AccessSurgery: Getting Started

Zollinger's Video Atlas of Surgical Operations

• In 2018, AccessSurgery debuted a new video format which allows videos to play "in place" within the text instead of automatically opening in a new window.
• This is a valuable format for complicated surgical operations and allows users to refer to the accompanying text and anatomic illustrations while viewing each step of the operation.
• For the Zollinger's Video Atlas, short video clips will be published for every key step in an operation with the full video available at the end of the operation.
• The videos are narrated by the surgeon as he reviews the key steps that surgical residents need to learn and be aware of.
• Each step-by-step video clip will be approximately 30 seconds to 1 minute in length with the full video no more than 5 minutes to maximize use by surgical residents who prefer short, high yield videos when preparing the night before a surgery.

Behind The Knife is the leading surgical podcast that provides interviews with leading surgeons and top notch surgical education material from ABSITE to Oral Boards to assist listeners in becoming surgeons. Below is a curated collection of episodes to get you started on preparing for your ABSITE or oral surgery board exam. Go to The Surgery Podcast: Behind The Knife to subscribe and receive new Behind The Knife episodes.

Founders and Hosts

• Kevin Kniery, MD, Fellow in Vascular Surgery, New York-Presbyterian Hospital, Columbia/Cornell, New York, New York
• Jason Bingham, MD, General Surgeon, Joint Base Lewis McChord, Washington
• John McClellan, MD, General Surgery Resident, Madigan Army Medical Center, Tacoma, Washington
• Scott Steele, MD, Chair of Colorectal Surgery, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio

The online Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three (3) modules:

• Handwashing
• Understanding Error
• Communication Concepts

Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.

Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 11/e

The book is celebrating its 50th anniversary since McGraw-Hill published the first edition in 1969 and is still regarded as the cornerstone textbook in general surgery throughout the world. The book's first editor and namesake, Seymour Schwartz, remains active as Distinguished Alumni Professor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Rochester, where he regularly attends grand rounds at the ripe age of 92. Dr. Schwartz wrote a historical perspective on the vast changes in the practice of surgery and medicine that he witnessed over his 65-year career as a surgeon, which is available in front of the paywall on AccessSurgery - Principles of Surgery: Redux and Reconsideration.

The eleventh edition features a distinguished team of editors and authors, including the first female surgeon to edit a major general surgery textbook, Dr. Lillian Kao. New chapters include: 

• Web-Based Education and Implications of Social Media
• Optimizing Perioperative Care: Enhanced Recovery and Chinese Medicine
• Understanding, Evaluating, and Using Evidence for Surgical Practice
• Ambulatory Surgery
• Skills and Simulation

Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 11/e

Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with color highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care.

Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including:  

• Robotic surgery
• Laparoscopic surgery
• Endovascular procedures

Packed with 1,800 images—the gold-standard resource for performing surgical procedures safely and effectively has been fully updated and revised. 

CURRENT Procedures: Surgery

"This book covers basic surgical procedures at an appropriate level of detail for midlevel surgical residents....The book is unique in that it presents information in a bullet-point format, making for fast and efficient reading....This book does a good job of breaking down the steps of a common general surgery procedure. It is easy to read and understand, with good visuals. It is among the best in its field because the text is easy to read and the illustrations highlight key anatomical parts. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service

CURRENT Procedures Surgery is a unique combination atlas and text that details everything that you must know to perform more than 50 key surgical procedures. It covers the full spectrum of general surgery in an ultra-convenient, at-a-glance format, with more than 400 beautifully rendered illustrations to guide you every step of the way.

An easy to follow template for each procedure includes:

• Indications; Contraindications; Informed Consent; Equipment; Patient Preparation; Patient Positioning; Procedure; Postoperative Care; Potential Complications; Pearls and Tips; & References.

Features:

• More than 400 illustrations created specifically for this book along with clear, concise text show you how to perform essential surgical procedures
• Coverage includes procedures for the breast, gastrointestinal tract, diaphragm, pancreas, liver, thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal, arteries and veins, and more
• Templated presentation facilitates rapid review
• Author's pearls and tips included for each procedure
• A must-have resource for anyone starting their surgical residency

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Surgery, 15/e

A Doody's Core Titles for 2021!

Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons to include:

• Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery
• Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily
• More than 600 photographs and illustrations
• Detailed treatment algorithms
• Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum
• Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions
• Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries

Textbook of Complex General Surgical Oncology

The most current, comprehensive, and authoritative guide to surgical oncology.

A Doody’s Core Title for 2021! 

As cancer care has continued to evolve in the 21st century, so too has the management of specific neoplasms through surgery. Keeping pace with this dynamic subspecialty calls for a state-of-the-art resource that combines oncologic principles with surgical treatment plans. Textbook of General Surgical Oncology is just such a resource.

Encyclopedic in scope and featuring the insights of more than 300 thought leaders in their respective surgical and medical oncology disciplines, this indispensable guide illuminates both common and uncommon issues. The book’s 165 chapters span virtually every clinical scenario oncologic surgeons are likely to encounter, resulting in the most complete, rigorous overview of surgical oncology available.

Textbook of General Surgical Oncology begins with an in-depth review of the general concepts and principles of genomics, epigenetics, pathology, targeted therapy, regional therapy, and patient safety in surgical oncology. The text then focuses on site-specific neoplasms, such as those of the skin, soft tissue, head/neck, lung, mediastinum, breast, pleura, peritoneum—plus tumors that affect various systems, including the endocrine, gastrointestinal, and hepatobiliary.

