AccessMedicine (accessmedicine.mhmedical.com) from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes the medical field’s top academic experts.
AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. Click here to find out more about the content offered on AccessMedicine.
As of April 10, 2023, the AccessMedicine app will no longer be supported and will sunset in August 2023. We have a new Access app that is currently in a preview phase and will formally launch in August 2023. Current AccessMedicine app users can begin using the new Access app now during this preview phase and use the period between April and August to transition to the new Access app. The new Access app provides access to all the resources in the old app plus hundreds more books, videos, images, tools, and new personalization features. We will continue to add features to the new Access app prior to the formal launch in August 2023. If you’re an AccessMedicine app user, please download the new Access app here: [iOS link] [Android link].
Visit the AccessMedicine support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources. Also, view the AccessMedicine Network, including the Covid 19 Central and the Harrison's Channel.
Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.
To engage with AccessMedicine and its content and resources, users need to create a free Access profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessMedicine. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating an Access profile.
Huppert’s Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine
Bridge the gap between pathophysiology and clinical medicine in a succinct outline of core internal medicine topics!
Originally created and road-tested by a resident and then updated by a team of resident authors, Huppert’s Notes succinctly organizes the foundational science covered early in medical school and the clinical approaches encountered in clerkships and beyond. This marriage of pathophysiology and clinical medicine provides a framework for how to approach internal medicine concepts mechanistically, rather than through memorization.
You’ll find concise descriptions of common medical conditions with diagnostic and management pearls, as well as high-yield diagrams and tables to emphasize key concepts. Covering all internal medicine subspecialties, each Huppert’s Notes chapter is organized in an intuitive and consistent outline format for rapid access:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (QMDT) provides concise, evidence-based point-of-care resource outlining diagnosis and treatment information for common conditions and disorders in a quick reference format.
Based on our popular Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) title, QMDT provides key diagnostic and treatment recommendations in bulleted format for more than 930 disorders.
Differential Diagnosis (Diagnosaurus, DDx)
Goodman & Gilman’s Annual FDA Approvals
This resource represents an exciting new presentation of the Goodman & Gilman’s Annual FDA Approval summaries and can be found under the "Quick Reference" drop down menu on the ACM home page. The content in this feature will be updated annually.
This feature represents a more succinct and easy-to-navigate interpretation of the content for end users to more easily learn the recent additions and changes to drugs.
The user will then be taken to a page where the can filter between first-in class agents, first-in class biologics, pharmacological similar biologics, and pharmacological similars. The drugs are arranged in alphabetical order.
Instructors can link to content in AccessMedicine through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessMedicine via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.
Click here to view the complete AccessMedicine Library.
This guide describes some of the key titles in the site which are organized into multiple categories for easy access and navigation.
Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS course page, lecture slides, syllabus, etc. See the "Linking to Content" box in this guide to find out more about linking to content on AccessMedicine for course integration.
Check out the Archived Textbooks page on AccessMedicine for previous editions of titles.
Also, check out the dynamic title list for a complete listing of all titles, as well as multimedia list, which can be exported to Excel.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e
Harrison’s remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world’s top experts are featured in the 21st edition. Includes:
Features:
New Content
The 21st edition of Harrison’s has been extensively updated with brand new content, covering important and evolving issues such as Approaches to Diagnostic Accuracy and Efficiency, Opposition to Vaccination, Machine Learning and Augmented Intelligence in Clinical Medicine, Precision Medicine and Clinical Care, and a new chapter on Regulation and Dysregulation of the Immune System, among many other new chapters. The 21st edition also includes the latest clinical information on COVID-19, emerging approaches to treatment across the range of cancers, the latest clinical guidelines and treatment approaches to multiple sclerosis, and evidence-based management guidance to nearly all diseases seen in internal medicine training and practice.
Renowned Authors
Written and edited by the world’s top experts in their respective fields—Joseph Loscalzo, Anthony Fauci, Dennis Kasper, Stephen Hauser, Dan Longo, and J. Larry Jameson--this new edition provides carefully synthesized recommendations for clinical care across internal medicine, based on updated clinical guidelines and trials, and the evidence behind the recommendations.
Clinical Expertise
The 21st edition focuses on accurate and essential coverage of the clinical presentation, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease, and includes vital updates on all important developments in pathophysiology, clinical therapeutics, and diagnostic methods and technologies. Comprehensive content on the cardinal manifestations of disease is essential for learning and teaching the skills of clinical reasoning and medical decision making.
