AccessAnesthesiology: Getting Started

Anesthesia Foundations is an online learning program that teaches the fundamentals of anesthesia education through AccessAnesthesiology. Composed of 9 modules, Anesthesia Foundations will cover important topics that are pertinent to the anesthesia trainee. Modules consist of simulation videos, lectures on difficult topics for further learning, and multiple-choice questions to test your knowledge

Pediatric Anesthesiology Lectures are narrated and provided by different medical subject matter experts and include learning objectives specific to the lecture. These modules are fully licensed for educational purposes and can be shared through email and social media and are navigable on the left-hand side. These modules also are durable URL-enabled, so an instructor can copy the browser URL and embed into a course LMS page to take students directly to the content in AccessAnesthesiology.

Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacology Lectures in AccessAnesthesiology provide short, student-friendly animations supplementing this landmark text. These videos are navigable on the left in each module and are durable URL-enabled for embedding into a course LMS. Multiple animations are included in the following concepts:

• Cardiac Electrophysiology and Pharmacology
• Hemostasis Antiplatelet Anticoagulant and Thrombolytic Drugs
• Neuropharmacology

Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three (3) modules:

• Handwashing
• Understanding Error
• Communication Concepts

Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.

Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e

The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology, Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology, Seventh Edition, is an essential resource for all anesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field’s must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.

Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics:

• Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember
• The perfect distillation of essential information: succinct without sacrificing important details
• Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice
• Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts
• Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall
• Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care
• URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Longnecker's Anesthesiology, 3e

The gold-standard text in anesthesiology – from the field’s brightest, most respected minds Doody's Core Titles for 2021! Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, Third Edition, provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine.

Presented in full color and updated to capture the latest breakthroughs and advances, Anesthesiology is designed to provide the practitioner with an authoritative single-source reference that spans the full spectrum of anesthesia practice. Much more than a how-to manual of anesthetic techniques, Anesthesiology, Third Edition presents an accessible compilation of concepts and principles that affirms its status as the cornerstone text in anesthesiology. This edition emphasizes important trends in both the specialty and healthcare in general. These trends include team-based anesthesia care, the remarkable growth of pain medicine practice, and the expanded need for clinicians who are skilled in the practice of critical care medicine.

Features:

• Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease
• Key Points and references encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research
• Balanced presentations present clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice
• Essential for residents and students preparing for initial certification, and for practitioners preparing for recertification

(Source: Vital Source)

Hung's Difficult and Failed Airway Management, 3e

A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway emergencies – updated to reflect the latest devices and techniques.

Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia™, this beautifully illustrated and extensively referenced text delivers a comprehensive review of the latest options available for airway management and offers expert coverage of the full spectrum of airway management techniques. 

Within its pages you will find the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. You will also find numerous algorithms, many of which have been revised for this edition.

Presented in full color, the book is enhanced by dozens of airway management vignettes, divided into:

• Pre-Hospital Airway Management
• Airway Management in the Intensive Care Unit
• Airway Management in the Operating Room
• Airway Management in the Pediatric Population
• Airway Management in Unique Environment

These cases teach trainees the fundamental approaches to airway management, and include self-evaluation questions to reinforce the lesson. For experienced anesthesiologists, the cases present an opportunity to learn about recently introduced devices and techniques they may wish to incorporate into their clinical practice. 

If you are in need of an expertly written text that describes all of the leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management, your search ends here.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Understanding Crisis in Critical Care

The first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19—and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis.

From a team of global experts, Understanding Crisis in Critical Care describes the global spread of COVID-19 and analyzes how it was managed compared to other deadly epidemics, such as SARS and MERS. The book features contributors from across the world who dealt first-hand with COVID-19, making this a truly global retrospective on new global pandemics. 

Organized into three sections, the text covers critical care changes associated with crises, crises in pandemics, trauma, and crises in war and natural disasters. You’ll learn how hospitals are transformed to accommodate surges in patients, while dealing with shortages in staffing, medications, mechanical ventilators, and personal protective equipment and get an invaluable look at how real-time critical decision were made during the height of the pandemic.

Features:

• Working the frontlines
• Antimicrobials versus Immunomodulators 
• Respiratory failure and mechanical ventilation 
• Repurposing therapies for COVID-19
• Endocrinologic and cardiovascular Issues 
• Special Populations: pediatrics and 
• Immunocompromised patients 
• SARS, MERS, COVID-19, Ebola, Anthrax, Influenza
• Traumatic brain and lung injury
• Palliative care and bioethics
• Psychiatric issues
• Intensive care units under austere conditions
• Terrorism (biological and chemical)

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Critical Care

A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU, LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of “Controversies” chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care.

