Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessPharmacy: Getting Started

What Is AccessPharmacy?

About AccessPharmacy  

AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.

Guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD, and Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD, AccessPharmacy is the pharmacy field’s most trusted website.

AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.

Overview of AccessPharmacy

MyAccess Profile

To engage with all of the interactive content on AccessPharmacy, users need to create a free MyAccess profile. For the best experience on the site, we recommend users log in to your MyAccesss profile each time they access the site.

Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessPharmacy through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessPharmacy via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 

To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessPharmacy, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out the library at these links:

  • Complete Full-Text Library 
  • Archived Textbooks
    • Browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. 
    •  Because medicine is an ever-changing science, we include only the most recent previous edition of each title.
    • Archived titles do not appear in search results. 

Check out these new and noteworthy texts in AccessPharmacy:


Applied Physical Pharmacy, 3e

  • A complete practice-oriented introduction to physical pharmacy
  • Written to clearly and simply explain how drugs work, this textbook explores the fundamental physicochemical attributes and processes important for understanding how a drug is transformed into a usable product that is administered to a patient to reach its pharmacological target, and then exists the body. 
  • Includes learning aids like Learning Objectives, Practice Problems, Key Points, and Clinical Questions
  • The 3rd ed. adds more clinical questions and updates to tables with current products and excipients

DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 12e

  • This new edition of the authoritative pharmacotherapy text has been fully updated with the latest evidence-based information and recommendations
  • The essential textbook for learning how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs and everything needed to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories
  • Content from 300 expert contributors offer detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means
  • Each disease chapter opens with Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care.
  • New drug monitoring tables have been added

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e

  • The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology. 
  • Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice.
  • In this edition, the authors offer readers an approach to medical toxicology using evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice.
  • This great resource includes end-of-the chapter summaries, antidotes in depth, special considerations, cases and insights of six toxicologists as lead editors who work with the gifted scholars they have selected as chapter authors. They have masterfully expanded the concept of the patient narrative in the Case Studies section. These are the patients who challenge toxicologists. Patients whose signs and symptoms that are related to the entire book or several chapters. The cases also serve as a guide to the understanding of the thought processes and approach to patient management.
  • A Doody's Core Title for 2022

Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e

  • The landmark pharmacology reference—updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field.
  • For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. 
  • This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman’s is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.

Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11e

  • The classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies—updated with the latest advances and guidelines.
  • 25+ additional chapters in the online version.  
  • Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages,  showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs—everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories.
  • With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You’ll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy.
  • A Doody's Core Title for 2022

Pharmacy Management: Essentials for All Practice Settings, 5e

  • The leading text on pharmacy management
  • Covers all aspects of pharmacy management, from managing money and people to personal stress. 
  • Features material derived from the best and most contemporary primary literature
  • Focuses on learning the skills essential to the everyday practice of pharmacy
  • A critical reference for practicing pharmacists 
  • New Chapters: Ethical Decision Making and Problem Solving, Negotiating, and Pharmacy Technicians 

 

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 7e

  • A Doody's Core Title for 2022
  • Everything pharmacists and pharmacy students need to know about drug information management
  • Provides readers with the tools they need to to research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information effectively and efficiently 
  • Addresses essential topics such as formulating an effective response and recommendations for information, evaluation of drug literature, the application of statistical analysis in the biomedical sciences, medications and patient safety, investigational drugs, and more
  • Updated 7th edition addresses the legal and ethical considerations of providing information, how to respond to requests for information, and how to determine what information should be made available

Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, 2e

  • An essential text for any Pharmacy Research Design/Drug Literature course
  • Provides a balanced approach covering critical elements of clinical research, biostatistical principles, and scientific literature evaluation techniques for evidence-based medicine.
  • Ideal foundation for professional pharmacy students and a key resource for pharmacy residents, research fellows, practitioners, and clinical researchers.
  • Highly accessible; provides comprehensive course content that meets or exceeds the curriculum standards set forth by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)

NAPLEX Central

NAPLEX Central - This is a comprehensive NAPLEX tool with questions, review videos, and selected readings. 

