AccessNeurology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content and optimized for viewing on any device.
Authoritative, trusted, and comprehensive, the Neurology Collection is the field’s leading website guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes distinguished physician-educators Allan H. Ropper, MD; Martin A. Samuels, MD; Joshua P. Klein, MD, PhD; and Dr. Tracey Milligan, MD.
AccessNeurology can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading neurology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; and allow practicing neurologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification.
Why is AccessNeurology unique?
AccessNeurology provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in education and certification / re-certification in neurology through these exclusive interactive features:
Visit the AccessNeurology support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources, and view the AccessNeurology Image of the Month gallery and the AccessNeurology Network for all the latest news and updates on AccessNeurology.
Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.
Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is an active learning module for assessing your knowledge of brain anatomy structures and their corresponding neural pathway functions. The Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is useful to medical, NP, and PA students to supplement neuroanatomy coursework, as well as residents looking to refresh their neuroanatomy knowledge.
Originally created by author John Martin while he was at Columbia, the tool has been completely recreated and updated in HTML5 and includes expanded structure labeling and the ability to toggle back and forth between showing and hiding labels which will help students' ability to quiz themselves.
The sections are in three planes: transverse, horizontal, and sagittal. Structures are color-coded to correspond with their associated sensory system displayed on the bottom left of the screen. The Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is linked to Martin's book on AccessNeurology, Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, 4th edition.
Author: John H. Martin, PhD, Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education, CUNY School of Medicine, The City College of New York
Clinical Neuroanatomy Explained is an animated video lecture series narrated by Aaron L. Berkowitz, MD, PhD. Each episode focuses on a core topic for understanding the relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function using basic animation techniques and concise explanations. Each 5 - 10 minute video reveals fundamental neuroanatomy and clinical localization principles necessary to understand how to diagnose and treat patients with neurologic disease.
The instructional video series delivers a unique, blended learning approach to clinical neurology, and videos can be used on their own or to supplement corresponding chapters from the author’s textbook, Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: A Localization-Based Approach, which has quickly established itself as a leading resource for both clerkship neurology students and first-year neurology residents.
Procedural and conceptual videos are available in AccessNeurology in multiple categories, including:
Click here to view the complete video library on AccessNeurology.
AccessNeurology lectures are featured as downloadable PowerPoint presentations for study and group viewing. These lectures supplement Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. Some of the areas covered include:
Check out the animations in AccessNeurology. Designed by BioDigital, these animations include explore tools that allow the user to select, hide, and fade specific structures in the brain, as well as pan and rotate the image and zoom in and out. The embedded anatomy search tool allows users to search for specific anatomical structures in the model by name or browse through all of the structures in the anatomy tree. These models can be shared through email and social media.
Two models are currently offered:
To engage with AccessNeurology and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessNeurology. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.
Instructors can link to content in AccessNeurology through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessNeurology via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.
In the Books tab in AccessNeurology, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check out the library at these links:
The eleventh edition of Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is now live on AccessMedicine and AccessNeurology. First published by McGraw Hill in 1977, the namesake author of the original text was Raymond Adams, who chaired the MGH Department of Neurology for over 25 years and was widely regarded as the most pre-eminent American neurologist of the 20th century. Ray Adams was instrumental in founding the field of children's neurology in the early 1950s; was a key figure in the creation of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Research Center for Mental Retardation; was elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1955; and along with Australian neurologist James Waldo Lance, described posthypoxic myoclonus, later called Lance-Adams syndrome.
Adams and his cohort, Maurice Victor, began working together early in their careers at Boston City Hospital and co-author more than 100 papers together, along with the first six editions of this text. Maurice Victor was a distinguished neurologist in his own right and made important contributions to the understanding of neurological complications of alcoholism and malnutrition.
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology has since become the most recognized foundational textbook in clinical neurology throughout the world. The eleventh edition covers important innovations in the treatment of neurologic conditions and new research and understanding of the genetic basis of neurologic disease, including:
The gold standard of neuroscience texts updated with hundreds of brand-new images and fully revised content in every chapter.
A Doody's Core Titles for 2021!
For more than 40 years, Principles of Neural Science has helped readers understand the link between the human brain and behavior. As the renowned text has shown, all behavior is an expression of neural activity and the future of both clinical neurology and psychiatry is dependent on the progress of neural science. Fully updated, this sixth edition of the landmark reference reflects the latest research, clinical perspectives, and advances in the field. It offers an unparalleled perspective on the the current state and future of neural science.
This new edition features:
Principles of Neural Science, Sixth Edition benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior.
The text is divided into nine sections:
Kandel Quarterly provides users with some of the current emerging themes in neuroscience research
Update topics include:
This Lange text provides practical, up-to-date strategies for assessing and managing the neurologic conditions most frequently seen in adults and children, including:
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice.
Doody's Core Titles for 2021!
A comprehensive, full-color guide to the principles and practice of neuropsychiatry and behavioral neurology. A primary resource in the field.
From the world-renowned experts at the Center for Brain/Mind Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology delivers authoritative, multidisciplinary information and insights for improving patient care. Chapter authors include additional worldwide academic clinician leaders from sister institutions.
Covering the latest advances in cognitive, affective, and behavioral neuroscience, the text provides a practical and clearly written approach to structural and functional neuroanatomy; neuropsychiatric and behavioral neurology assessments and treatments; and neurobehavioral/neuropsychiatric syndromes and disorders. Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology includes:
Whether you’re a trainee, recent graduate, seasoned practicing clinician, or investigator interested in linking basic neuroscience research to clinical care, you’ll find everything you need to determine the neurobiological origins of alterations in emotion, cognition, and behavior; contextualize the illness to emphasize the role of underlying brain circuitry; develop informed differential diagnoses; and plan and implement the most effective treatment strategies. This text meets the curriculum requirements needed to prepare for board certification in Behavioral Neurology and Neuropsychiatry.
The acclaimed protocol-based guide to neurocritical care – essential for daily practice and the boards.
An immediate classic, this groundbreaking text is based on the premise that neurointensivists must be trained to handle not only the brain, but the entire body. The NeuroICU Book, Second Edition does not limit coverage to the brain and spine – it spans all organ insufficiencies and failures – along with neurologic illnesses.
Thoroughly updated to keep pace with all the advances in this emerging field, the Second Edition of The NeuroICU Book combines the latest clinical perspectives in critical care medicine, neurology, and neurosurgery. This practical, evidence-based text standardizes neurocritical care and takes you through the rationale for those standards. Filled with detailed case studies and enhanced by a question-and-answer format, the book not only builds competency in recognizing acute changes in neurological function, but also addresses all organ insufficiencies and failures, reflecting the real-life challenges in the modern neuro-ICU.
The NeuroICU Book is also available separately for iOS on the App Store, and Android on the Play Store. For more information, go to http://bit.ly/NeuroICUBookApp
AccessNeurology features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessNeurology, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessNeurology highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:
You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.
Quick Reference in AccessNeurology provides reference information for quick lookup, including:
For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.
For institutional accounts:
For individual subscribers:
Cases in AccessNeurology provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor.
Cases can be generated from these texts in AccessNeurology:
The Study Tools tab in AccessNeurology provides:
To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.