AccessEmergency Medicine: Getting Started

Tintinalli's Necessary Takeaways are video chapter summaries of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9e.

Check out these new and noteworthy texts in AccessEmergency Medicine:

​Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8e

• This text has been used by thousands of primary care physicians, dermatology residents, dermatologists, internists, and other health care providers principally because it facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color photographs of skin lesions and, juxtaposed, a succinct summary outline of skin disorders as well as the skin signs of systemic diseases.
• The eighth edition has been extensively revised, rewritten, and expanded by new material. Around 30% of the old images have been replaced by new ones and additional images have been added. There is a complete update of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy. 

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e

• The “Bible” of toxicologic emergencies, this text is used by poison control centers across the U.S. and around the world.
• In this edition, the authors offer readers an approach to medical toxicology using evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice.
• This great resource includes end-of-the chapter summaries, antidotes in depth, special considerations, cases and insights of six toxicologists as lead editors who work with the gifted scholars they have selected as chapter authors. They have masterfully expanded the concept of the patient narrative in the Case Studies section. These are the patients who challenge toxicologists. Patients whose signs and symptoms that are related to the entire book or several chapters. The cases also serve as a guide to the understanding of the thought processes and approach to patient management.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9e

• This textbook began as a compendium of “answers” to a massive set of questions developed by members of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) for the Emergency Medicine Board Certification Examination. The first ACEP edition was developed in 1978 as “The Study Guide,” and in 1985, it matured into the first of 34 years of McGraw-Hill editions.
• The ninth edition continues to expand in a scope and depth. It continues to provide clinically focused information for all emergency medicine learners and practitioners, from students and residents, to emergency medicine physicians, advanced practice providers, emergency medical technicians, and paramedics.
• This is much more than a book of emergency medicine content. It is the result of contributions over the years by over 2000 authors committed to the education and practice of emergency medicine. 

Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies

• This atlas is designed to empower the reader to correctly interpret cardiovascular medical images, and, in particular, time critical images for emergency management.

The Atlas of Emergency Medicine, 5e

• A Doody's Core Title for 2022.
• The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your “look quick, act fast” guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. 
• Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct “need-to-know” information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls—making this the most efficient visual learning guide you’ll find.
• Includes over 2,100 full-color images. 

The Atlas of Emergency Radiology

• This text provides nearly 1,500 carefully selected diagnostic images combined with succinct descriptions of the radiographic features of over 330 emergent medical diagnoses to facilitate its readers in acquiring this expertise.
• All chapters are co-written by practicing radiologists and emergency physicians to maximize the expertise in describing the radiographic findings of each diagnosis and then the clinical applications of these findings. One specialty chapter on pediatrics is included.
• ​Each medical condition is presented in the following format: radiographic summary, clinical implications, and radiographic pearls. The radiographic summary succinctly describes the radiographic findings necessary to support the diagnosis. The clinical implications section provides a rationale to bridge the radiographic findings to the clinical findings. Each diagnosis concludes with 2-4 radiographic pearls, choice tips, or unique aspects about the condition.

Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, 2e

• This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring
• Presented in an at-a-glance format and packed with 450 photos and illustrations, this guide kicks off with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, then describes equipment, positioning, key principles, and 75 suture techniques—complete with step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, it covers each area of anatomy, guiding the practitioner in which suture to use when and how to modify certain sutures in specific locations.
• Techniques are diagrammatically illustrated and supplemented by the online videos, and the author includes tips and pearls for each technique, as well as caveats, drawbacks and cautions.
• This updated edition includes new sections on: laceration repair, pin-point pexing sutures, leveling sutures, three-dimensional continuous suturing, basting sutures, and more. 

AccessEmergency Medicine features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessEmergency Medicine, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessEmergency Medicine highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9e

  • Ch. 293: Female and Male Sexual Assault

  • Ch. 294: Intimate Partner Violence and Abuse

  • Ch. 299: The Transgender Patient

• Cooney's EMS Medicine

  • Ch. 28: Ethical Practices

• Strange and Schafermeyer's Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 5e

  • Ch. 144: Sexual Abuse

  • Ch. 145: Abuse and Neglect

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.