AccessPharmacy: Getting Started

The video collection in AccessPharmacy offers users a collection of hundreds of detailed procedural videos online designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules. The videos are organized by different categories, such examination and evaluation, physiologic areas, etc., including: 

• Cardiovascular Disorders
• Endocrinologic Disorders
• Gastrointestinal Disorders
• Hematologic Disorders
• Neurologic Disorders
• Respiratory Disorders
• Rheumatologic Disorders

View the complete video library in AccessPharmacy at this link.

Multimedia items come with their own unique durable URLs found in the browser URL link at the top and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS course page, lecture slides, syllabus, etc. See the "Linking to Content" box in this guide to find out more about linking to content on AccessPharmacy for course integration.

In each video, users can take advantage of the player tools found in the menu in the video, including to share and download. The accompanying transcript is available for each video on AccessPharmacy.

Engaging videos by Scott Sutton, PharmD, covering difficult subject areas for students, including:

• Antiarrhythmia Medications
• Human Immunodeficiency Virus Medications
• Statistics: Confidence Interval
• Statistics: Probability Value (p-value)
• Statistics: Scales of Measurement and Measure of Central Tendency
   

The Pharmacology Lectures on AccessPharmacy provide short, student-friendly animations based upon Katzung & Trevor’s Basic and Clinical Pharmacology available in the AccessPharmacy library.

The Pharmacy Management Curriculum PowerPoints provide the user with lecture and comprehension questions to help them learn the fundamental principles of pharmacy management.

Each of these 4-8 minute Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations cover a disease mechanism. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the Unversity of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking on medical animations.  

Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 12e

The #1 textbook in pharmacotherapy providing optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies updated with the latest advances and guidelines.

For more than 30 years, DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy has been the essential textbook for learning how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs?everything needed to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. This new edition has been fully updated with the latest evidence-based information and recommendations.

With content from 300 expert contributors, this valuable resource offers detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means. Each disease chapter opens with a Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care.

Here's why DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the perfect learning tool for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers:

• All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available
• Key concepts are included at the beginning of each chapter
• Clinical Presentation boxes concisely outline disease signs and symptoms
• New: Beyond the Book feature points readers to multimedia resources to deepen their understanding of the material
• Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing guideline recommendations, and monitoring approaches clearly distinguish treatment pathways
• New: Drug monitoring tables have been added
• Patient care process boxes help readers know how to communicate with other health care providers
• New: Additional FREE E-Chapters are available on AccessPharmacy
• New: Over 2000 Review Questions to help prepare students!

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach, 11e

Study companion to DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition. Make the right drug therapy decisions with the definitive guide to pharmacotherapy principles applied in everyday practice.

Packed with 157 patient cases, Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach builds your problem-solving and decision-making skills, so you can identify and resolve the most common drug therapy challenges you’ll encounter in daily practice. Its case-based approach is also ideal for PharmD, Nurse Practitioner, and other allied health courses. Providing a consistent, practical approach, this authoritative guide delivers everything you need to master patient communication, care plan development, and documenting interventions. Case chapters are organized into system sections that correspond to those of the companion textbook.

Sharpen your ability to:

• Identify actual or potential drug therapy problems
• Determine the desired therapeutic outcome
• Evaluate therapeutic alternatives
• Design an optimal individualized pharmacotherapeutic plan
• Evaluate the therapeutic outcome
• Provide patient education
• Communicate and implement the therapeutic plan

Develop expertise in pharmacotherapy decision making with:

• Realistic patient presentations that include medial history, physical examination, and laboratory data, followed by a series of questions using a systematic, problem-solving approach
• A broad range of cases—from a single disease state to multiple disease states and drug-related problems
• Expert coverage that integrates the biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences with therapeutics
• Appendices containing sample answer to several cases and valuable information on medical abbreviations, laboratory tests, mathematical conversion factors, and anthropometrics

An instructor's guide and answers to cases for this title are available to verified instructors. To gain access, please email us at customersuccess@mheducation.com. The tutorial for these instructor resources can be found on our Access User Center. 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Patient Assessment in Pharmacy

Learn the art and science of patient assessment to succeed in real-world pharmacy practice. The goal of Patient Assessment in Pharmacy is to impart the assessment and practice skills necessary to provide optimal patient care when working in an ambulatory care environment.

