessAnesthesiology provides: 

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 

To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com