AccessCardiology: Getting Started

Procedural and conceptual videos are available in AccessCardiology in multiple categories, including:

• Echocardiography
• Multimodal Imaging
• Murmurs
• Valvular Disease

Click here to view the complete video library on AccessCardiology

Audio in AccessCardiology:

Heart Sounds

• Listen to heart sounds, such as heart murmurs.

Hurst's The Heart Author Interviews

• Hurst’s The Heart Author Interviews with Dr. Valentin Fuster.

Practice Impact Extra

• Lively and engaging podcast series on various related topics with each generally at a user-friendly 5-10 minutes.
• Shareable through email and social media as well.

AccessCardiology is mobile-optimized, so users can navigate listen on-the-go.

American College of Cardiology 2020 Meeting

This year due to COVID-19 the annual meeting of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) was cancelled. Our lead editor and world-renowned cardiologist, Dr. Valentin Fuster, who is the lead editor of Hurst's the Heart presented his review of 10 clinical trials that were released at the virtual sessions of the ACC on March 28-30, 2020. 

• FAMILIA: 23 (epidemiology of hypertension), 27 (obesity and cardiovascular disease), 107 (social determinants of cardiovascular disease), and 111 (behavioral cardiology)
• COLCOT: 39 (evaluation and management of NSTEMI) and 40 (STEMI)
• DAPA HF: 70 (diagnosis and management of chronic heart failure)
• ISCHEMIA: 43 (evaluation and management of stable ischemic heart disease), 44 (coronary artery bypass grafting and percutaneous interventions in stable ischemic heart disease)
• RECOVERY: 47 (aortic valve disease)
• COMPASS: 41 (antiplatelet and anticoagulant therapy in acute coronary syndromes)
• TWILIGHT: 41 (antiplatelet and anticoagulant therapy in acute coronary syndromes)
• ORION 9 and ORION 10: 29 (hyperlipidemia) *though incliseran not discussed
• PARAGON HF: 70 (evaluation and management of chronic heart failure
• FRANCE TAVI: 47 (aortic valve disease)

In collaboration with Dr. Fuster, we hosted a WEBEX with more than 110 cardiology fellows and faculty earlier this week. The audio presentation is now available on AccessCardiology at this link.

About Hurst’s The Heart

Hailed for its authority, currency, and ability to translate the latest research and advances into real-world clinical application, Hurst’s The Heart is the field’s landmark text and cardiology’s longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet your ever-changing clinical information needs, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics.

Within its pages, you will find succinct, visually appealing summaries of all the major new trials and guidelines, along with tips for optimizing outcomes and health quality. The fourteenth edition has been completely updated to reflect the latest technical, therapeutic, and clinical advances, while still maintaining a strong focus on quality patient care.

Here's Why This Is the Best Edition Yet:

• New chapters covering:
  • Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy
  • Ischemic Mitral Regurgitation
  • Degenerative Mitral Valve Disease
  • Left Ventricular Noncompaction
  • Evaluation and Management of Acute Heart Failure
  • Carotid Artery Stenting
  • Race, Ethnicity, and Cardiovascular Disease
• New sections covering:
  • Metabolic Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease
  • Cigarette Smoking and Cardiovascular Disease
• More than 1,500 full-color illustrations and 500 tables (many new to this edition)
• The wisdom, experience, and authority of nearly 300 expert contributors

Cardiac Arrhythmias: Interpretation, Diagnosis, and Treatment, 2/E

A cardiac arrhythmia (irregular heartbeat) is an improper beating of the heart, whether irregular, too fast or two slow. Sometimes there may not be symptoms and more than 3 million people in the US are diagnosed with arrhythmias.  

The purpose of this work was to “create comprehensive content on an integrated approach to cardiac arrhythmias for individuals without a background in clinical electrophysiology”.  While they hoped that clinical electrophysiologists would find this book useful, their intent was to educate the broader field of clinicians, for example, medical students, house staff, primary care physicians, cardiologists and nurses, on the diagnosis and treatment of patients with cardiac arrhythmias. 