This unique text explains how to integrate pathophysiology, medical history, physical findings, and laboratory test results to accurately assess and monitor patient problems. Patient Assessment in Pharmacy will help you make a more accurate diagnosis and enable you to better advise patients about appropriate use of products intended for self-care.

In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, Patient Assessment in Pharmacy focuses on the symptom complexes and diseases that pharmacists most frequently encounter in an ambulatory care setting.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, 32e

Gain a thorough understanding of the principles of biochemistry as they relate to clinical medicine.

The Thirty-Second Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease and clinical information. Featuring numerous medically relevant examples, this respected text presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.

All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry.

• Full-color presentation with 600+ illustrations
• Chapters have been updated to reflect the latest information
• Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry
• Review questions follow each of the 11 sections
• Boxed objectives define the goals of each chapter
• Tables encapsulate important information
• Each chapter contains a section on biomedical importance and a summary of the topics covered

Applauded by medical students for its current and engaging style, Harper’s Illustrated Biochemistry is an essential for USMLE review and the single best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Community and Clinical Pharmacy Services: A Step-by-Step Approach

Community and Clinical Pharmacy Services teaches pharmacy students and practicing pharmacists how to provide advanced levels of pharmacy services in community and clinic settings designed to help patients achieve specific health goals and treat common disease states. This unique text provides practical--rather than merely ideological--ways for pharmacists to utilize their extensive clinical knowledge and fill a major gap in American health care. It discusses barriers, necessary skills, required knowledge, and issues related to preparation, interventions, patient outcomes, economic aspects, and marketing considerations for therapeutic areas commonly addressed in the outpatient setting.

The beginning of the book delves into the general management skills necessary to provide and implement advanced patient care services, including documentation, patient interviewing, and medication therapy management. Important chapters discuss disease states that would most likely be amenable to development of pharmacy services, including:

• Asthma
• Smoking Cessation
• Diabetes
• Hypertension
• Osteoporosis
• Obesity

Also covered are immunizations, anticoagulation, and cardiometabolic services. The disease state chapters include learning aids such as summary points, first-hand accounts from experienced pharmacists who have implemented pharmacy services for that particular condition, a simulated patient case, and multiple-choice questions.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Community Pharmacy Practice Guidebook

Get up to speed on everything there is to know about community pharmacy!

This unmatched resource provides the tools you need to operate, manage, and advance community pharmacy. The authors have gathered information from practicing community pharmacists to deliver the most salient information you need to know.

Community Pharmacy Practice Guidebook covers everything from operations and financial aspects to hiring/managing staff and important quality metrics within the community pharmacy practice setting. Delivering real-world content and practical applications for building the specific skills you need to succeed; it helps you create innovative solutions to optimize business and patient-related outcomes through clinical and value-added services specific to the community.

Features:

• Practice questions at the beginning and end of each chapter to test your knowledge.
• Each chapter includes practical application cases to build problem-solving skills related to community pharmacy.
• Real-life anecdotes, not just fictional situations, that provide a clear picture of how community pharmacy actually works.
• Coverage of community pharmacy models, legal considerations, pharmacy ownership and entrepreneurship, workflow optimization, human resources management, inventory, the role of technology, payment models and methods, clinical and value-added services, risk management, quality metrics, and more.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacist's, 7e

Everything pharmacists and pharmacy students need to know about drug information management. 