Visit McGraw Hill's webpage on Harrison's for more information about this resource.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2023
The #1 annual internal medicine guide extensively revised and updated.
The most popular annual guide of its kind, this updated edition of the flagship title of the LANGE medical book brand presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine.
For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information that students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. It provides:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, 32e
Gain a thorough understanding of the principles of biochemistry as they relate to clinical medicine. The Thirty-Second Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease and clinical information. Featuring numerous medically relevant examples, this respected text presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.
All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry.
Applauded by medical students for its current and engaging style, Harper’s Illustrated Biochemistry is an essential for USMLE review and the single best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide
From frontline experts on the topic—everything you need to know about COVID-19 and how it affects the heart. COVID-19’s effect on the cardiovascular system continues to drive increases in morbidity and mortality. Building a solid understanding of the disease spectrum is critical for accurately diagnosing, treating, and managing patients with heart issues in the time of COVID.
Written by a team of experts who worked on the frontlines in New York City throughout the worst of the pandemic, COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide is a one-of-a-kind resource for providing safe, effective care for COVID-19-related heart conditions. Designed for quick and easy learning and on-the-spot clinical decision making, this practical guide is organized into chapters based on genuine clinical cases and provides the best approach for each one. The authors highlight key points throughout the clinical content for easy review, and provide up-to-date information on clinical trials/vaccines, diagnostic and treatment algorithms, therapeutics, monitoring, and patient education.
Ideal for healthcare workers actively engaged in the ongoing pandemic and students seeking to build their expertise, COVID-19 and the Heart is the go-to guide to making the right clinical judgments with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19.
COVID-19 and the Heart starts with the physiology of COVID-related heart disease, and walks you through COVID’s effect on:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Fuster and Hurst's The Heart, 15e
The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever. World-famous for its authority and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst’s The Heart is cardiology’s longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics.
This fifteenth edition presents a greater focus on the practicalities of patient care. Additionally, the content is ordered in a more methodical pattern, from mechanism to management. Reflecting the latest technical, therapeutic, and clinical advances, Fuster and Hurst’s The Heart provides invaluable concise summaries of major new trials and guidelines.
Authoritative Coverage and Unmatched Utility:
Sections Include:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Principles of Critical Care, 4e
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the critically ill patient with guidance from the field's definitive text.
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of “Controversies” chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care.
This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure. In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
For nearly half a century, Fitzpatrick’s has been recognized worldwide as the field of dermatology’s cornerstone text. This trusted classic covers all of the essentials, from the basic science of the skin to the day-to-day clinical issues of managing common skin disorders. Backed by the expertise of more than 500 world-renowned contributors, it is the reference of choice for clinicians, students, and educators. Fitzpatrick’s skillful blending of science and clinical medicine is matched only by its scope, level of detail, and quality of presentation.
The 9th edition continues this tradition of excellence with sweeping changes designed to make it even more relevant to today’s practice and education.
New editors diverse in expertise and international in location of practice have endeavored to build on the achievements of previous editions, while providing fresh insight into the content and new thinking regarding optimal structure of the book.
Reorganized and updated content with important general basic science concepts extensively covered in dedicated chapters appearing at the beginning of the book, allowing subsequent clinical chapters to focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, in addition to clinical features, diagnosis, clinical course, and management.
Unmatched visual presentation includes more than 3,000 illustrations, including more than 2,700 full-color photographs; all tables and At-a-Glance boxes are either new or completely revised.
An improved index to speed you to the information you require about a concept, condition, or therapy.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8e
More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care. One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/e combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, 10e
A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments.
Greenspan’s Basic Clinical Endocrinology, 10/e, delivers a succinct leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan’s is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology endocrinology rotation or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan’s provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes, mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan.
Here’s why Greenspan’s is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e
The updated visual atlas of family medicine—enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations. The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e, simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book’s precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text—ideal for time-pressed physicians.
Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency.
New to this edition:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment: Family Medicine, 5e
An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. New content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification, this text is essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8e
The undisputed leader on the subject of geriatrics—updated to reflect the most recent advances in the field. The leading text on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive guide combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering unmatched coverage of this area of medicine. Anchored in evidence-based medicine and patient-centered practice, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology presents the most up-to-date, medical information available.
