Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessEmergency Medicine: Getting Started

What Is AccessEmergency Medicine?

About AccessEmergency Medicine 

AccessEmergency Medicine from McGraw Hill Medical helps meet the immediate needs of the emergency department (ED) – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online emergency medicine resource provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies, to poisoning and trauma – specifically designed for optimized viewing on any device.

Authoritative, trusted, and content rich, AccessEmergency Medicine is the field’s leading emergency medicine resource guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes five top academic experts led by Judith E, Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP, and features content co-published with the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP).

AccessEmergency Medicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel on their clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading emergency textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their recertification exam.

Why is AccessEmergency Medicine unique?

AccessEmergency Medicine provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and clinical practice – through these exclusive interactive features:

  • Leading emergency medicine textbooks – A robust collection of the most current emergency medicine texts and pediatric references, including the world’s leading emergency medicine text, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine - with textbook and topic updates.
  • Procedural videos – The most complete collection of detailed emergency medicine and pediatric procedural videos online - designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules.
  • Interactive Self-Assessment – More than 3,000 review Q&A designed to help residents, clerks, recertifying physicians and pediatricians prepare for exams.
  • Integrated Drug Database – Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, and print out patient handouts available in both English and Spanish.
  • Patient Education – Customizable handouts providing comprehensive, reliable healthcare information are available for adults, pediatrics, medicines, and acute settings in multiple languages.
  • Clerkship Corner – An invaluable resource that brings together all clerkship specific resources, including text references, case files, and videos on essential concepts and procedures clerks may observe or assist in during their rotation.

Visit the AccessEmergency Medicine support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources.

Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with AccessEmergency Medicine and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessEmergency Medicine. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.

Multimedia

View the complete AccessEmergency Medicine video library at this link, including: 

  • Airway
  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Critical Care
  • Eye; Ear; Nose; Throat and Oral Surgery
  • Gastrointestinal and Renal
  • Genitourinary
  • Injuries to Bones and Joints
  • Major Trauma
  • Nerve Blocks
  • Neurology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Orthopedics
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychosocial
  • Resuscitation
  • Skin and Soft Tissue Procedures
  • Special Situations
  • Vascular Access
  • Wound Management

Tintinalli's Necessary Takeaways are video chapter summaries of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9e.

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessEmergency Medicine through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessEmergency Medicine via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.

Overview of AccessEmergency Medicine

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessEmergency Medicine, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out the library at these links:

  • Complete Full-Text Library 
  • Archived Textbooks
    • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessEmergency Medicine for purposes of reference.

Check out these new and noteworthy texts in AccessEmergency Medicine:

Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8e

  • This text has been used by thousands of primary care physicians, dermatology residents, dermatologists, internists, and other health care providers principally because it facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color photographs of skin lesions and, juxtaposed, a succinct summary outline of skin disorders as well as the skin signs of systemic diseases.
  • The eighth edition has been extensively revised, rewritten, and expanded by new material. Around 30% of the old images have been replaced by new ones and additional images have been added. There is a complete update of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy. 

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e

  • The “Bible” of toxicologic emergencies, this text is used by poison control centers across the U.S. and around the world.
  • In this edition, the authors offer readers an approach to medical toxicology using evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice.
  • This great resource includes end-of-the chapter summaries, antidotes in depth, special considerations, cases and insights of six toxicologists as lead editors who work with the gifted scholars they have selected as chapter authors. They have masterfully expanded the concept of the patient narrative in the Case Studies section. These are the patients who challenge toxicologists. Patients whose signs and symptoms that are related to the entire book or several chapters. The cases also serve as a guide to the understanding of the thought processes and approach to patient management.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide, 9e

  • This textbook began as a compendium of “answers” to a massive set of questions developed by members of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) for the Emergency Medicine Board Certification Examination. The first ACEP edition was developed in 1978 as “The Study Guide,” and in 1985, it matured into the first of 34 years of McGraw-Hill editions.
  • The ninth edition continues to expand in a scope and depth. It continues to provide clinically focused information for all emergency medicine learners and practitioners, from students and residents, to emergency medicine physicians, advanced practice providers, emergency medical technicians, and paramedics.
  • This is much more than a book of emergency medicine content. It is the result of contributions over the years by over 2000 authors committed to the education and practice of emergency medicine. 

 

Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies

  • This atlas is designed to empower the reader to correctly interpret cardiovascular medical images, and, in particular, time critical images for emergency management.

The Atlas of Emergency Medicine

  • The 4th Edition of the Atlas of Emergency Medicine has been completely revised by the four editors as well as expert emergency physician contributors from across the specialty. It now contains 1,500 full color photographs, electrocardiograms, and radiographs, 500 newly chosen for this 4th Edition. The chapters are arranged logically by organ system, special populations, and clinical problems. Environmental conditions, toxicology, electrocardiographic abnormalities, forensic medicine, airway procedures, tropical medicine, microscopic diagnoses, and emergency ultrasound are some of the special sections that greatly expand the usefulness of this Atlas for the practicing clinician caring for patients with emergencies.

The Atlas of Emergency Radiology

  • This text provides nearly 1,500 carefully selected diagnostic images combined with succinct descriptions of the radiographic features of over 330 emergent medical diagnoses to facilitate its readers in acquiring this expertise.
  • All chapters are co-written by practicing radiologists and emergency physicians to maximize the expertise in describing the radiographic findings of each diagnosis and then the clinical applications of these findings. One specialty chapter on pediatrics is included.
  • ​Each medical condition is presented in the following format: radiographic summary, clinical implications, and radiographic pearls. The radiographic summary succinctly describes the radiographic findings necessary to support the diagnosis. The clinical implications section provides a rationale to bridge the radiographic findings to the clinical findings. Each diagnosis concludes with 2-4 radiographic pearls, choice tips, or unique aspects about the condition.

Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair

  • This text is unique in that it includes approximately 200 professional drawings as well as almost 450 clinical photographs, breaking down each technique to its fundamentals. Rather than simply showing photographs of wounds after they have been closed with the various techniques, this atlas includes photographs taken from the surgeon’s perspective at every critical stage during the course of each technique. Videos of each technique, as well as some fundamental approaches to instrument handling, are also embedded in the text; QR codes are included for each chapter, permitting the reader to immediately reference almost 100 narrated videos, most performed on a proprietary skin substitute designed to effectively demonstrate technique from the perspective of the clinician.

AccessEmergency Medicine features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessEmergency Medicine, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessEmergency Medicine highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html

Quick Reference

The Quick Reference section of AccessEmergency Medicine provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers.

To the Point: Clinical Reviews  
To the Point: Clinical Reviews are summaries of the latest published emergency medicine research, updated regularly and perfect for journal clubs. The clinical reviews include the background, methods, results, and relevance to emergency medicine.  The reviews are organized by date published.

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, 8e

This manual is written by and for active clinicians who are engaged in the day-to-day practice of emergency medicine.  The handbook is intended to assist practitioners of emergency medicine with the skillful and timely care of their patients in the ED.

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Cases

Cases in AccessEmergency Medicine provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from these resources in AccessEmergency Medicine:

  • Which is Which?
  • Case Files: Emergency Medicine
  • Resident Readiness: Emergency Medicine

Study Tools

The Study Tools tab in AccessEmergency Medicine provides: 

  • Review Questions
  • Clerkship Curriculum
  • Residency Curriculum

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 

To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com