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists provides you with the tools you need to to research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information in the most effective and efficient manner possible. This trusted resource addresses essential topics such as formulating an effective response and recommendations for information, evaluation of drug literature, the application of statistical analysis in the biomedical sciences, medications and patient safety, investigational drugs, and more.
This updated seventh edition also addresses other important issues such as the legal and ethical considerations of providing information, how to respond to requests for information, and how to determine what information should be made available.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Interprofessional Practice in Pharmacy: Featuring Illustrated Case Studies

This one-of-a-kind medical text covers everything needed to launch a successful career in pharmacy. 

Interprofessional Practice in Pharmacy: Featuring Illustrated Case Studies presents an accessible, in-depth exploration of pharmacists working to advance the safe and effective use of medications. This is an ideal resource for early learners in pharmacy, high school and undergraduate students considering careers in healthcare, and educators and students throughout the health professions.

Engaging and robust descriptions demonstrate how pharmacists work within interprofessional teams and contribute to the interprofessional care of patients in multiple healthcare settings. This information will help students identify career opportunities early in their educational journeys.

Illustrated case studies—a modern take on a time-tested teaching strategy—provide a unique window into the profession of pharmacy. Readers will enjoy exploring healthcare through the lens of pharmacists, including contemporary issues such as infectious disease outbreaks and the opioid crisis.  

Over 200 illustrations provide a wide-ranging view of pharmacy practice in the following areas:

• Community Pharmacy
• Primary Care
• Prevention & Wellness
• Cardiology
• Pediatrics
• Geriatrics
• Infectious Diseases
• Oncology
• Emergency Medicine
• Critical Care
• Mental Health
• Technology
• Population Health
• Administration 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pharmacy Management: Essentials for All Practice Settings, 5e

The leading text on pharmacy management updated to reflect the latest trends and topics.

Pharmacy Management is a comprehensive textbook that combines evidence-based management theories with practical solutions for the issues pharmacists face every day. Enhanced by input from educators, researchers, students and practicing pharmacists, the Fifth Edition addresses the evolving role of pharmacists in today’s every-changing environment. 

Covering the gamut of activities performed by pharmacists, from managing money to managing personal stress, this complete guide explains vital pharmacy management topics across all practice settings. Featuring material derived from the best and most contemporary primary literature, Pharmacy Management focuses on learning the skills essential to the everyday practice of pharmacy. Long after readers have completed pharmacy school, they will turn to Pharmacy Management for answers to make their practice more professionally rewarding and personally enriching.

Features:

• New Chapters: Ethical Decision Making and Problem Solving, Negotiating, and Pharmacy Technicians
• Covers all aspects of pharmacy management, from managing money and people to personal stress

(Source: McGraw Hill)

McGraw Hill's NAPLEX Review Guide, 4e

The acclaimed NAPLEX® review updated to reflect the latest NAPLEX® guidelines!

This powerful study guide is for students who want to achieve their highest score possible on the NAPLEX®. Expert instructor S. Scott Sutton shares the insider advice and learning tools that have bolstered the performance and scores of thousands of his students. You will find the most relevant content possible, designed to sharpen your test-taking skills, put must-know information at your fingertips, and improve your exam-taking ability. Acing the NAPLEX® begins here!

If you want to score your highest on the NAPLEX®, turn to this acclaimed student-reviewed study guide.

• Developed and reviewed by pharmacists, faculty, students, and recent graduates – so you know you are studying the most test-relevant material possible
• Author Dr. Scott Sutton has prepared thousands of students, through his  NAPLEX® review course, which he presents at pharmacy schools across the country
• 1,500 case application questions, each with a detailed explanation of correct and incorrect answer choices
• Two online practice exams, each with 250 questions
• Takeaway points at the end of each chapter summarize key concepts
• Includes important foundational material 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8e

A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems with more than 130 case studies with Q&A.

The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.

Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. 

This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.