This updated eighth edition reflects the continued growth and increasing sophistication of geriatrics as a defined medical discipline. The book focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older adults. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple conditions, including psychological and social issues and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care.
Features:
NEW chapters on:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 16e
This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning.
For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more.
Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance.
Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology—and there is nothing else like it.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Huppert's Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine
Bridge the gap between pathophysiology and clinical medicine in a succinct outline of core internal medicine topics!
Originally created and road-tested by a resident and then updated by a team of resident authors, Huppert’s Notes succinctly organizes the foundational science covered early in medical school and the clinical approaches encountered in clerkships and beyond. This marriage of pathophysiology and clinical medicine provides a framework for how to approach internal medicine concepts mechanistically, rather than through memorization.
You’ll find concise descriptions of common medical conditions with diagnostic and management pearls, as well as high-yield diagrams and tables to emphasize key concepts. Covering all internal medicine subspecialties, each Huppert’s Notes chapter is organized in an intuitive and consistent outline format for rapid access:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth.
From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients’ and clinicians’ fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field—until now.
Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Harrison's Manual of Medicine, 20e
The Harrison’s Manual, derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, delivers numerous clinical algorithms in one practical, portable resource. The Manual also includes abundant quick reference tables, plus concise text—providing rapid access to bedside information when decisions need to be made quickly. This full color summary guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in inpatient general medicine, so you can be sure to find invaluable content directly to your workflow and practice.
The 20th edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine. The Manual truly makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters cover symptoms/signs, medical emergencies, specific diseases, and care of the hospitalized patient, with a particular focus on:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11e
Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places—yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades—and this revised edition brings you completely up to date.
Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis.
This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4e
An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine, Symptom to Diagnosis, 4e, teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy.
Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted.
Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12e
This portable, pocket-sized “manual of manuals” provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab, and diagnostic tests, and much more.
The 12th edition is highlighted by:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e
The leading textbook of hospital medicine – completely updated to reflect today’s challenges. Since its publication in 2012, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition has become the field’s premier resource. Comprehensive, authoritative, and practical, this landmark text provides a solid grounding in clinical, organizational, and administrative areas central to the practice of hospital medicine.
The Second Edition has been completely updated to reflect the evolving practice responsibilities of hospitalists. Examples include value-based medicine, expanded surgical content, bedside clinical reasoning, and a new segment devoted to rehabilitation and skilled nursing care. This edition also features a more accessible and streamlined full-color design enriched by more than 600 illustrations. Each clinical chapter opens with boxed Key Clinical Questions that are addressed in the text and summarized in hundreds of tables. Case studies demonstrate how to apply this information specifically to the management of hospitalized patients.
Representing the expertise of more than two hundred renowned contributors, Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition is logically divided into six sections:
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition is essential reading for clinicians who strive to optimize inpatient care and sharpen their leadership skills.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28e
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions.
Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.
Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections.
Features for USMLE® review:
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28e, effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, 8e
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease. For more than a quarter-of-a-century, this renowned text has helped readers develop a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Now, with a NEW four-color design, the book is shorter and more assessable for students! Outstanding pedagogical elements are carried throughout this edition including:
Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition is divided into five parts:
Features and Learning Aids:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
The only gynecological text of its kind—this combined medical reference and surgical procedural atlas gets you fully up to date on everything you need to know. Illustrated cover to cover, Williams Gynecology delivers comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of the full spectrum of gynecologic healthcare and disease management—from benign general gynecology to reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and menopause to female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery to gynecologic oncology. Hundreds of original drawings compliment the text.
Every chapter of this authoritative guide offers a practical template enabling you to approach every diagnosis and treatment consistently and accurately—while treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis boxes, and other features make finding the right answers quick and easy. The Aspects of Gynecologic Surgery and Atlas of Gynecologic Surgery section covers benign gynecologic conditions, minimally invasive surgery, surgeries for female pelvic reconstruction, and surgeries for gynecologic malignancies.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists—fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field. Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights.
The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine.
No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach.
New and updated content includes:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Pathology: A Modern Case Study, 2e
A unique case-based molecular approach to understanding pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study is a concise, focused text that emphasizes the molecular and cellular biology essential to understanding the concepts of disease causation. The book includes numerous case studies designed to highlight the role of the pathologist in the team that provides patient care. Pathology: A Modern Case Study examines the role of anatomic, clinical, and molecular pathologists in dedicated chapters and in descriptions of the pathology of specific organ systems.
