Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OMMBID: Getting Started

What Is OMMBID?

What Is OMMBID?

Scriver's OMMBID from McGraw-Hill Medical is an essential online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. Based on the world’s most respected book on the subject, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, first published in 1960, Scriver's OMMBID is an indispensable digital reference tool that provides geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases -- with cutting edge information spanning the entire field of genetics. Much more than a literature synopsis, OMMBID provides the latest knowledge on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of a growing list of inherited diseases – as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment.

OMMBID’s distinguished editorial board, led by Editor-in-Chief, David Valle, MD of The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, guides the site’s content. This internationally acclaimed team of researchers, geneticists, educators, and clinicians imparts both depth and breadth within a coherent organ-system based framework.

Why Is OMMBID Unique?

  • OMMBID provides encyclopedic coverage of a host of human disorders from the genetic variation to the clinical descriptions and treatment – through these unique interactive features:
  • Exclusive text availability–Scriver's OMMBID is the only place that offers the complete four-volume text of the definitive resource on the causation and treatment of inherited diseases, The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Diseases
  • Chapter updates – Supplemental updates and chapters are continually added to reflect new developments in the field.
  • New chapters and sections – Stay current with recent developments in cancer genetics, mitochondrial disease, lysosomal enzyme therapy, along with chapters on missense mutations, misfolding of proteins, and chaperones in the pathogenesis of phenotypes.
  • High quality full-color images – Includes thousands of images and complex illustrations of topics such as protein interactions, clinical presentations, and genetic modeling that will assist in visual diagnosis, research, and step-by-step procedures.
  • Clinical phenotypes – The seminal chapter contributed by leading geneticist Jean-Marie Saudubray offers concise diagnoses and algorithms for diagnosing highly specific syndromes and systems.
  • The OMMBID Blog -- A dedicated board of vetted researchers post upwards of 10 entries a month, regarding the latest findings across a variety of fields.

Visit the OMMBID on the Access User Center for helpful user resources.

Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with OMMBID and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in OMMBID. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.

Multimedia

Animations in OMMBID include:

  • Familial Hypercholesterolemia
  • Glycogen Degradation
  • Glycogen Synthesis
  • Glycogenin
  • Mutation Type 1 - Null Alleles
  • Mutation Type 2 - Transport Deficient Receptors
  • Mutation Type 3 - Binding Deficient Receptors
  • Mutation Type 4 - Internalization Deficient Receptors
  • Mutation Type 5 - Recycling Deficient Receptors
  • The Lecithin Cholesterol Acyltransferase (LCAT) Reaction

View all animations on OMMBID at this link.


Also, click here to view the Image Gallery in OMMBID.

OMMBID

OMMBID, or ‚ÄčThe Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, is an essential online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. Based on the world’s most respected book on the subject, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, first published in 1960, Scriver's OMMBID is an indispensable digital reference tool that provides geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases -- with cutting edge information spanning the entire field of genetics. Much more than a literature synopsis, OMMBID provides the latest knowledge on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of a growing list of inherited diseases – as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment.

OMMBID’s distinguished editorial board, led by Editor-in-Chief, David Valle, MD of The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, guides the site’s content. This internationally acclaimed team of researchers, geneticists, educators, and clinicians imparts both depth and breadth within a coherent organ-system based framework.

OMMBID provides encyclopedic coverage of a host of human disorders from the genetic variation to the clinical descriptions and treatment – through these unique interactive features:

  • Exclusive text availability–Scriver's OMMBID is the only place that offers the complete four-volume text of the definitive resource on the causation and treatment of inherited diseases, The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Diseases. 
  • Chapter updates – Supplemental updates and chapters are continually added to reflect new developments in the field.
  • New chapters and sections – Stay current with recent developments in cancer genetics, mitochondrial disease, lysosomal enzyme therapy, along with chapters on missense mutations, misfolding of proteins, and chaperones in the pathogenesis of phenotypes.
  • High quality full-color images – Includes thousands of images and complex illustrations of topics such as protein interactions, clinical presentations, and genetic modeling that will assist in visual diagnosis, research, and step-by-step procedures.
  • Clinical phenotypes – The seminal chapter contributed by leading geneticist Jean-Marie Saudubray offers concise diagnoses and algorithms for diagnosing highly specific syndromes and systems.
  • The OMMBID Blog  A dedicated board of vetted researchers post upwards of 10 entries a month, regarding the latest findings across a variety of fields.

OMMBID Blog

The OMMBID Blog features links to scholarly literature and studies published in the field.

The reports are listed by date.

Subscribe to email alerts in your MyAccess profile to receive notifications about new and updated content in OMMBID.

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in OMMBID through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in OMMBID via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 

To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com