AccessAPN: Getting Started

AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, 4e

Succinct, complete guidance on how to safely and competently care for adult, critically ill patients and their families – written by top clinical experts.

Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this acclaimed textbook sets the standard for critical care nursing education. Recognizing the learner’s need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex critical care nursing concepts, the book features a practical building-block organization that starts with the basics and logically progresses to advanced topics. 

Bolstered by helpful tables and essential content cases, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing is an essential tool for clinicians at the point of care, and those preparing for CCRN® certification in critical care nursing.

AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, 4e, is presented in four sections:

• The Essentials presents core information that new clinicians must understand to provide safe, competent nursing  care to all critically ill patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnoses.
• Pathologic Conditions covers pathologic conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among  adult critical care patients.
• Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Critically Ill Patient moves beyond the essentials and includes information  about specific pathologic conditions that require specialized critical care management.
• Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values, troubleshooting guides for  hemodynamic monitoring, summary tables of critical care drugs, and cardiac rhythms and treatment guides.

Learning aids include Knowledge Competencies that can be used to gauge progress, Principles of Management to summarize key concepts and “Essential Content” case studies with questions and answers to further reinforce the learners’ knowledge. 

(Source: Preface)

AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing, 4e

AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing provides essential information on the care of adult acutely ill patients and families. The book recognizes the learner’s need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex progressive care nursing concepts. Written by nationally acknowledged clinical experts in critical and progressive care nursing, this textbook sets the standard for progressive care nursing education.

AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing, 4e:

• Succinctly presents essential information for the safe and competent care of progressive care patients and their families, building on the clinician’s significant medical-surgical nursing knowledge base, avoiding repetition of previously acquired information

• Stages the introduction of advanced concepts in progressive care nursing after essential concepts have been mastered

• Provides clinicians with clinically relevant tools and guides to use as they care for progressive care patients and families

• Includes principles of management to summarize key concepts and case studies to demonstrate their application

Each chapter in Part I, II, and III begins with “Knowledge Competencies” that can be used to guide informal or formal teaching and to gauge the learner’s progress. In addition, each of the chapters provide “Essential Content Case” studies that focus on key information presented in the chapters in order to assist clinicians in understanding the chapter content and how to best assess and manage conditions and problems encountered in progressive care. The case studies also are designed to enhance the learners understanding of the magnitude of the pathologic problems/conditions and their impact on patients and families. Questions and answers are provided for each case so learners may test their knowledge of the essential content.

(Source: Preface)

Hospice and Palliative Care Handbook: Quality, Compliance, and Reimbursement, 3e

The goal of this book is to help hospice clinicians, team members, and managers meet quality, coverage, and reimbursement standards and requirements in daily practice and operations and in documentation activities. The Hospice Care Guidelines or problem-specific topics are organized alphabetically for easy identification and retrieval of needed information. This information can then be individualized for your hospice patient/family and used throughout the clinical record. It can even serve as a basis for a common glossary in interdisciplinary (IDG) discussions and meetings. It is formatted and designed for easy review for care and care planning–related activities.

(Source: Introduction)

Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, 8e

The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system—fully updated with the latest changes and trends. Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system’s nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you’re a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone.

Features:

• Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement
• Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation
• Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health
• Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts

(Source: VitalSource)

Emotion in the Clinical Encounter

The foundational knowledge and practical actions you need to effectively address your patients’ emotions—and manage your own. 

Emotions are ever-present in the context of illness and medical care and can have an enormous impact on the well-being of patients and healthcare providers alike. Despite this impact, emotions are often devalued in a medical culture that praises stoicism and analytical reasoning. Featuring the latest theories and research on emotion in healthcare, this much-needed resource will help you build the necessary skillset to navigate the extraordinary emotional demands of practicing medicine.  

Emotion in the Clinical Encounter will help you:

• Learn the science of emotion, as it relates to clinical care
• Understand the role of emotion in illness
• Recognize the connection between clinical response to patient emotions and
  care outcomes
• Develop effective strategies for emotion recognition
• Build strong emotional dialogue skills for medical encounters
• Identify biases that may shape clinical interactions and subsequent outcomes
• Understand emotion regulation in patients, providers, and in the clinical relationship
• Address challenges and opportunities for clinical emotional wellness
• Identify a new path forward for delivering emotion-based medical school curricula

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High, 3e

The book that revolutionized business communications has been updated for today’s workplace. Crucial Conversations provides powerful skills to ensure every conversation especially difficult ones leads to the results you want. Written in an engaging and witty style, it teaches readers how to be persuasive rather than abrasive, how to get back to productive dialogue when others blow up or clam up, and it offers powerful skills for mastering high-stakes conversations, regardless of the topic or person.