This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure.  In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists.

Features:

• Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU
• Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms
• Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics
• Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Principles of Critical Care, 4e

Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies.

Features:

• A new full-color presentation
• New chapters on ICU Ultrasound, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, ICU-Acquired Weakness, Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, and Judging the Adequacy of Intravascular Volume
• The addition of many new figures and diagnostic and treatment algorithms
• In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses
• A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient’s specific condition
• The integration of pathophysiology throughout the text
• Content that reflects today’s interdisciplinary approach to critical care medicine

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, 4e

The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines.

This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years’ experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians.  To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. 

The fourth edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines.

Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition, is divided into four parts:

• Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation
• Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases
• Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms
• Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e

The definitive guide to the use of mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients – now in full color and updated to reflect the latest advances.

Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation.

Editor Martin J. Tobin – past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine – has enlisted more than 100 authors, all of whom are at the forefront of research in their chosen subfield in order to provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information possible. No other text so thoroughly and comprehensively explores the myriad advances in modes and methodologies that have occurred in this ever-changing field as this cornerstone text.

Features:

• Each chapter has been extensively revised to reflect the latest research
• A strong focus on the biomedical principles that govern ventilator management
• Expert insights from contributors in critical care, pulmonary medicine, anesthesiology, surgery, basic science, provide a unique multidisciplinary approach
• 68 chapters that explore every important aspect of mechanical ventilation, including: Conventional and unconventional methods of ventilator support; Noninvasive methods of ventilator support; Unconventional methods of ventilator support; Physiologic effect of mechanical ventilation; Complications in ventilator supported patients; Weaning of ventilator-support; Management of the ventilator-supported patient; Adjunctive therapy, including fluid management, inhaled antibiotic therapy, and bronchodilator therapy; Ethics and economics

Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e, comprehensively covers the principles and practice of keeping patients alive through the use of mechanical ventilation, along with related pharmacological and technical issues.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e

The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks – updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives.

Hadzic’s is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke’s Hospital in New York. The third edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book’s content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia’s (NYSORA) standards of practice.

Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic’s includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy.

• A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book’s in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures
• Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures
• Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Obstetric Anesthesia

Understand the anesthetic management challenges of the obstetric patient with this complete primer and review

Obstetric Anesthesia is a clear, concise, and practical manual covering the basics of obstetric anesthesiology and the principles of basic management at the point of care. This essential introductory text covers the fundamental topics in an efficient and highly clinical manner. Numerous tables, bulleted lists, and text boxes highlight key issues such as common co-existing diseases and conditions that may affect anesthetic management.

Obstetric Anesthesia features thirty chapters grouped into six logical sections:

• Pregnancy
• Providing Anesthesia
• Anesthetic Complications
• Obstetric Complications
• Common Co-Morbidities During Pregnancy
• Trauma During Pregnancy

Enriched by contributions from practicing obstetrical anesthesiologists and renowned instructors, Obstetric Anesthesia includes the most up-to-date practice guidelines. It is a valuable clinical refresher and an outstanding board review.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Atlas of Pain Medicine Procedures

This must-have resource presents an encyclopedic, yet focused visual survey of pain medicine, with a strong emphasis on procedural technique and safety. Throughout, you'll find detailed, evidence-based guidance on more than 70 pain medicine procedures--all supported by an illustrated presentation that includes 950 figures (many in full color). Chapters are consistently designed--covering indications, procedural steps, and complications--with the text presented in a succinct, bulleted style. Atlas of Pain Medicine Procedures begins with an incisive review of basic applications such as safety and image guidance and then proceeds to core procedures, from spinal interventions and musculoskeletal injections to peripheral nerve blocks. The book also offers in-depth insights on ultrasound guidance as well as fluoroscopic guidance of procedures. The evidence-based focus ensures that the procedures and techniques discussed are grounded in the peer-reviewed medical literature and the very latest pain medicine perspectives.

(Source: Vital Source)

Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e

This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, psychiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine. Every aspect of diagnosing and treating specific pain conditions and syndromes is covered, including general principles, anatomy, physiology, physical and laboratory diagnosis, psychology, and therapeutic interventions.

Each chapter represents a careful distillation of current science, key concepts, and clinical treatments of the subject, all presented in a highly accessible design. The authors have included an extensive list of references at the end of each chapter to encourage further research.

