AccessPediatrics: Getting Started

Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23/E

The landmark pediatrics reference completely reinvented by an all new team of editors.

Rudolph's Pediatrics has virtually defined the pediatric field for over a century, becoming one of the most important and well-respected pediatrics texts ever published. Renowned for its balance of clinical features and treatment of disease with underlying biological principles, this classic sourcebook has helped generations of pediatricians optimize their care of infants, children, and adolescents. The 23rd edition of Rudolph's has been completely restructured and streamlined thanks to an all new team of editors whose goal was to reinvent this classic with today’s busy practitioner in mind. 

Presented in full color, the 23rd edition provides an up-to-date, in-depth survey of pediatric medicine unmatched by any other text. With its algorithmic approach to pediatric systems, the book facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of both common and uncommon pediatric illnesses; and it reflects new technologies and advances in molecular medicine that continue to evolve with current thinking about normal childhood development and pediatric disease processes.

New team of editors achieves consistency in both tone and depth of content, including:

• Contributions from section editors and authors from leading academic pediatrics programs give expert coverage of general pediatrics and all of the pediatric sub-specialties
• Streamlined and consistent format for most chapters outlining Pathogenesis and Epidemiology, Clinical Manifestations, Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention
• New 2-Volume presentation improves portability
• Hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables
• The acclaimed balance between clinical applicability and underlying biological principles offers pediatricians a depth of coverage not found anywhere else
• Brand new or significantly revised chapters include: Complementary and Integrative Pediatrics, Childhood Adversity and Toxic Stress, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Pediatric Depression and Bipolar Spectrum Disorders, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO), Palliative Care for Children with Chronic Diseases, Arboviruses (with new coverage of Zika virus and chikungunya virus), Physiologic Basis of Pulmonary Function; Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia; Neuroblastoma 

“You'd be hard pressed to find a resource that matches up to the comprehensive scope of Rudolph's. It's no wonder it's a staple in most offices and hospitals.” --Doody’s Review Service

Lange CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Emergency Medicine

This text delivers faster diagnosis, more effective treatments, and improved outcomes with this concise guide to pediatric emergency medicine: 

• Provides immediate access to life-saving and routine information through consistent chapter outlines
• Begins with a section on emergency procedures and child-safety issues
• Presents information the way an emergency medicine provider thinks and acts: by symptomatic presentation, including cardiac arrest, respiratory distress, shock,fever, abdominal pain, seizures, trauma
• Details evaluation and management of disorders routinely seen in Pediatric Emergency Medicine such as foreign bodies, respiratory infections, asthma, heart defects, dehydration, rashes, sickle-cell disease, sports-injuries and more
• Enhanced by numerous tables, and more than 400 illustrations and photographs to clarify concepts and improve understanding
• Valuable to all practitioners of emergency medicine, from pre-hospital care providers to nurses and physicians
• Designed for use in a busy, fast-paced emergency department
• Focuses on the practical aspects of emergency care
• Covers a wide spectrum of pediatric conditions

Strange and Schafermeyer's Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 5/E

Concise, current, need-to-know coverage of emergency medicine in children presented in full color, this clinically-focused guide covers the entire field of pediatric emergency medicine. Featuring a strong focus on practical need-to-know information Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 5/E, is bolstered by numerous full-color images, bulleted high-yield facts at the beginning of each chapter, nearly 100 diagnostic and treatment algorithms, and treatment tables with drug dosages. Endorsed by the American College of Emergency Physicians, this book is perfect for use in the emergency department or the pediatric clinic.

FEATURES

• Chapters open with bulleted High-Yield Facts, followed by just enough pathophysiology for understanding, and continue with a focus on what needs to be done to protect and save the child
• Broad scope spans the full spectrum of pediatric emergencies -- from trauma care to psychosocial emergencies
• NEW CHAPTER on Brief Resolved Unexplained Events (BRUE)
• Opens with an important symptom-based section of Cardinal Presentations that familiarizes you with crucial life- saving protocols
• Covers all major categories of disease that present in children on an urgent or emergent basis

Pediatric Endocrinology and Inborn Errors of Metabolism, 2/E

The fully revised second edition of Pediatric Endocrinology and Inborn Errors of Metabolism is now available for the first time on Access Pediatrics. The text is a practical, user-friendly overview of the latest information and clinical insights that pediatric residents and fellows in endocrinology and clinical genetics need to confidently diagnose and manage pediatric patients battling endocrine disorders and inborn errors of metabolism. Chapters present the etiology, pathophysiology, presenting signs and symptoms, diagnostic laboratory examinations, and treatments regimens of each disorder with numerous photos, illustrations, diagnostic algorithms, tables, and text boxes that summarize key concepts and assist in the decision-making process. 