This new edition addresses issues that have arisen in recent years. You’ll learn how to:

• Respond when someone initiates a Crucial Conversation with you
• Identify and address the lag time between identifying a problem and discussing it
• Communicate more effectively across digital mediums

When stakes are high, opinions vary, and emotions run strong, you have three choices: Avoid a crucial conversation and suffer the consequences; handle the conversation poorly and suffer the consequences; or apply the lessons and strategies of Crucial Conversations and improve relationships and results.

Whether they take place at work or at home, with your coworkers or your spouse, Crucial Conversations have a profound impact on your career, your happiness, and your future. With the skills you learn in this book, you'll never have to worry about the outcome of a Crucial Conversation again.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals Model and Guidelines, 4e

Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model’s use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.

Key features of the book include:

• NEW strategies for dissemination, including guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication
• EXPANDED focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing the complex care issues often tackled by EBP teams
• EXPANDED synthesis and translation steps, including an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EBP project
• Tools to guide the EBP process, such as stakeholder analysis, action planning, and dissemination
• Explanation of the practice question, evidence, and translation (PET) approach to EBP projects
• Overview of the patient, intervention, comparison, and outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development
• Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment
• Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences

(Source: Sigma Marketplace; check out their free downloads with this title here)

Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Implementation and Translation

Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Implementation and Translation is dedicated to identifying methods to successfully implement evidence-based practice (EBP) in organizations and translate evidence-based findings into practice. This book is an extension of our previous work, which introduced the model and guidelines and armed readers with tools to plan and develop an EBP program. The goal of the current book is to share information and a pathway to follow when managing the structure, process, and outcomes of EBP projects and translating evidence in a variety of health care settings. The three sections of this book provide practical guidelines for implementation and translation of evidence to achieve excellence in professional practice and quality patient outcomes.

(Source: Introduction)

Evidence-Based Practice in Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips from University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, 2e

Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a practical, easy-to-use manual providing strategies, tools, and tips that show healthcare professionals how to apply and sustain EBP in their setting. Inside are valuable recommendations on topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation.

The biggest barrier to effective evidence-based practice (EBP) is the failure to effectively translate available knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. This failure is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience. In fact, it usually comes down to a simple lack of tools and absence of a clear plan to integrate EBP into care.

Problem solved: Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a time-tested, application-oriented EBP resource for any EBP process model and is organized based on The Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a proven, detailed plan to help nurses and healthcare professionals promote and achieve EBP implementation, adoption, and sustained use.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Mastering Informatics: A Healthcare Handbook for Success

Informatics, the science of processing data for storage and retrieval, is vital in today’s healthcare environment. At the core of informatics practice is the electronic health record (EHR). However, the scope of informatics encompasses many areas peripheral to the EHR, such as mobile devices, patient portals, data analytics, telehealth, and health IT research. Health informatics specialist are at the fore front of effective programs that are changing patient outcomes and education, but producing these systems is not a simple tasks or any healthcare professional.

In Mastering Informatics, experts Patricia Sengstack and Charles Boicey present key informatics concepts to help readers increase knowledge and expertise. The authors begin with the phases of the system development lifecycle (SDLC): planning and analysis, design and usability, testing training, implementation, maintenance, and evaluation. The overview provides informatics nurses, physicians, pharmacists, dentists, dietitians, and other clinical professionals with a solid foundation of knowledge, positioning them for success within any clinical system.

Coverage includes:

• Planning and analysis
• Design, testing and training
• Implementing, maintaining, and evaluation
• Essential tools for project management
• Patient safety and engagement
• Security and privacy concepts
• Healthcare clinical decision support
• Mobility

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Essentials of Nursing Informatics, 7e

The single best resource for learning how technology can make the nursing experience as rewarding and successful as possible.

Essentials of Nursing Informatics provides the information and insights readers need to manage and process data to improve the quality and outcomes of healthcare. Topics include the use of computers in nursing administration, practice, education, and research; computer systems and information theory; electronic medical records, continuum of care information technology systems, and personal health records; coding; and government, clinical, and private sector system requirements. 