Features:

• Authored by leaders who represent the many disciplines that comprise this evolving field
• Emphasizes the use of injections and nerve blocks as an aid to diagnosis, prognosis, and therapy
• Discusses pain categorized by anatomic location as well as syndrome
• Incorporates vivid illustrations depicting the physical symptoms and anatomy of each site, as well as key findings from MRI, CT, X-rays, and other imaging technologies
• Includes new coverage that goes beyond the clinical boundaries of pain medicine, such as law, ethics, and business administration
• Concise and comprehensive approach is geared for pain medicine board preparation and major section on headache medicine is designed to assist with preparation for board certification in headache medicine
• Illuminates the multidisciplinary perspective and interdisciplinary approach to managing chronic pain with many chapters on the psychology of pain and applications of psychotherapeutic and mind/body interventions

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology

An invaluable new textbook of pediatric anesthesiology—modeled after the bestselling Morgan and Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology.

Filling a void in the anesthesiology literature, this new text delivers a streamlined yet comprehensive discussion of the unique aspects and considerations necessary to successfully manage pediatric patients. Forty concise chapters written by leading pediatric anesthesiologists cover pertinent issues practitioners face in and out of the operating room. 

For each procedure covered, there is a review of equipment, technique, alternatives, and ways to manage complications or troubleshoot errors. Helpful “Focus Points” summarize salient concepts in every chapter. Informative illustrations, tables, and graphs are featured throughout. 

Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology provides the necessary tools to develop a solid understanding of understand pediatric anesthesia and effectively manage pediatric anesthesia cases. It’s an essential resource for both trainees and practitioners.

Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology covers:

• Pre-operative evaluation
• Physiological and anatomical considerations
• Monitoring, breathing systems, and machines
• Advanced airway techniques
• Pharmacology
• Intraoperative complications
• Critical care medicine
• Post anesthesia care
• Advances in pediatric anesthesia, and more 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice

A clinically relevant, reader -friendly text covering everything the anesthesia provider must know about physiology.

This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anesthesia provider. The authors (who are both educators and clinicians)  deliver a complete overview of physiology, but, since this book is written for the anesthesia provider, the bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice. 

Features:

• Numerous case studies demonstrate the clinical relevance of basic science
• The author are experienced educators and clinicians, and know how to present difficult concepts in the most interesting and reader-friendly manner possible
• Key Points summarize must-know information, providing an excellent framework for board review

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e

The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management thoroughly updated.

Since its first edition, Hadzic’s Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques.

This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.  These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks.

• More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators
• Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM
• Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations – nearly all new to this edition
• Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls
• Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications
• Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia
• In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine

A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician.

A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks. Although ultrasound images may help visualize the nerve to be blocked, the images still present a grainy and incomplete picture. Physicians looking to master US-guided nerve blocks are best served by becoming anatomical experts -- and this innovative resource is an invaluable learning tool to doing just that. 

In addition to 2D and 3D ultrasound images, Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine includes high-resolution CTs, MRIs, cadaver anatomy images, and anatomical illustrations to give physicians a comprehensive understanding of the anatomy of the neck, upper and lower extremity, trunk, thorax, thoracic spine, sacral spine, lumbar paravertebral region, and thoracic paravertebral region that are relevant to ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia. 

Features:

• Bulleted pearls impart how to obtain optimal ultrasound images at each site 
• More than 600 full-color photographs and illustrations throughout
• Essential for anesthesiologists and pain physicians, and is also of value to musculoskeletal sonographers, radiologists, and emergency medicine physicians
• Enables you to learn and see, through full-color illustrations, the relevant anatomy for administering successful nerve blocks
• Includes CT and MRI correlations to ultrasound images, plus corresponding anatomical illustrations, cadaver anatomy, and photos of probe placement on the patient. 

Although other texts may provide some of the imaging information contained in this unique atlas, this is the first resource to systematically and comprehensively gather all the imaging modalities for side-by-side comparison under one cover.   

(Source: McGraw Hill)

AccessAnesthesiology features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessAnesthesiology, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessAnesthesiology highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e (includes content on race, ethnicity, and cultural differences)

• Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e (includes content on gender differences and patient care)

• Anesthesiology, 3e (includes content on gender differences regarding sensitivity to pain)

• Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e (includes content on the OR and creating a culture of safety in the OR)

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html. 

Guidelines

• We have guidelines that are pertinent to anesthesia practice. This is very important after the shutdown of the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
• Originating from journal articles. 
• Links with the G icon are authored digests featuring succinct tables and algorithms to distil essential information for quick reference.
• The malignant hyperthermia guidelines are coming from the Malignant Hyperthermia Association of the United States.

FDA MedWatch

• Originating from MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program.
• RSS feed of clinically important safety information regarding human medical products updated every 2-5 days.
• Great for students who are likely to engage in pharmacovigilance activities designed to detect, assess, understand, and prevent drug-related problems.