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, 24/E

The most practical, up-to-date, and well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of children—from birth to adolescence

Following the "Current" outline format to make it super easy for you to find the answers you need, this comprehensive, clinically focused guide delivers evidence-based information on the pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily clinical practice.

Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values and 600 photos and illustrations, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics offers succinct, authoritative overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance abuse; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. The authors provide detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and everything is presented in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT style: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis.

Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology

Complete how-to guidance on managing gastrointestinal diseases and disorders in children in full color!

Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a unique source of clinically relevant information on the diagnosis and treatment of children with gastrointestinal symptoms and disorders. The care of the patient forms the core of this full-color resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric resident, gastroenterologist, and pediatric nurse needs to know.

Expert authors in each subject area provide detailed, yet concise overviews of important disorders of the esophagus, stomach, intestine, pancreas, and liver. You will also find discussion of common symptoms, their differential diagnosis, and how they should be evaluated and treated along with an introduction to the use of diagnostic modalities such as radiology, nuclear medicine, and endoscopy. A listing of relevant, recent articles appears at the end of each chapter allowing you to expand your exploration of a given topic.

The Pediatric Practice series simplifies the care of pediatric patients by delivering:

• Tips that tell you what you must know at every stage of care
• Diagnostic and treatment algorithms
• Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes
• “When to Refer” boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations
• Diagnostic Tests—with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order
• Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format
• Convenient icons and a templated chapter design
• Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams
• Logical section organization, with consistent headings among chapters covering similar topics
• Introductory sections that provide an update on recent research that informs clinical practice
• Full-color throughout

"Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a beautifully illustrated and reader-friendly textbook that provides a well-rounded overview of pediatric gastroenterology that provides an excellent resource for general pediatricians and allied health professionals caring for children in general practice."--Gastroenterology

The Color Atlas of Pediatrics

The Color Atlas of Pediatrics features more than 1,800 full-color photographs to help you visually diagnose a wide variety of common and uncommon conditions and disorders spanning the entire pediatric spectrum. This superb collection of clinical images is supported by concise, evidence-based treatment recommendations presented in easy-to-apply bulleted text. Each chapter begins with a patient story that ties the photographs to real-life patients.

Coverage for conditions includes:

• Epidemiology
• Etiology and Pathophysiology
• Risk Factors
• Diagnosis
• Differential Diagnosis
• Management
• Prevention
• Patient Education

Strength of recommendation ratings are cited throughout, skillfully blending the art and science of medicine for optimal patient care.

“The book is concise, thorough, and well written. The high-quality pictures supplement the sections on clinical features and management. I found the book informative, enjoyable to read, and the format easy to follow. Any clinician who cares for children would benefit from this book.”
--Reviewed by Gregory L. Swartz, DO in Family Medicine

CURRENT Procedures: Pediatrics

• Authoritative coverage of more than 70 pediatric procedures, including peripheral IV insertion, sedation and pain management, blood pressure management, gastric lavage, suturing of lacerations, tympanometry, corneal abrasion and eye patching, regional nerve blocks, , and more!
• Cohesive organization that begins with the ABCs of procedures (airway, breathing, circulatory support) and progresses to a detailed overview of procedures by organ system
• Important section on subspecialty procedures offering background information, indications, and pearls to guide the generalist who may need to refer for further evaluation, covering everything from bronchoscopy and echocardiography, to colonoscopy and bone marrow aspiration
• Handy list of appropriate equipment for a general pediatrics office

Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, 2/E

The most practice-oriented guide to diagnosing and managing infectious diseases in children, Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, 2/E is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance for successful infectious disease management. The care of the patient forms the core of this indispensable resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric hospitalist, and pediatric nurse practitioner needs to know. The book's high-yield coverage includes detailed, yet precise overviews of specific infections and their etiology, along with proven diagnostic and management strategies that readers can incorporate into their practice right away.