This revised and updated edition covers the latest changes in technology, administration, policy, and their effects on healthcare informatics in the U.S., with contributing international authors from Canada, South America, Europe, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand. The seventh edition includes section summaries, and each chapter includes sample test questions and answers. 

This updated seventh edition covers:

• Nursing Informatics Technologies
• Nursing Practice Applications
• System Standards
• Advanced Applications for the 4th Nursing IT Revolution
• System Life Cycle
• Educational Applications
• Informatics Theory Standards
• Research Applications
• Policies and Quality Measures in Healthcare

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model: Strategies to Advance Nursing Excellence

Do you have a work culture that fosters collaboration, stimulates innovation, and empowers nurses to achieve success in exceptional ways? In Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model: Strategies to Advance Nursing Excellence, authors Deborah Dang, Judith Rohde, and Jeannette Suflita present a model proven to inspire professional nurses to deliver exceptional care and outcomes. Whether you’re a bedside nurse or an executive, you’ll learn how to adapt the Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model to your work setting. Packed with exemplars, self-assessment guides, planning tools, and lessons learned, this manual guides you in creating and sustaining an environment where professional nursing practices flourish. Learn strategies to:

• Empower front-line nurses and encourage interprofessional collaboration
• Build and implement programs that promote adaptation, ownership, and accountability
• Establish practice and leadership standards
• Structure organizations to foster leadership and advance nursing excellence

With a focus on achievement, caring, empowerment, and influence, Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model can help reshape the future of nursing. Are you ready to get started?

2nd Place 2017 AJN Book of the Year: Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model: Strategies to Advance Nursing Excellence awarded second place in the 2017 AJN Book of the year award in the History and Public Policy category.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Building a Culture of Ownership in Healthcare: The Invisible Architecture of Core Values, Attitude, and Self-Empowerment, 2e

Using construction as their metaphor, authors Joe Tye and Bob Dent make a compelling case that a healthcare organization’s invisible architecture—a foundation of core values, a superstructure of organizational culture, and the interior finish of workplace attitude—is no less important than its visible architecture. Further, they assert that culture will not change unless people change, and people will not change unless they are inspired to do so and given the right tools.

The fully updated second edition of Building a Culture of Ownership in Healthcare takes readers on a journey from accountability to ownership—providing a proven model, strategies, and practical solutions to help improve organizational culture in the healthcare setting. Learn how investing in your organization and your people can enable a significant, successful change in productivity; employee engagement; nurse satisfaction, recruitment, and retention; quality of care; patient satisfaction; and financial outcomes.

For samples and book-related extras please visit the Sigma Repository.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety and Quality, 2e

Patient safety and quality of care are critical concerns of healthcare consumers, payers, providers, organizations, health systems, and governments. Although a strong body of knowledge shows that high reliability methods enable the most efficient, safe, and effective care, these methods have yet to be completely implemented across healthcare. According to authors Cynthia Oster and Jane Braaten, nurses—who are on the frontline of providing safe and effective care—are ideally situated to drive high reliability. High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety & Quality, Second Edition, equips nurses and healthcare professionals with the tools necessary to establish an error detection and prevention system. This new edition builds on the foundation of the first book with best practices, relevant exemplars, and important discussions about cultural aspects essential to sustainability. New material focuses on: High reliability performance during a pandemic Organizational learning and tiered safety huddles High reliability in infection prevention and ambulatory care The emerging field of human factors engineering within healthcare Creating a virtual resource toolkit for frontline staff.

(Source: VitalSource)

INSPIREd Healthcare: A Value-Based Care Coordination Model

In today’s environment where healthcare costs are outpacing the economy, healthcare systems are shifting from fee-for-service to value-based payment to deliver high-quality care while reducing costs. This shift presents nurses with the opportunity to take the lead in transforming care delivery and achieve the Triple Aim goals: improving patient experience of care, improving health of populations, and reducing per capita healthcare costs.

INSPIREd Healthcare follows author Billie Lynn Allard and her team of nurses as they successfully implement an accountable community of health in pursuit of the Triple Aim. The INSPIRE Model they follow provides an evidence-based blueprint for other healthcare systems hoping to solve the complicated problems surrounding care transitions and health promotion.

