AccessWorldMed: Getting Started

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Asian Skin: a Reference Color Atlas of Dermatology and Venereology, Revised 2nd Edition

The first edition of the Asian skin atlas was published in 2005. In this second edition, more than 95% of the clinical pictures found in the first edition have been refreshed. This new atlas expands on the previous edition by including new conditions within existing chapters as well as adding eight new chapters. Histology of key clinical conditions is now incorporated as well.

This comprehensive atlas of dermatology contains more than 1,400 high quality clinical and histological pictures of dermatoses affecting Asians. Conditions unique to Asians such as nevus of Ota/Ito, Hori’s nevus, Ofuji’s’ disease, progressive macular confluent hypomelanosis, cutaneous plasmacytosis, cutaneous amyloidosis as well as conditions with a geographical Asia bias such as cutaneous larval migrans and chronic arsenic poisoning are well illustrated. This compilation will serve as a valuable reference atlas and an essential companion to dermatology textbooks for all dermatologists managing patients of Asian descent.

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Guide to the Essentials in Emergency Medicine, 3rd Edition

This book aims to achieve a fine balance between a practical evidence-based tool, that can be carried around to be used at the patients’ bedside, and a comprehensive reference with sufficient information for examination requirements in Emergency Medicine, both at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

This section encompasses the Murtagh Collection which includes leading titles by John Murtagh like:

John Murtagh’s General Practice, 8th Edition

John Murtagh's General Practice is widely recognized as the most influential publication for general practice and primary health care. Now in its eighth edition, this gold standard reference comprehensively covers the entire spectrum of general practice.

John Murtagh’s General Practice Companion Handbook, 8th Edition

John Murtagh's General Practice Companion Handbook eighth edition, refines the content from the main book. Presented in a searchable A-Z order, this accompanying book is an accessible, trusted and portable source of information for medical students and experienced professionals.

Murtagh’s Practice Tips, 8th Edition

Murtagh’s Practice Tips is the trusted resource that provides tips for GPs and other medical practitioners drawn from John Murtagh’s extensive experience in practice. It is the essential guide for tried-and-tested approaches to treatment and improvisation methods, using convenient tools and readily available equipment to treat patients as effectively as possible. For this eighth edition, Professor Murtagh is joined by Dr Justin Coleman, who wrote the ‘GP Tips’ handy hints column in Medical Observer for 13 years.

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women’s Health, 3rd Edition

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women’s Health 3e covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians. 
Each case presents a problem-based clinical learning scenario and then encourages readers to think about how they would take appropriate histories and examine, investigate and treat their patients. Using these techniques, students and early career doctors are guided through diagnosis and management of common and important conditions and complications. This learning is then reinforced with more than 100 multiple choice questions and answers for self-assessment.
 

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Katzung’s Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition - India Special Edition

The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems.

Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more.

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Understanding Assessment in Medical Education through Quality Assurance

Optimize your assessment processes through Quality Assurance. This is a ground-breaking guide to ensuring quality assurance in the movement toward competency-based medical education With the increasing globalization of medical education comes the need for mutual recognition of quality and standards. Understanding Assessment in Medical Education through Quality Assurance compiles and shares best practices from leading programs from around the globe. Authoritative approaches and processes that have been tested and refined show how to implement quality assurance of written, performance-and workplace-based assessments in medical education while maintaining regulatory standards. As leading experts in the medical education world on this issue, the authors provide specific suggestions and showcase how their methods can be implemented with representative case studies. Medical educators and their students will benefit from this suite of evidence-based QA processes that they can immediately put into action for monitoring and ensuring continuous quality improvement.

Health Literacy in a Nutshell: a practical guide to health communication

Health Literacy in a Nutshell is an essential resource for students and frontline practitioners who want to improve their understanding of health literacy and health communication. This book provides a useful prompt on key issues, as well as guidance on how to organise and deliver interventions to improve health literacy.

Written by internationally recognised leaders in the field, this compact, easy-to-use guide provides pragmatic advice and guidance. It draws upon the best available scientific evidence with numerous practical examples of effective communication to improve health literacy among patients and community populations.

This book is highly recommended for busy students and health practitioners, including experienced researchers and practitioners, who want to become better communicators and work more effectively with individuals and communities in helping them to find, understand, appraise and apply health information.

Theory in a Nutshell: a practical guide to health promotion theories, 4th Edition

Theory in a Nutshell 4e provides practitioners and students of health promotion with an overview of the most influential theories and models used to guide health promotion practice. For each theory discussed, an explanation of the main elements of the theory is provided, followed by a commentary on its relative strengths and weaknesses, and some suggestions as to how it can be applied to the real world.

Written by internationally recognised leaders in the field, all sections have been thoroughly revised and updated, while maintaining the concise, accessible style of the previous editions. This book is highly recommended for public health practitioners, health promotion and health education specialists, and social policy makers, as well as students of public health and health promotion.

Evaluation in a Nutshell: A practical guide to the evaluation of health promotion programs, 3rd Edition

Evaluation in a Nutshell 3e is a succinct guide to the strategic and technical issues that arise during the evaluation of health promotion programs, providing practical advice on how to understand, interpret and assess existing health promotion programs.
This book takes a real-life and pragmatic public health perspective, equipping students with foundation knowledge and core skills to develop and implement appropriate evaluations. Evaluation in a Nutshell 3e provides practical guidance on when and how to evaluate programs, and the range of evaluation designs and research methods that can be used to evaluate different projects and program types.
Written by internationally recognised leaders in the field, all sections have been thoroughly revised and updated, while maintaining the concise, accessible style of the previous editions. This book will guide students in developing the core skills necessary for valuable and practical evaluations.

AccessWorldMed features a variety of books from across the globe, sharing regional medical insights and expertise.

Clinical Cases in Dermatologic Surgery

Clinical Cases in Dermatologic Surgery is a collection of over 30 cases on cutaneous defect repairs and skin cancer management. Written by experts in the field of Mohs surgery and advanced closure techniques, this book is a practical resource for all doctors practicing skin cancer surgery. Organised by anatomical region, each case presents a skin defect or tumour, and readers are asked several questions to test their knowledge and understanding of management, including initial reconstruction, precautions, after-care, management of complications and revision.
 

Dermatologic Surgery: A Manual of Defect Repair Options, 2nd Edition

Now in its second edition, Dermatologic Surgery is an extensively illustrated, practical manual of cutaneous defect repair options. Each option is presented in a logical, consistent format supported by numerous diagrams and case photographs. One of the unique features of this book is the accompanying video demonstrations that invite practitioners and trainees into the operating room with a ‘bird’s-eye view’ of the key points of each operation.

Written by international experts in the field of Mohs surgery and defect repairs, this manual will develop practitioners’ surgical skills and expand their knowledge of repair options to enable closure of more difficult defects. All surgeons and trainees who undertake cutaneous defect repairs and wish to extend their skills, including general practitioners with a special interest in skin cancer, will find Dermatologic Surgery 2e an excellent resource.