FEATURES:

• Diagnostic and treatment algorithms 
• Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes 
• "When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations 
• Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order 
• Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format 
• Convenient icons and a templated chapter design 
• Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams
• Clinical Pearls boxes accompany coverage of each infectious disease
• Updated treatment guidelines and protocols from the CDC

Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology

The first neonatal handbook to focus on clinical protocols and best management practices Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology provides a compilation of the most current and authoritative clinical care recommendations for the neonatal patient. The goals of this innovative text are to help deliver effective, evidence-based neonatal care; foster consensus in practice; and to enable clinicians to deliver the best value for every healthcare dollar spent. Readers will find it to be a comprehensive source of clinical recommendations, care paths, and guidelines to help them manage the most commonly encountered neonatal conditions.

Spanning all major areas of neonatal care, Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology bypasses dense explanations in favor of high yield text and ready-to-apply evidence-based management guidelines. Chapters follow a uniform presentation of neonatal conditions that include the scope, major recommendations, implementation of guidelines into practice, summary, and bibliographic sources. 

Features:

• Chapters focus on clinical management practices and evidence-based supporting data rather than lengthy descriptions of disease and practice
• Covers all major areas of neonatal and perinatal medicine, including antenatal and perinatal management; neonatal  transition; nutrition, fluids, and electrolytes; respiratory distress; cardiovascular disorders; blood disorders;  infections; endocrine and metabolic disorders; and neurological issues
• Text is supplemented by evidence-based diagnostic and treatment algorithms, detailed illustrations, and clinical images

Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures

With this text, understand the fundamental principles of neonatology and learn evidence-based care strategies. With coverage that strikes the perfect balance between proven management approaches and fundamental principles, this unique resource combines the benefits of a comprehensive neonatology textbook with a practical procedural guide.

You will get a detailed step-by-step instruction on diagnosis, management, and treatment of acute problems of the newborn as organized by organ system, based on the highest level of evidence available, along with a thorough review of topics such as epidemiology, ethics, legal issues in the NICU, monitoring devices, fluid requirements, and enteral nutrition.

Features:

• A full-color presentation that includes hundreds of figures and tables
• An emphasis on proven care strategies for improved outcomes
• Detailed procedural instruction
• An organ-system approach when discussing neonatal disorders
• A practical approach to all topics with detailed management approaches and procedures

Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures will prove to be an outstanding refresher for any clinician involved in the diagnosis and management of newborn infants and a valuable instructional guide for junior staff and residents.

Gomella's Neonatology: Management Procedures, On-Call Problems, Diseases, and Drugs, 8e

The field’s most trusted and comprehensive guide to treating common and rare problems in newborns.

A true essential for nearly three decades, this streamlined reference provides logically organized, quickly retrievable information on basic and advanced management techniques for the neonate. Featuring a convenient outline approach that puts key information at reader’s fingertips, this quick reference covers everything clinicians need to know about on-call neonatal problems, procedures, diseases and disorders, and pharmacology.

• The most comprehensive drug formulary available in a neonatal handbook
• 20 procedures are explained in a step-by-step manner
• Full-color images of neonatal rashes and dermatologic problems
• Immunization tables
• An "On Call" section presenting more than common and serious patient management issues with guidelines for rapid diagnosis and treatment
• Cutting-edge strategies for management of specific respiratory syndromes
• Valuable appendices, including Abbreviations Used in Neonatology, Blood Pressure Determinations, Isolation Guidelines, and more

Practical Neonatal Echocardiography

A concise introduction to the principles and practice of point-of-care echocardiography for neonatologists and other clinicians caring for sick neonates, Practical Neonatal Echocardiography is written to help clinicians develop the skills necessary to perform a high quality neonatal echocardiographic examination, evaluate cardiac function, and recognize abnormalities and defects. This unique text is based on an acclaimed course the authors have taught for the past sixteen years where they train neonatologists and other clinicians in the use of cardiac ultrasound for on-the-spot examination and diagnosis of neonatal patients.

Features:

• Provides an introduction to the basic principles of echocardiography and the ultrasound scanners commonly used at pediatric cardiac centers
• Neonatal cardiac anatomy is clearly described through use of 2-dimensional images and video clips
• Chapters teach assessment of cardiac structure and function, central and peripheral blood flow, shunts, and pulmonary pressure
• Myocardial dysfunction, heart failure, shock, hypotension, cardiomyopathy, cyanosis, pulmonary hypertension, and more are discussed in detail with multiple illustrative cases
• Describes common features of ultrasound scanners and how to use them
• Helps clinicians make informed choices about transducer selection, detailing particular advantages and disadvantages
• Includes detailed descriptions of detecting abnormalities of cardiovascular function with and without congenital defects 
• Bolstered by more than 200 video clips (available at PracticalNeonatalEcho.com) that display real-life examples of normal vs. abnormal cardiac function in neonates

Pediatric Practice: Neurology

Hands-on guidance to managing pediatric patients with neurologic disorders.

Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Neurology is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance for neurologic diagnosis and treatment in children. The care of the patient forms the core of this resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, neurologist, and pediatric nurse needs to know.

The book includes detailed, yet concise overviews of pediatric neurologic conditions, including seizures and epilepsy, paroxysmal disorders, headache, ataxia, ADHD and learning disorders, cerebral palsy, movement and balance disorders, neuropathies, neuroinfectious diseases, and much more. Additionally, proven diagnostic and management strategies are provided for immediate use in a clinical setting. Pediatric Practice: Neurology is your blueprint for improved medical management and optimal outcomes for your pediatric patients.

"...a comprehensive and timely reference of pediatric neurological problems for practitioners on the go. Particularly given the uneasiness many non-neurologists feel in dealing with these issues, this book can be a genuine help....this book is a very useful initial reference for general pediatric practitioners, adult neurologists, and neurology trainees. The many tables, illustrations, and pictures are a particular strength. It certainly is worthy of consideration as a reference for one's bookshelf. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service

Pediatric Practice: Ophthalmology

Hands-on, full-color guidance for treating ophthalmic diseases in children with 600 full-color clinical images and illustrations.

Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Ophthalmology is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance on the successful diagnosis and management of children with ophthalmic symptoms and diseases. The care of the patient forms the core of this book, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric resident, and nurse should be familiar with. Over 600 full-color clinical images and illustrations highlight the techniques, diseases, and disorders discussed throughout the book.

The book is logically divided into three parts:

• The first section describes the examination techniques, instruments, and ancillary tests used for evaluation of pediatric eye disorders.
• The second section on symptoms provides a straightforward how-to approach based on specific clinical presentations allowing pediatricians to quickly evaluate and accurately diagnose a patient in the office.
• The third section on diseases follows the style of traditional medical textbooks, offering greater detail on treatment of disease while maintaining the book’s easy-to-absorb presentation.

"This is a hybrid between a textbook and a clinical guide that aims to bridge the knowledge gap between general pediatric practitioners and specialized pediatric ophthalmologists in the care of children with eye disease. It is organized in an easy-to-use fashion with numerous pictures and clinical algorithms to make it useful for everyday use. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service

Pediatric Laboratory Medicine

A complete full-color guide to medical laboratory test selection and test result interpretation for disorders and diagnoses specific to pediatric and neonatal populations.

Laboratory medicine practiced at a pediatric institution has unique characteristics specific to infants and children, who differ both metabolically and biochemically from adults.  Many aspects of laboratory medicine are affected by these differences, from basic, day-to-day operational issues through test selection for pediatric-specific disorders. However, most references in laboratory medicine merely touch upon pediatrics – and offer little if any coverage of variations in testing and results for different age groups, or the many diseases and disorders most common in infants and children. Pediatric Laboratory Medicine is specifically written to fill this critical void in the literature.

Now, for the first time, all important reference material concerning pediatric laboratory medicine is available in one convenient, up-to-date resource. Pediatric Laboratory Medicine teaches the effective operation of a pediatric clinical operation, and also provides guidelines for teaching trainees. This unique text delivers the how-to instruction necessary to ensure proper handling and testing of pediatric specimens to ensure accurate diagnosis. Valuable learning aids include learning objectives, end-of-chapter review questions, and references for further study.

Written by experienced clinicians, the book’s seventeen chapters cover virtually every important topic – from daily issues in the practice of pediatric laboratory medicine to common tests and considerations to inborn errors of metabolism and therapeutic drug monitoring. Enhanced by numerous tables and high-quality full-color images, this authoritative resource delivers everything necessary for effective pediatric laboratory medicine training and practice.  

Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, 2/E

The second edition of the foundational textbook in pediatric hospital medicine, Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, has published on AccessPediatrics. Astute librarians may associate this title with Elsevier, as they published the first edition, but the rights were transferred to McGraw-Hill and this is entirely new content for AccessPediatrics. Pediatric hospital medicine, sometimes referred to as inpatient pediatrics, is one of the fastest growing fields in pediatrics and officially recognized as a pediatric subspecialty in 2016 by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). There are now more than 200 2-year pediatric hospitalist fellowship programs at hospitals of all sizes throughout the US and Canada, and a separate board examination will be offered by the American Board of Pediatrics in 2019.