For samples and book-related extras please visit the Sigma Repository.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach, 11e

Make the right drug therapy decisions with the definitive guide to pharmacotherapy principles applied in everyday practice.

Packed with 157 patient cases, Pharmacotherapy Casebook: A Patient-Focused Approach builds your problem-solving and decision-making skills, so you can identify and resolve the most common drug therapy challenges you’ll encounter in daily practice. Its case-based approach is also ideal for PharmD, Nurse Practitioner, and other allied health courses. Providing a consistent, practical approach, this authoritative guide delivers everything you need to master patient communication, care plan development, and documenting interventions. Case chapters are organized into system sections that correspond to those of the companion textbook.

Sharpen your ability to:

• Identify actual or potential drug therapy problems
• Determine the desired therapeutic outcome
• Evaluate therapeutic alternatives
• Design an optimal individualized pharmacotherapeutic plan
• Evaluate the therapeutic outcome
• Provide patient education
• Communicate and implement the therapeutic plan

Develop expertise in pharmacotherapy decision making with:

• Realistic patient presentations that include medial history, physical examination, and laboratory data, followed by a series of questions using a systematic, problem-solving approach
• A broad range of cases—from a single disease state to multiple disease states and drug-related problems
• Expert coverage that integrates the biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences with therapeutics
• Appendices containing sample answer to several cases and valuable information on medical abbreviations, laboratory tests, mathematical conversion factors, and anthropometrics.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice, 6e

All the main concepts from the landmark Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach distilled down to a concise, clinically focused, full-color resource.

Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice uses a solid evidence-based approach to teach you how to design, implement, monitor, and evaluate medication therapy. Updated with additional content and reflecting the latest findings, this sixth edition provides everything you need to gain an in-depth understanding of the underlying principles of the pharmacotherapy of disease and their practical application. All chapters were written or reviewed by pharmacists, nurse practitioners, physician assists, and physicians recognized by authorities in their fields.

The book opens with an insightful introductory chapter and is followed by five chapters focused on specific populations: pediatrics, geriatrics, palliative care, critical care, and global health and travel medicine. The subsequent 97 disease-based chapters cover epidemiology, etiology, pathophysiology, clinical presentation and diagnosis, and nonpharmacologic therapy, followed by clear recommendations for medication selection, desired outcomes, dosing, and patient monitoring.

Features:

• Updated patient encounter cases sharpen critical-thinking skills and lend clinical relevant to scientific principles
• New chapters cover:
  • Critical care pharmacotherapy
  • Global health and travel medicine
  • Systematic lupus erythematous
  • Nose, mouth, and throat disorders
• New content on circulatory shock syndromes, trauma-related anxiety disorder, otic disorders, and antimicrobial stewardship
• Structured learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter
• Key concepts, identified by icons, highlight the disease, patient assessment, and treatment
• Patient care process section modeling the Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioners (JCCP) Pharmacists' Patient Care Process
• Up-to-date literature citations for each chapter
• Table, figures, algorithms, and defined medical abbreviations
• Self-assessment questions and answers in the Online Learning Center
• Valuable table of common laboratory tests and reference ranges

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, 4e

If you need to make the leap from single sentences to a published manuscript, you will find valuable help and resources in this fully updated fourth edition of Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses. In this practical and useful guide, lead author and editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion surrounding the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 28 of nursing’s top writing experts and decision-makers share important insights to help you craft a quality manuscript and get it accepted for publication. Learn how to:

• Improve your writing skills
• Create effective titles, abstracts, and cover letters
• Promote your work via posters and social media
• Write review articles, including systematic, scoping, and integrative reviews
• Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing
• Write collaboratively with professionals in other healthcare disciplines
• Navigate interprofessional continuing education
• Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article
• Understand preprints, reporting guidelines, and publication legal/ethical issues
• Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used
• Write a letter to the editor or a peer review
• Work with contributors when writing a book

An instructor's guide, student workbook, and sample chapter are available to download for free on the Sigma Repository.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare: Strategies to Reduce Emotional Tension and Aggression

Violent incidents are more than four times as likely to occur in healthcare settings than in other professional workplaces, taking a toll on healthcare workers and spurring providers and policymakers to solve the increasing impact of violence.