There has been tremendous change in the last 25 years to the therapy of cardiac arrhythmias.  Surgery to cure arrhythmias is nearly extinct, and new antiarrhythmic drug development has been stagnant.  At the same time, there have been remarkable advances in catheter ablation technology and its application to treat a wide variety of cardiac arrhythmias, as well as development of newer implantable cardiac electrical devices and indications for their use.

Dr. Prystowsky is a pioneer in the field of electrophysiology. He is a practicing cardiologist with St. Vincent Medical Group and Director of the Cardiac Arrhythmia Service, St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis. He is also a Consulting Professor of Medicine at Duke University Medical Center.

He is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Cardiovascular Electrophysiology. Additionally, he is past chairman of the American Heart Association's Committee on Electrocardiography and Electrophysiology, past president of the Heart Rhythm Society and past chairman of the Test Writing Committee for Clinical Electrophysiology for the American Board of Internal Medicine. 

After reading this content, readers should be able to:

• Recognize clinical, electrocardiographic and electrophysiologic characteristics of specific cardiac arrhythmias, as well as rare clinical problems for which patients would consult a disease specialist.
• Interpret complex electrophysiologic and electrocardiographic tracings.
• Interpret stored electrograms from pacemakers and ICDs

Cardiac Surgery in the Adult, 5/E

A Doody’s Core Title for 2019! 

The most comprehensive and current full-color cardiac surgery resource updated by leading surgeons. The world’s foremost cardiovascular surgeons deliver thorough, up-to-date coverage of operative strategy, decision making, technique, and pre- and post-operative management for treating the adult cardiac patient. Unmatched in both scope and clinical rigor, this classic text contains 63 chapters that highlight every important topic in cardiovascular surgery.

Presented in full color, Cardiac Surgery in the Adult takes readers through the optimal treatment of congenital, acquired, infectious, and traumatic diseases of the heart and great vessels. The book opens with a history of cardiac surgery and basic cardiac science, then moves into all types of cardiac surgery, providing both practicing surgeons and residents with insight into the very latest surgical protocols.

Cardiac Surgery in the Adult is logically divided into ten sections:

• Basics (includes history, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, computed tomography, risk assessment, simulation, and the fully integrated cardiovascular center)
• Perioperative/Intraoperative Care
• Ischemic Heart Disease
• Aortic Valve Disease
• Mitral Valve Disease
• Surgery of the Great Vessels
• Rhythm Surgery
• Other Cardiac Operations (including congenital heart disease, pericardial disease, and cardiac neoplasms)
• Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support

The fifth edition has been updated throughout, and includes the latest advances in minimally invasive surgery and simulation.

Practical Echocardiography for Cardiac Sonographers

An echocardiogram (Echo Test) can help to diagnose heart conditions. It helps to investigate signs or symptoms of heart diseases, like shortness of breath, chest discomfort or swelling in the legs. An ultrasound of your heart allows doctors to see it pumping blood as well as the size and shape of your heart. 

A growing number of medical schools now teach ultrasound scanning of the heart as a supplement to teaching stethoscope skills. Medical students have so many details to memorize, they are sure to embrace a concise and practical guide. In other words, handheld ultrasound devices are becoming available to an increasing number of healthcare professionals who then need to learn the basics of echocardiographic imaging.

This is a reference that serves to introduce the discipline of echocardiography. Topics are succinctly presented to introduce basic concepts and proper terminology. This is a practical guide and quick reference with scanning checklists (including concepts in physics) that will help with the interpretation and clinical application of echocardiography. So much of echocardiography is pattern recognition and recognizing what is different from what is normal. The best way to learn echocardiography is to see multiple versions and variations of important echo findings.

This resource contains 1000 echocardiography video clips (at the end of the relevant chapters), imaging tips,  and echocardiography guidelines are also referenced and carefully annotated by the authors. Many of the videos were chosen to supplement images that are found in the ASE Guidelines. 