Features:
Essential for undergraduate medical students and clinicians who wish to expand their knowledge pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study delivers valuable coverage that is directly related to a patient’s condition and the clinical practice of pathology.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Get the BIG PICTURE of Pathology - and focus on what you really need to know to score high on the course and board exam.
If you want a streamlined and definitive look at Pathology - one with just the right balance of information to give you the edge at exam time - turn to Pathology: The Big Picture. You'll find a succinct, user-friendly presentation especially designed to make even the most complex concept understandable in the shortest amount of study time possible.
This perfect pictorial and textual overview of Pathology delivers:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8e
A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems with more than 130 case studies, including Q&A.
The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.
Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.
This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter
The foundational knowledge and practical actions you need to effectively address your patients’ emotions—and manage your own.
Emotions are ever-present in the context of illness and medical care and can have an enormous impact on the well-being of patients and healthcare providers alike. Despite this impact, emotions are often devalued in a medical culture that praises stoicism and analytical reasoning. Featuring the latest theories and research on emotion in healthcare, this much-needed resource will help you build the necessary skillset to navigate the extraordinary emotional demands of practicing medicine.
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter will help you:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4e
Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration.
Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as:
The book’s user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis, 2e
The definitive evidence-based introduction to patient history-taking. For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history.
Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter.
Features
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e
The landmark pharmacology reference—updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field.
For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease.
This edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman’s is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 15e
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available.
Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades.
Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs
Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, 26e
For more than four decades, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong’s concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review.
Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Big Picture Physiology - Medical Course and Step 1 Review
Packed with easy-to-understand bulleted copy focusing only on the facts you need to know, Medical Physiology: The Big Picture - Medical Course and Step 1 provides text and videos, all in one location to help the reader better comprehend content. This complete, yet concise treatment covers all the major topics in medical physiology.
You’ll find chapters on neurophysiology, blood, cardiovascular physiology, pulmonary physiology, renal and acid base balance, the gastrointestinal system, the endocrine system, and reproductive physiology each of which includes video. Here is everything you need to learn and review physiology quickly and efficiently.
This invaluable resource features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science
This new text touches on policy issues but expands coverage to practical structural, analytic, data, and research methods used to improve the delivery of healthcare. There has always been a big gap between the people who deliver healthcare and those who study ways to improve healthcare. That is what this book is about. It includes super practical chapters and features that allow readers at all levels to develop a whole new set of tools to improve healthcare delivery whether they are on the delivery side or on the systems science side.
The book is divided into three Parts: Defining Healthcare Delivery Science; Tools to Improve Healthcare Delivery; and How to Use Analytics in Healthcare. The book includes excellent practical features to aid learning and retention, including Case Examples; Key Points; Cautions; and Links to External Resources.
The audience for this new book includes medical education and training; NP and PA education; allied health; health administration and leadership; and undergraduate programs in heath management which are spreading rapidly.
Today’s healthcare system is profoundly complicated, but we persist in trying to roll out breakthroughs as if the healthcare system were still just the straightforward “physician’s workshop” of the early 20th century. Only rarely do we employ research-quality analytics to assess how well our care delivery innovations really work in the practice. And shockingly, the US healthcare delivery system spends only 0.1% of revenue on R&D in how we actually deliver care.
Small wonder that we find ourselves faced with the current medical paradox: Treatments that seemed miraculous at the beginning of our lifetimes are routine today, but low-quality care and medical errors harm millions of people worldwide even as spiraling healthcare costs bankrupt an unacceptable number of American families every year.
Healthcare delivery science bridges this gap between scientific research and complex, real-world healthcare delivery and operations.
With its engaging, clinically relevant style, Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science is the perfect introduction to this emerging field. This reader-friendly text pairs a thorough discussion of commonly available healthcare improvement tools and top-tier research methods with numerous case studies that put the content into a clinically relevant framework, making this text a valuable tool for administrators, researchers, and clinicians alike.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Understanding Clinical Research
Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight--and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics.
The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples--drawn from the authors' broad experience--that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, 16e
Now in full color, the #1 text spanning the fields of public health and preventive medicine brings you fully up to date on the issues and topics you need to know.
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine has been updated and revised for the first time in more than a decade. This highly anticipated and extensive edition provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health.