Features:

• Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book’s 24 chapters
• More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors
• Totally revised chapter on neoplasia
• New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies
• New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease
• New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment
• Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy
• Updated references throughout the book

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Understanding Pharmacoepidemiology

Understanding Pharmacoepidemiology is a clear, engagingly written roadmap to mastering the important concepts and methods of pharmacoepidemiology. It explains what pharmacoepidemiology is, how pharmacoepidemiology studies are conducted, and how to interpret findings. You will learn the importance of pharmacoepidemiology, basic terminology used in research, and the data sources, study designs, and statistical analyses employed in pharmacoepidemiology research. Upon completing Understanding Pharmacoepidemiology you will have a better understanding of how to evaluate the associations between medication utilization and outcomes.

Each chapter includes these valuable learning aids:

• A list of learning objectives
• Case studies or examples
• Discussion questions
• Tables and Figures

You will also find a glossary of important words and terms.

The content you need to understand the concepts and methods of pharmacoepidemiology:

• Introduction to Pharmacoepidemiology: Principles of Epidemiology Applied to the Study of Medication Use
• Study Designs in Pharmacoepidemiology: Using Secondary Data in Pharmacoepidemiology
• Biostatistics and Pharmacoepidemiology: Other Methodological Issues
• Evaluation of Pharmacoepidemiology Literature
• Medication Utilization Patterns
• Medication Safety and Pharmacovigilance
• FDA Perspectives on Post-market Drug Safety

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pharmacogenomics: An Introduction and Clinical Perspective

The only pharmacogenomics resource to feature a global author team comprised of PharmDs, MDs, PhDs and social scientists, Pharmacogenomics offers an essential, highly accessible survey of this dynamic discipline. You will find thorough coverage of all need-to-know topics, from individual molecules to systemic diseases, plus an examination of the latest technologies that are constantly reshaping the field. Pharmacogenomics is cohesively organized into two sections, the first of which reviews basic aspects of pharmacogenomics, including ethics, regulatory, science, and drug metabolism, along with a "mini" course in molecular genetics and testing. The second section highlights the practical application of pharmacogenomics in cardiovascular medicine, immunology, neurology, and other specialties.

Features:

• Important overview of general pharmacogenomics and pharmacogenetics concepts, including genetic variation in signal transduction and targets, plus a review of the genetic concepts of pharmacogenomics
• Discussion of regulatory considerations in pharmacogenomics
• Focus on the role of health care professionals along with a review of related privacy issues, as well as broader ethical, legal, and social considerations
• In-depth chapters on drug metabolism and transporters
• Practical, step-by-step guidance on public access to pharmacogenomic testing and patient counseling
• Up-to-date coverage of non-genetic influences on pharmacogenomics
• Emphasis on gene-drug interactions
• Numerous tables and figures
• Chapter-ending references
• Concise learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter
• Case studies to familiarize you with the clinical relevance of pharmacogenomics in each specialty

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Applied Clinical Pharmacokinetics, 3e

The most current, hands-on book in the field, Applied Clinical Pharmacokinetics The perfect textbook for pharmacy students learning the clinical application of pharmacokinetics, which is the mathematical tools for modifying dosages. Students like that each chapter includes sample problems throughout the chapter, with a ton of practice problems at the end. Answers for the practice problems are in the back, but not detailed like the sample problems)

Changes in the third edition include:

• All chapters updated and revised, as needed, including critical new references
• Antibiotic individualization and monitoring sections increases use of pharmacodynamic parameters (Cmax/MIC, AUC24/MIC, Time above MIC) in addition to pharmacokinetic parameters to adjust dosages
• Anticonvulsants section includes 5 new agents (Fosphenytoin, Lamotrigine, Levetiracetam, Oxcarbazepine, Eslicarbazepine)
• Immunosuppressants section includes 1 new agent (Sirolimus)
• Latest standardized techniques and approaches to patient-specific dosing and provides up-to-date information on more recently monitored drugs

Features:

• Clear, useful coverage of drug dosing and drug monitoring Clear and concise summary of pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic concepts
• Practical help with calculations and equations
• Focus on the latest standardized techniques and approaches to patient-specific dosing
• Up-to-date information on more recently monitored drugs
• Essential information on drug dosing in special populations, including patients with renal and hepatic disease, obesity, and congestive heart failure
• All the information practitioners need on drug categories such as antibiotics, cardiovascular agents, anticonvulsants, and immunosuppressants
• Full coverage of drugs such as Aminoglycosides, Vancomycin, Digoxin, Phenytoin, Carbamazepine, Theophylline, Cyclosporine, Tacrolimus, and Lithium Student friendly approach to teaching pharmacokinetics--sample problems embedded into the text to allow for students to apply what they are learning.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e

The landmark pharmacology reference updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field.