MPJE Review - The MJPE review guides were created by seasoned pharmacists who have recently taken and passed the MPJE® exams. Our state specific review tools are based off previous customer feedback. They are meant to be an extensive, yet simple guide to pass your board exams. These study guides will save you from weeks of frustration and help focus on key points to study for specific state MPJE® exams.

Multimedia

Pharmacy Calculations Lectures are available in AccessPharmacy, including:

  • Alligation and Altering Drug Concentrations
  • Dosing by Body Weight and Body Surface Area‚Äč
  • Intravenous Infusion Rates, Times, and Volumes‚Äč
  • Molarity and Milliequivalents
  • Molarity and Osmolarity
  • Percentages and Other Measures of Concentration
  • Pharmacy Calculations Overview
  • Powder Displacement Volume and Conversions Between Forms

Videos on Pharmacy Assessment, as well as systems disorders, including: 

  • Cardiovascular Disorders
  • Endocrinologic Disorders
  • Gastrointestinal Disorders
  • Hematologic Disorders
  • Neurologic Disorders
  • Respiratory Disorders
  • Rheumatologic Disorders

Engaging videos by Scott Sutton, PharmD, covering difficult subject areas for students, including:

  • Antiarrhythmia Medications
  • Human Immunodeficiency Virus Medications
  • Statistics: Confidence Interval
  • Statistics: Probability Value (p-value)
  • Statistics: Scales of Measurement and Measure of Central Tendency
     

The Pharmacology Lectures on AccessPharmacy provide short, student-friendly animations based upon Katzung & Trevor’s Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 14e.

The Pharmacy Management Curriculum PowerPoints provide the user with lecture and comprehension questions to help them learn the fundamental principles of pharmacy management.

Each of these 4-8 minute Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations cover a disease mechanism. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the Unversity of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking on medical animations.  

Quick Reference

The Quick Reference section of AccessPharmacy provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers.

Cases

Cases in AccessPharmacy provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. 

Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from these resources in AccessPharmacy:

Study Tools

Our extensive self-assessment library includes review questions, drug challenges, and flashcards.  


Review Questions for self-assessment or board review. Users can generate random and custom quizzes from more than 10,000 available questions. Results can be emailed to instructors. You must be signed into your MyAccess Profile to use the Review Questions.

Questions are available from 28 titles. 


Drug Challenges: Test yourself on top drugs. Tiers correspond to PharmD 4-year programs. Each tier should test content appropriate to the corresponding year.


Flashcards to review Pharmacotherapy, Pharmacology, Top Drugs and Pharmacy Calculation Review. This content is supported in Chrome, Firefox, and Safari browsers. Flashcard topics include:  

  • Top 300 Pharmacy Drug Flashcards: Great for NAPLEX® and course review. An easy and effective way to learn essential information about the Top 300 drugs. Includes audio Q&A with detailed discussion for each drug at Top300DrugCards.com. 
  • Top 100 Non Prescription Flashcards: Great for NAPLEX® and course review. A fun, fast way to learn essential information about the most popular over-the-counter medications and herbal supplements commonly sold in U.S. pharmacies.
  • Top 200 Injectable Flashcards: Useful for students preparing for or participating in clerkships, hospital internships, hospital residency rotations, clinical settings (especially cancer clinics and infusion centers), or specialty pharmacies. Provides key information about the top 200 most frequently ordered injectable medications, including the most common cancer chemotherapy agents, parenteral anti-infectives, medications administered intravenously to patients in the critical care environment, and the most common parenterally-administered specialty medications.
  • Pharmacotherapy Flashcards: Provide a complete review of pharmacotherapeutic concepts for the major disease states most often encountered in practice. Each card features a case and therapeutic question.
  • Pharmacology Flashcards, 4e: A fun, fast, high-yield review for board prep. Compare and contrast drugs; understand basic principles of drug classes that are high yield; know mechanisms of action, clinical uses, and side effects; review basic science as well as clinical aspects of disease. 
  • LANGE Pharmacy Calculations Flashcards: Develop your pharmaceutical and dosing calculations skills to master pharmacy math. Drill down by topic, track cards you've already seen to prioritize studying, and save your favorite flashcards for quick review.   
  • Medical Terminology Pharmacy Flashcards: Memorization is critical in pharmacy--understanding the root words, suffix, pronunciation will aid students in better comprehending content and drug categories. 

 

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback: