Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessPhysiotherapy: Choosing a Research Topic

Literature

In the Books tab in AccessPhysiotherapy, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out some of the library highlighted in the tabs above and view the complete library with the links below. 

The number one orthopaedic evidence-based textbook and reference guide, Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, 5/E, provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient. In this comprehensive and up-to-date edition, Dutton strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment. The textbook emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of electrotherapeutic and thermal modalities as adjuncts to the rehabilitative process.

The content reflects the consistent unified voice of a single author–a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the examination of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through systems review and differential diagnosis aided by decision-making algorithms & features new coverage on balance and concussions. New videos on concussion testing and method techniques are available on AccessPhysiotherapy.

This edition has an added 10-15 board review questions per chapter as well as updated chapters to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques.

Clinical Anatomy: A Case Study Approach

Written to promote the integration of basic anatomy with clinical findings in the context of specific patient conditions.

Use the following format to present clinical cases relevant to each body region:

  • Patient Presentation - This section outlines the presenting complaint(s) as might be described by a patient.
  • Relevant Clinical Findings - A standard sequence for clinical evaluation is presented: History, Physical Examination, Laboratory Tests, Imaging Studies, and Procedures. It is understood that vital signs are collected and assessed for every patient, but only those that have significance for the particular case are noted. Reference values for laboratory tests are derived primarily from Harrison’s Online (http://www.accessmedicine.com).
  • Clinical Problems to Consider - The relevant clinical findings are used to generate a list of diseases or conditions that correlate with the anatomical region involved in the case. The list is not intended for use in making a differential diagnosis.
  • Relevant Anatomy - The essential anatomy is reviewed for each disease or condition presented in the list of Clinical Problems to Consider. This section assumes students have knowledge of basic anatomical information and concepts.
  • Clinical Reasoning - The Clinical Problems for each case are defined and Signs and Symptoms, and Predisposing Factors outlined.
  • Diagnosis - A likely diagnosis is presented and the basis for the signs and symptoms associated with each Clinical Problem is discussed.
  • Review Questions - USMLE-type (clinical-vignette) questions that emphasize important aspects of regional anatomy are presented at the end of each chapter. Explanations for the correct answers are given in an appendix.

(taken from the preface)


The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, 2/E

The purpose of this textbook, therefore, is to provide students with the necessary landmarks to accomplish their task—to understand the big picture of human anatomy in the context of health care—while bypassing the minutia. The landmarks used to accomplish this task are text and illustrations. They are complete, yet concise and both figuratively and literally provide the “Big Picture” of human anatomy.

The format of the book is simple. Each page-spread consists of text on the left-hand page and associated illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, students are able to grasp the big picture of individual anatomy principles in bite-sized pieces, a concept at a time.

Key structures are highlighted in bold when first mentioned:

  • Bullets and numbers are used to break down important concepts.
  • Approximately 450 full-color figures illustrate the essential anatomy.
  • High-yield clinically relevant concepts throughout the text are indicated by an icon.
  • Study questions and answers follow each section.
  • A final examination is provided at the end of the text.

Histology: The Big Picture

400 FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS

Medical Histology: The Big Picture is a different kind of study tool. With an emphasis on what you “need to know” versus “what’s nice to know”, and featuring more than 400 full-color illustrations and micrographs, it offers a focused, streamlined overview of human histology. You’ll find a succinct, user-friendly presentation designed to make even the most complex concepts understandable in a short amount of time.

With just right balance of information to give you the edge at exam time, this unique combination text and atlas features:

  • An efficient, study-enhancing design consisting of text on the left-hand page and related illustrations on the right-hand page – allowing you to grasp individual principles, one concept at a time
  • The inclusion of detail, often clinical in nature, that clarifies the link between the structural and functional applications of histology
  • Review questions and answers at the end of each chapter
  • A complete final exam at the end of the book
  • Icons that indicate high-yield, clinically relevant concepts
  • Key Structures highlighted when they first appear to indicate their importance
  • More than 400 full-color illustrations and micrographs depicting essential histology
  • Concise, easy-to-remember bulleted text

Photographic Dissector for Physical Therapy Students: A Step-by-Step Approach 

An accessible guide to anatomical structures and the tools used for dissection

Learning and naming the many parts and systems of the human body can be a daunting task for medical and physical therapy students preparing for careers in various scientific and medical professions. With a combination of informative text and clear images, Photographic Dissector for Physical Therapy Students provides an unparalleled examination of anatomical structures and the tools used for dissection.

Using visible external landmarks, students will learn how to locate internal structures and develop a better understanding of anatomy. The book offers thorough coverage of the types of tools for dissecting along with detailed photographic instructions for every step of dissection. Each tool is clearly defined with its purpose.

Features:

  • Modeled to follow the curriculum of Doctor of Physical Therapy programs, which often includes simultaneous courses in kinesiology and physiology
  • Clinical correlates throughout the book provide important information about function and dysfunction in order to inspire diagnostic thought
  • Examples are drawn from real cases in clinical practice
  • Each chapter contains a checklist of important structures
  • Exam-style multiple choice questions and answers, along with explanations and strategies for working through the questions

Basic Biomechanics, 8/e

Is running barefoot beneficial? What is the most mechanically efficient way to move a piece of heavy furniture? Can stretching before a competition worsen performance? How do cats always land on their feet? The answers to these questions are all based on the science of biomechanics. In Basic Biomechanics, Eighth Edition, the focus is on the anatomy and movement capabilities of the human body, explained with examples of relevant sport, clinical, and daily living applications. The quantitative aspects of biomechanics are presented in a manageable, progressive fashion, using a structured and problem-based format with practical advice.

Ethics in Physical Therapy: A Case-Based Approach

This was recently added to the platform. There are two parts to this book. Part One provides more didactic, foundational material, while Part Two strives to apply ethical decision-making tools to relevant cases in physical therapy practice. The two parts are meant to be used together, but they also can stand alone, providing basic conceptual material about ethics, and ethical decision making in physical therapy practice, with the second section focusing on case analysis.

Exercise Physiology: Theory and Application to Fitness and Performance, 10/e

This text is designed for those interested in exercise physiology, clinical exercise physiology, human performance, kinesiology/exercise science, physical therapy, and physical education. The text uses many clinical applications, including exercise tests to evaluate cardiorespiratory fitness and information on exercise training for improvements in health-related physical fitness and sports performance.

Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, 7/e

This title is designed to discuss the important interaction between individual patients and caregivers with the overall health system. The book is aimed towards health science students in an effort to help them understand the complex environment in which they will work. It focuses on basic principles of health policy so that the reader can take a way a more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and alternatives to managing these problems.

With the introduction of the Affordable Care Act, the topic of health policy is all the more relevant and this book is key in aiding both students and practitioners understand the intricacies of the US health system with the goal of providing better care to their patients.

Neurologic Rehabilitation: Neuroscience and Neuroplasticity in Physical Therapy Practice

A full-color neuroscience text that skillfully integrates neuromuscular skeletal content, Neurorehabilitation in Physical Therapy delivers comprehensive coverage of the structure and function of the human nervous system. It also discusses normal motor development and motor control, as well as common treatment techniques in physical therapy. In order to be engaging to students, cases open each chapter, with questions about those cases appearing throughout the chapter. The text includes numerous tables, flow charts, illustrations, and multiple-choice board-style review questions and is enhanced by a roster of world-renowned clinical contributors. Covers both pediatric and adult issues and includes beautiful full-color presentation with numerous images.

Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals, 2/E

Everything the physical therapists needs to know about the documentation process in one clear, concise, easy-to-follow text.

Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals is your best choice for gaining a solid understanding of the entire physical therapy documentation process. There is no faster or easier way to learn the when, what, and how of physical therapy documentation than this trusted guide. The second edition has been updated to include the most recent professional guidelines, codes, and methodologies and covers timely subjects such as Medicare, electronic record keeping, legal issues, pediatric documentation, utilization review and management, and much more.

With Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals, you will learn how to incorporate all of the general principles of documentation and health information management in order to effectively maintain and organize records, record appropriate information, and receive proper reimbursement based on the documentation content.

Master All Aspects of PT Documentation With:
APTA Standards and Guidelines, Medicare, Home Health, Electronic Record Keeping, ICF Model and Application, Pediatrics, Legal Issues, Utilization Review & Management, SNF: RUGS and MDS,Sample Documentation Content, Initial Examination and Evaluation Criteria, Continuum of Care Content and Goal Writing Exercises, Documentation Aspects of Supervising PTAs, Abbreviations, Reimbursement, ICD9 and CPT Codes and Application, Chapter Review Questions, Content Principles.

Dutton's Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills

Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills is intended to provide a foundation upon which to build a career in the challenging yet rewarding field of physical therapy. Written by a practicing physical therapist, this comprehensive textbook provides the conceptual framework necessary to understand every aspect of physical therapy and eventually perform physical therapy intervention.

Included in this conceptual framework are a historical perspective of the physical therapy profession, an introduction to healthcare policy, and a definition of evidence-informed practice. In addition, various chapters describe how movement evolves, how that movement becomes skilled, and how movement dysfunction can occur or develop. Later chapters introduce you to the knowledge and practical skills necessary for the general practice of physical therapy and provide the groundwork for the development of specific areas of clinical expertise, including how to enhance a patient's function in such tasks as bed mobility, transfers, and gait training.

Throughout the appropriate chapters, emphasis is placed on both patient and clinician safety through the use of correct body mechanics, the application of assistive and safety devices, and effective infection control procedures.

Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, 5/E

The most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies.

A Doody’s Core Title for 2019! 

Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions.

  • Essential text for Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs
  • Author Bill Prentice was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 2004
  • Evidenced based and supported by case studies and laboratory activities to demonstrate the application of the modalities on patients

Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2/E

The acclaimed on-the-go wound care guide for the physical therapist offering the benefits of both a foundational textbook and a full-color atlas  
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 2/E delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Utilizing more than 700 full-color illustrations and clear, concise text, this unique learning tool provides thorough easy-to-understand coverage of evidence-based concepts of would treatment. 

Each chapter follows a similar design, with consistent headings, brief bulleted text, and numerous high-quality illustrations. Learning aids include case studies, chapter objectives, assessment guidelines, chapter references, chapter summaries, and new NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter. This innovative format allows you to see actual examples via high-quality color photographs and learn foundational concepts through text. The case studies also give real-world relevance to the principles discussed. 

The book’s 20 chapters are logically divided into four sections:

  • Integumentary Basics which covers fundamental topics such as anatomy and physiology of the integumentary system and acute and chronic wound healing
  • Wound Diagnosis which discusses specific disorders such as vascular wounds, lymphedema, pressure ulcers, diabetes, burns, and more
  • Wound Bed Preparation which details debridement and dressings
  • Biophysical Technologies which includes electrical stimulation, negative pressure, pulsed lavage with suction, hyperbaric oxygen, ultraviolet, and low level laser therapy

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Best Minds in Medicine

Best Minds in Medicine on AccessPhysiotherapy provides the user with insight from some of the leading experts and authors whose resources are made available in AccessPhysiotherapy. These interviews are designed to raise awareness of and bring to life the expert contributors to AccessPhysiotherapy and the other Access specialty products.

Tips for Choosing a Topic

  • See what's new: Check out our panels on the AccessPhysiotherapy homepage to discover recently added and updated resources, to watch a procedure, or find review materials to prepare for exams.
  • Browse our video collectionA unique collection of anesthesiology procedural videos and animations designed to guide students, residents, faculty, and practicing physicians through basic and advanced skills.
  • Use the related links to explore further: Links to related AccessPhysiotherapy content appear throughout all content types in the site. A related content section appears in many of the texts' right sidebar with links to relevant media and other content.
  • Link to external content: Get additional sources from AccessPhysiotherapy. Use the references in our resources to find relevant research papers, books, and organizational websites.