For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease.

This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman’s is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.

Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features:

• Five NEW chapters on:
  • Pharmacovigilance
  • The blood-brain barrier
  • Cannabis
  • Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents
  • Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response
•  Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies
• Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action
• 600+ color illustrations
• Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology
• Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter
• 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions
• 53 NEW contributors
• NEW online updates

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e

Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available.

Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. 

Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs

Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology, including:

• Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs
• Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters
• New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology
• Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information
• Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts
• Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription
• Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019
• New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 13e

Score your highest on medical pharmacology courses and board exams with the world’s bestselling pharmacology review book.

This authoritative resource from the authors of pharmacology’s most trusted textbook delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. 

Everything you need to excel:

• 1,000+ board-review type questions
• Concise discussion of the major concepts that underlie basic principles or specific drug groups in every chapter
• Two comprehensive 100-question practice exams with answer keys and explanations for correct answers
• List of high-yield terms and definitions
• Skill Keeper Questions that help you understand the connections of related topics
• 180 photos and illustrations, including explanatory figures and tables, and overview diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts
• Checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter
• Summary tables that provide key information about specific drug mechanisms of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities
• Test-taking strategies for improving your test performance

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pharmacy Practice and Tort Law

A case-based introduction to pharmacy tort law and its role in pharmacy practice, Pharmacy Practice and Tort Law is written to help pharmacy students better understand the concepts of tort law and apply it to their own experiences. Focusing on the civil liabilities a pharmacist may face in real-world practice, the book describes each tort in detail, outlining the elements that must be proven for successful litigation.

Written with the belief that the best – and most engaging – way to learn abstract pharmacy law is through case presentations, Pharmacy Practice and Tort Law features at least one case per chapter. These cases demonstrate how the concepts discussed pertain to real-life situations and illustrate exactly what is necessary to be successful. Students are not only introduced to tort cases related to pharmacy practice,  but are provided with a clear understanding of how the tort rules apply to the facts of a given case.

Pharmacy Practice and Tort Law begins with a history of tort law to orient students to the material being covered. The second chapter offers valuable guidance on  how to “brief” a case. The remainder of the book focuses on the various torts that are most relevant to the practice of pharmacy.

In order to reinforce learning, each chapter ends with important take-away messaging, including:

• What should students remember about this case?
• How does it apply to the current practice of pharmacy?

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, 26e

The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades enhanced by all new video tutorials.

For more than four decades, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong’s concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. 

Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology.

Features:

• More than 600 full-color illustrations
• Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style
• NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts
• NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, 2e

An essential text for any pharmacy research design and/or drug literature course, Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, Second Edition is a unique resource that provides a balanced approach covering critical elements of clinical research, biostatistical principles, and scientific literature evaluation techniques for evidence-based medicine. It is the ideal foundation for professional pharmacy students and a key resource for pharmacy residents, research fellows, practitioners, and clinical researchers.

This highly accessible text provides comprehensive course content that meets or exceeds the curriculum standards set forth by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). Written by expert authors specializing in pharmacy practice and research, this valuable text will provide pharmacy students and practitioners with a thorough understanding of the principles and practices of drug literature evaluation with a strong grounding in research and biostatistical principles.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: A Quick Reference Guide

Concise, readable, and easy to navigate—a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research.

Whether you’re a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests.

You’ll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. To enhance the learning process, all examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios.

Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers:

• Planning a research study
• Writing a dissertation
• Types of studies in clinical research
• Observational and interventional studies
• Approaches to qualitative research
• Ethics in medical research
• Biostatistics and descriptive statistics
• Approaches to statistical inference

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology, 4e

Develop a strong foundation in the concepts and principles of toxicology with this concise and accessible resource.

For more than 25 years, Casarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basics of Poison has set the standard for providing thorough, academic, and authoritative information in clear and engaging ways. Distilling the major principles and concepts from that renowned text, Casarett & Doull’s Essentials of Toxicology delivers an accessible and highly readable introduction to the science and clinical field of medical toxicology. The book reflects the expertise of more than 60 renowned contributors.

Presented in full-color, this new edition builds on the wide success of previous editions, with extensive updates that make the book more clinically relevant to students and beginners in toxicology, pharmacology, pharmacy, and environmental sciences. Chapter-ending self-assessment Q&As and other features make the learning process more effective and efficient.

Casarett & Doull’s Essentials of Toxicology is organized into seven units:

• General Principles of Toxicology
• Disposition of Toxicants
• Non-organ-directed Toxicity
• Target Organ Toxicity
• Toxic Agents
• Environmental Toxicology
• Applications of Toxicology 

Succinct, yet comprehensive, the text covers essential principles, toxicokinetics, how toxic effects are passed on to succeeding generations, how each body system responds to poisons, and the specific effects of a wide range of toxic agents—from pesticides to radiation.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e

"Goldfrank’s is the premier toxicology textbook that should be in every emergency department or poison center library. Whether you are a student, resident, or faculty, there is something here for you. If you are a toxicology fellow or poison specialist studying for your boards, this is your go-to book. I highly recommend this work"—The Journal of Emergency Medicine

The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology.

Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins.

Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank’s begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations.

Goldfrank’s Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis.

New to this edition:

• Additional cases and “special considerations” chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes
• New “Antidotes in Depth” provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies
• New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology
• Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points 
• Updated coverage of synthetics such as “K2”
• Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Transitions of Care in Pharmacy Casebook

100 complex cases illustrate how to ensure safe, effective treatment during transitions between care settings. 

Moving a patient from one healthcare provider or setting to another—a transition of care—increases the risk of medication errors due to inadequate communication and poor coordination of care. 

While guideline-and evidence-based therapy is important, pharmacists must also address other patient-specific needs and possible barriers to safety, efficacy, and to adherence of therapies. 

Providing a deep dive into this critical topic, Transitions of Care in Pharmacy Casebook explains how to deliver and optimize complex patient care during transitions between care settings. This essential resource features 100 enlightening clinical cases that illustrate real-world practices. Organized by disease state, each case incorporates clinical knowledge, patient education, effective communication, and social issues. 

Transition of Care in Pharmacy Casebook includes:

• An insightful introduction to transitions of care practice models
• 100 complex clinical cases incorporating specific elements of patient care
• Concise coverage of various medical conditions commonly encountered in various practice settings
• Considerations on treating special populations, such as the elderly and homeless patients
• Bulleted text explaining the theory and rationale for each case
• Informative charts with lab findings, medication records, provider notes, and
  diagnostic exams 

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Quick Answers: Pharmacy

• Provides concise, practical, expert information on the pharmacotherapy of common disorders.
• Content is derived from the leading pharmacy reference used for both inpatient and ambulatory care settings, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.
• Designed for quick and easy access to the drug therapy information you need for decision making in the clinical setting.
• Structured alphabetically, each disease state topic consists of just the right amount of information to give you key treatment features of more than 140 diseases.
• The bulleted format promotes rapid comprehension so you can immediately apply what you learn from this quick consult.
• Features easy-to-use tables, figures, and treatment algorithms provide specific options to help you individualize drugs and dosages.

FDA MedWatch

• Originating from MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program.
• RSS feed of clinically important safety information regarding human medical products updated every 2-5 days.
• Great for students who are likely to engage in pharmacovigilance activities designed to detect, assess, understand, and prevent drug-related problems.