The most beneficial method of preventing healthcare violence is de-escalation—using therapeutic communication and interventions to defuse emotional tension. In De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare, author S.E. McKnight provides tools and techniques to help nurses and other healthcare professionals manage aggressive behavior and foster a safer workplace.

Readers will learn to:

• Understand the variables, risk factors, and triggers of aggression and violence
• Assess mental health status and practice conflict resolution and crisis intervention
• Identify and manage difficult behavioral issues associated with schizophrenia, dementia, bipolar disorder, anxiety, and other conditions
• Foster a caring and healing environment to reduce violence
• Build a healthcare violence prevention program

For samples and book-related extras please visit the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Nurse Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing

Nursing as a profession attracts those who value compassion, want to make a difference in other people’s lives, and want to do greater good in the world. While the profession provides endless options of practice, settings, and flexibility, it also provides more than its fair share of stress through long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, conflict and bullying, patient challenges, regulatory changes, and lack of control. When stress and fatigue take over a nurse’s ability to prioritize self-care, quality and patient safety may be compromised.

Nurse Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing explores the enormous risks involved in the stress-fatigue-burnout connection and defines health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Author Suzanne Waddill-Goad provides practical solutions and strategies for fresh thinking, including ways to prevent burnout in the first place, harness and manage overwhelming stress, and set new priorities to care for yourself.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

AccessAPN features a variety of content concerning diversity in nursing, education, and practice as part of McGraw Hill's commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Other titles in AccessAPN may also include chapterized DEI content. You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html. DEI references on AccessAPN include but are not limited to:

Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice, 4e

The Cornerstone Text on Transcultural Nursing Concepts – Updated with the Latest Advances and Breakthroughs

Leininger’s Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practices, 4e, offers theoretical and practical guidance about the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care.

This acclaimed resource presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the potential future directions for transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture of homeless mothers and children. The book covers important topics such as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan, as well as translational research, globalization, conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles.

Reflecting the work of experts and scholars in the discipline, the Fourth Edition includes twenty-five new chapters. There are also major updates to the Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality, Ethno-nursing Research Method, Sunrise Enabler, and other enablers.

(Source: McGraw Hill)

Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses, 3e

Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses has proven to be one of the most important public health texts for students and practitioners alike. Focused on developing evidence-based public health nursing practice in diverse settings, the core text builds on the Henry Street Consortium’s framework of 12 competencies for population-based, entry-level public health nursing (PHN). This full-color, newly designed third edition has completely revised and updated coverage, including:

• A new competency on utilizing principles and science of environmental health to promote safe and sustainable environments for individuals, families, systems, and communities
• Examples demonstrating the global growth in public health nursing
• Theory applications showing how PHNs use frameworks to further public health initiatives
• United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) providing a framework for public health nursing practice

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)

Delivering Quality Healthcare for People with Disability

This book is based on the principle and belief that all healthcare professionals—regardless of discipline, level of education, or role within the healthcare system—have a role in caring for individuals with disability. As such, they need a basic understanding of the issue of disability to provide appropriate, optimal, and sensitive health-care to those with disability. These issues and more are addressed in the chapters of this book. It is intended to provide information to nurses, nursing students, and other healthcare professionals to enable them to communicate with and provide quality healthcare to individuals with disability.

The first three chapters of this book provide essential background information intended to put the topic of disability in context. Often, disability is not the reason that an individual with a disability seeks healthcare. However, the presence of a disability often has a negative effect on the individual’s interaction with healthcare clinicians. The goal of this book’s first three chapters is to provide background to ensure that interactions with those with disability are positive and of high quality. The first three chapters also provide definitions of important terms and an explanation of what terms are considered acceptable by individuals with disability and their community.

(Source: Introduction)

Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare: A Personal and Professional Guidebook

Today’s diverse healthcare landscape presents providers and patients alike with cultural experiences, challenges, and barriers. Subconscious beliefs and biases have the potential to undermine what should be positive interactions and outcomes. Healthcare providers must practice cultural sensibility, applying thoughtful reasoning to their own cultural awareness. This allows providers to be responsive and discreet in their patient interactions and to proactively acknowledge the cultural inheritances that might surface.

In this practical guidebook, author Sally Ellis Fletcher encourages healthcare providers to consider their own cultural attitudes, biases, beliefs, and prejudices through exercises and self-reflection. Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare challenges readers to go beyond theory and explore culture as it affects their professional roles.

(Source: Sigma Marketplace)