Color Atlas and Synopsis of Interventional Cardiology

This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for an interventional cardiology reference that provides expert textual guidance on patient diagnosis and management, along with a comprehensive collection of images (many in full color) illustrating specific procedures.

Features include:

• Divided into four sections:
  • Hemodynamic Study
  • Percutaneous Coronary Interventions
  • Non-Coronary Cardiac Interventions
  • Peripheral Interventions
• Strong focus on normal anatomy, radiographic anatomy, indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management
• Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issue into clinical, real-world perspective.
• 3 videos on renal artery stenosis

Cases Studies in Interventional Cardiology

The text, videos, images, cases with questions and answers provide readers with pearls necessary to understand the origin of cath lab disasters, as well as the appropriate procedures required for their management. The explanations are accompanied by angiographic videos related to each case.

Each case featured in Case Studies in Interventional Cardiology provides an account of the patient’s clinical presentation, as well as the patient’s ECG and any pertinent laboratory tests. The case presentations are followed by a description of the angiograms as well as associated anomalies or complications and how to manage them.

The lessons in Case Studies in Interventional Cardiology are reinforced by a series of questions at the end of each case. This comprehensive resource for managing anomalies and complications encountered in interventional cardiology, includes 50 cases, 349 videos, 65 figures, 165 multiple choice questions, 250 self-review questions and 250 references.

Color Atlas and Synopsis of Vascular Diseases

With hundreds of high-quality images spanning the entire spectrum of vascular disease, the Color Atlas of Vascular Diseases is designed to help you properly identify and manage vascular diseases involving the arterial, venous, and lymphatic system. It offers a clinical and synoptic approach to the full range of diagnostic and therapeutic considerations in vascular diseases. You will find hundreds of state-of-the-art clinical, diagnostic, and interventional images, along with concise, bulleted text detailing the diagnosis and patient management.

This unique combination atlas and learning text written by experts in the field, integrates the fields of vascular medicine, vascular surgery, and endovascular therapy in an effective, easy-to-learn fashion. Chapters feature succinct bulleted teaching points combined with photographs of vascular pathology. When appropriate, vivid arteriographic and ultrasonographic images are also included.

Topics include:

• Lower Extremity Arterial Disease
• Aortic and Upper Extremity Arterial Disease
• Carotid Artery Occlusive Disease
• Aneurysmal Disease
• Non-Atherosclerotic Disorders
• Arteriovenous Visceral Disease
• Venous Disease
• Limb Swelling
• Vasospastic and Vasculitic Diseases
• Environmental Diseases
• Limb Ulcerations

COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide

• Healthcare providers around the world have been faced with the most challenging pandemic of their lifetime.  As of the writing of this post, there have been over 200,000,000 cases of COVID-19 across the world with over 4,000,000 associated mortalities.  Healthcare providers, scientists, and researchers have worked endlessly to seek treatments and develop vaccines against the relentless virus, yet cases and mortalities continue to rise.
• COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide is a first edition text that seeks to guide the medical practitioner in making adequate clinical judgement quickly with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19 disease. The book is divided into chapters based on genuine clinical cases with a proposed approach for each case.
• This text offers 10 robust, real-world case scenarios focusing on cardiac manifestations of COVID-19, with a depth and richness of context not offered by other competitors.  Examples of cases include: COVID-19 and Cardiac Arrhythmias, COVID-19 and Cardiogenic Shock, and COVID-19 and Acute Coronary Syndrome.  In efforts to promote end-user engagement and access to the best resources in medicine, we are making this text freely available for a limited time.

AccessCardiology features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessCardiology, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessCardiology highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

• Fuster and Hurst's The Heart, 15e: Ch. 81: Race, Ethnicity, Disparities, Diversity, and Heart Disease

• The Essential MD-PhD Guide: Ch. 31: Training a Diverse Physician-Scientist Workforce 

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html.