Features:

• Each chapter is written by an internationally recognized expert on the topic
• Outstanding review for the new Complex General Surgical Oncology certification examination
• Helps prepare trainees of various surgical subspecialties for their in-training examinations and surgical board exams
• Numerous full-color illustrations highlight relevant anatomy and surgical technique

Cardiac Surgery in the Adult, 5/e

Now available on Access Surgery. Lawrence Cohn, who sadly passed away during the final stages of development of this edition, was a preeminent cardiovascular surgeon and Emeritus Chief of Cardiac Surgery at Brigham and Women's Hospital. Dr. Cohn edited the book since the second edition in 2003 and was best known for his pioneering work in minimally invasive valve surgery having performed more than 11,000 open heart surgeries. David Adams took over as editor during the final stages of the fifth edition. Dr. Adams is Cardiac Surgeon-in-Chief of Mount Sinai Health System and Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cardiovascular Surgery at The Mount Sinai Hospital.

Cardiac Surgery in the Adult was cited by the Journal of Thoracic Disease as "the most referenced textbook in adult cardiac surgery" and is well-known in the field for its state-of-the art approach to rapidly changing innovations in surgical techniques and strategies for the treatment of cardiac diseases. In the fifth edition, the world's foremost cardiovascular surgeons once again deliver thorough, up-to-date coverage of operative strategy, decision making, technique, and pre- and post-operative management for treating the adult cardiac patient. Unmatched in both scope and clinical rigor, this classic text contains 63 chapters that highlight every important topic in cardiovascular surgery.

Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations

Covering step-by-step instructions to 62 procedures in minimally invasive surgery (MIS - also commonly referred to as laparoscopic surgery), there are nearly 1,000 detailed illustrations by two of the most talented surgical illustrators in the business, Cory Sandone and Jen Fairman, from the Department of Art as Applied to Medicine at The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. The lead editor, John Hunter, is one of the most prominent figures in the development of MIS over the past two decades. He assembled a cast of Associate Editors in thoracic surgery, abdominal surgery, colorectal surgery, bariatric surgery, and other surgical subspecialties where MIS is being widely adopted over open surgery due to its smaller incisions, quicker patient recovery, shorter hospital stays, and reduced costs.

The format was based on Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, still one of the best-selling books in general surgery. Procedures are consistently templated to include Indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, incision and exposure, closure, and postoperative care alongside the step-by-step illustrations. The book also covers important principles of laparoscopic access, minimally invasive suturing and knot tying, and advanced topics like robotics, single-incision laparoscopic surgery, and natural orifice transluminal endoscopic surgery. The content will appeal to all residents and practitioners in general surgery, as well as those in all surgical subspecialties who wish to incorporate MIS techniques into their practice. 

Surgical Patient Safety: A Case-Based Approach

Exciting new book available on AccessSurgery. Publishing on topics like patient safety is key to our strategy of aligning Access content with the needs of community hospitals. Surgical patient safety is a vitally important issue across all hospital systems, both large and small, in the US and globally. Contributors to this book represent a wide variety of stakeholders in surgical patient safety, from surgeons in different surgical subspecialties to medical students, residents, medical educators, healthcare communications professionals, and patient safety administrators. The book presents practical tools for surgeons-in-training to use, including the use of safety checklists, communication and decision-making strategies, and tools to confront surgical complications and errors. Valuable case studies are also presented and written from the perspective of different surgical sub-specialties, including thoracic surgery, gynecologic surgery, abdominal surgery, orthopedic surgery, and trauma surgery.

Key Features:

• The latest practical patient safety tools for surgeons in training, including surgical safety checklists, intraoperative “rescue” strategies, and the global implementation of new regulatory compliance guidelines
• Case-based scenarios examining technical challenges and bail-out options in the operating room
• Bulleted “pearls and pitfalls” that take you through the decision-making process for diagnostic work up and revision of specific complications
• Insights from renowned experts that explain how to handle malpractice lawsuits, navigate the modern dangers of electronic health records, apply the pragmatic “IKEA approach” for patient advocacy, and much more

Trauma, 9/e

Unparalleled in its breadth and depth of expertly crafted content, Trauma takes you through the full range of injuries you are likely to encounter. With a full-color atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more. It then reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections; delivers a clear, organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols; and shows how to handle specific challenges in trauma, including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure.

Other features of Trauma include:

• • 500 photos and illustrations
  • Color atlas
  • Numerous X-rays, CT scans, and algorithms
  • High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient
  • A-to-Z overview of management of specific traumatic injuries
  • Detailed discussion of the management of complications

Author team: David V. Feliciano, Kenneth L. Mattox, Ernest E. Moore

AccessSurgery features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessSurgery, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessSurgery highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• 2 Minute Medicine: Surgery (article reviews on race and diversity; search term "race" in 2MM)
• Cardiac Surgery in the Adult (content on post-CABG mortality rates based on race of patient)
• Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery (content on patient outcomes by race and gender)
• Kuerer's Breast Surgical Oncology (content on ethnicity and socioeconomic status)
• Smith & Tanagho's General Urology, 19e (content on genital gender affirming surgery, patient care, decision-making, and options)

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.