Pediatric hospital medicine (PHM) has largely followed the path cut by hospital medicine over the past few decades, and as such concentrates on the general medical care of hospitalized infants, children, and adolescents. Practitioners in PHM can come from several disciplines, including pediatrics, family medicine, and internal medicine, and can have various credentials, including MD, DO, ARNP, or PA. Pediatrics hospitalists care for hospitalized children in a variety of settings, including the pediatric ward, newborn nursery, neonatal and pediatric intensive care units, and emergency department. PHM is also among the most innovative pediatric subspecialties with an emphasis on evidence-based medicine and improving the quality, value, and outcomes of pediatric patient care.

As its name implies, the textbook is a comprehensive overview of the entire practice of PHM and is edited and written by academic and clinical leaders in the field. With 199 chapters, the book adds a wealth of content to AccessPediatrics, covering common presenting signs and symptoms, a systems-based approach to diagnosis, and a separate section on commonly performed procedures. There is also a section on organizational and administrative topics in PHM, including infection control, communications and discharge planning, medicolegal and ethical issues, and models of care. The addition of this book along with the currently available Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, should be a great selling point for expanding the subscriber base of APD into more children's and community hospitals.

Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children

The essential illustrated atlas of pediatric radiology featuring more than 3,700 images, Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children enables you to visualize the full range of pediatric diseases and injuries using the latest diagnostic imaging techniques. A one-of-a-kind survey of the entire spectrum of disease in neonates, infants, children, and adolescents, Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children is filled with 3,794 high-quality images of every modality: X-ray, CT, ultrasound, MRI, nuclear medicine, and more.

Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children features an organization that reflects how a practicing radiologist approaches a typical case, beginning with the clinical presentation and pathology of a disease and proceeding through the findings for each important imaging technique.

FEATURES:

• Expert coverage of every modality currently available: CT, MRI, ultrasound, x-ray, nuclear medicine, PET, echocardiography, and cardiac MRI
• Practical emphasis on what radiologists and residents need to know in their daily practice
• Logical organization by body systems
• Review of developmental abnormalities of each organ system provides a solid foundation for understanding diagnostic tools and techniques
• "Clinical Presentations" provide symptom-based reviews that clarify key pediatric radiology concepts and enable you to confidently evaluate children with any disease or injury
• Skill-sharpening differential diagnosis tables—some of which correlate the clinical and radiographic features—aid comprehension by putting the latest protocols at your fingertips
• Hundreds of "Pathology – Radiology" tables throughout the text serve as quick reference guides and are great tools for resident study and review
• Full references

Operative Pediatric Surgery, 2/E

The definitive illustrated resource on the surgical management of infants and children with an emphasis on operative technique.

A Doody's Core Title for 2017!

Operative Pediatric Surgery, 2/E is a comprehensive, well-illustrated text that delivers expert coverage of the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of pediatric surgical disease. This detailed single-volume resource is enhanced by numerous drawings, radiographs, and photographs that illustrate the authors’ preferred operative techniques. Wherever appropriate, diagnostic and care guidelines are also included.

Operative Pediatric Surgery, 2/E, is divided into 11 sections that include a total of 100 chapters. The book opens with an informative General Principles section that provides important background information on topics such as the history of pediatric surgery, ethical considerations, pediatric surgical critical care, and office-based ambulatory surgery. The rest of the text is organized primarily by organ, enhanced by a timely section on solid organ transplantation.

In this second edition, each chapter author has thoroughly updated and refreshed their topic, and in many instances, minimally invasive operative techniques are included with open approaches. There are also exciting new chapters on:

• Hypospadias
• Vesicoureteral reflux
• Non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcomas
• Gastrointestinal polyps and cancer
• Adolescent bariatric surgery

Operative Pediatric Surgery will prove to be an essential reference for pediatric surgeons seeking optimal diagnosis and treatment approaches for their patients.

AccessPediatrics features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessPediatrics, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessPediatrics highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Pediatric Endocrinology: Principles and Practice, 3e (includes content on care of transgender, nonbinary, gender dysphoria, and gender diverse youth)

• Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23e (includes content on sex and gender, disorders of sexual development, gender identity, and psychosexual differentiation)

• Operative Pediatric Surgery, 2e (includes content on intersex in sports, disorders of sexual differentiation, and gender)

• The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, 3e (includes content on supporting youth across the gender identity spectrum)

• Neonatology: Clinical Practice and Procedures (includes content on disorders of sexual differentiation and gender assignment)

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.