The most comprehensive resource of its kind, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine is the clear choice for anyone seeking a career in public health.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Occupational and Environmental Medicine, 6e
An updated and comprehensive guide to occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses, their diagnosis and treatment, and preventive measures in the workplace and community.
Complete and concise, this clinically focused book is the go-to reference for health care professionals in all specialties who diagnose and treat acute and chronic occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses. In addition to clinical management and toxicology, the text covers important aspects of multidisciplinary occupational health and safety practice including ethical principles, disability management, workers’ compensation, medical monitoring, and health risk assessment.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 6e
The definitive guide to the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine fully updated with the latest advances in the field. Fishman’s Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With nearly 2500 illustrations, 60 videos, and 22,000 references, this peerless, two-volume resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in health and disease.
You’ll find detailed coverage of the broad array of disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms, respiratory infections, and respiratory failure. In addition, you’ll learn about all the latest advances, including molecular development of the lung, stem cells and respiratory disease, the genetics of pulmonary disease, the growth of personalized medicine, technical advances in lung transplantation, and much more.
Notable new content in the 6th edition includes discussion of the respiratory effects of vaping, detailed consideration of the idiopathic interstitial pneumonitides, state-of the-art discussion of lung nodules, a summary of the use of immunotherapy in the treatment of lung cancer, COVID-19-related lung disease and its management, and a comprehensive discussion of noninvasive ventilation, including its use in ambulatory and ICU settings. In addition, new chapters on cystic lung disease, lung cancer screening, the lung microbiome, developmental lung disorders, nocardiosis and actinomycosis, and application of ECMO are included.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e
The definitive guide to the use of mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients – now in full color and updated to reflect the latest advances. Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e, provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation.
Editor Martin J. Tobin – past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine – has enlisted more than 100 authors, all of whom are at the forefront of research in their chosen subfield in order to provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information possible. No other text so thoroughly and comprehensively explores the myriad advances in modes and methodologies that have occurred in this ever-changing field as this cornerstone text.
Features:
Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e, comprehensively covers the principles and practice of keeping patients alive through the use of mechanical ventilation, along with related pharmacological and technical issues.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine. For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine.
Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems.
Features:
If you’re in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology—one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-Of-Care Ultrasound
A unique pocket guide to the use of ultrasound at the point of care. Lately, there has been an enormous amount of interest in the use of ultrasound for both procedural and diagnostic guidance at the point of care. Understanding that physicians both in practice and in training have limited time, Pocket Guide to POCUS has been intentionally and thoughtfully designed to be a portable quick reference to real-world clinical situations.
Pocket Guide to POCUS provides tips and reminders for issues and challenges encountered at the point of care. Questions such as what images to acquire, and how to get them are addressed as well as a quick glance at pathology in comparison to a normal image. For learners at all levels, this pocket guide will minimize the angst of scanning and prevent some of the more common pitfalls the authors have observed over their more than 50 cumulative years’ experience.
Each chapter of the book is divided into four sections:
This information is conveniently located on cards that can be removed from the book and brought with you to the bedside. You can take notes on the cards, check off the scans that you’ve done, and of course, refer to them in order to provide your patients with the best care possible.
(Source: McGraw Hill)
A well-illustrated, systems-based primer on learning radiologic imaging. Basic Radiology is the easiest and most effective way for medical students, residents, and clinicians not specializing in radiologic imaging to learn the essentials of diagnostic test selection, application, and interpretation. This trusted guide is unmatched in its ability to teach you how to select and request the most appropriate imaging modality for a patient’s presenting symptoms and familiarize yourself with the most common diseases that current radiologic imaging can best evaluate.
Features:
(Source: McGraw Hill)
Auscultation Classroom provides students with the ability to hear an abnormal heart sound, while simultaneously watching a graphic of the intracardiac abnormality that is occurring. The students learn proper auscultation techniques for each murmur. The modules also discuss basics regarding clinical findings associated with the murmurs. This method of learning is designed to help students grasp this difficult concept and solidify their understanding. The target audience includes medical students, NP students, and PA students.
Each module offers an introductory slide, an auscultation points slide, and a final slide. Please ensure that the user has the volume at an appropriate level to hear the murmur. If the volume is low, the murmur will not be heard.
Diagnostic and Imaging Studies includes over 30,000 world-class images useful for diagnosis that can be downloaded. We have more than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in multiple specialties, including:
Harrison’s Pathophysiology Animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the University of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking in other medical animations.
Harrison’s Podclass provides illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review. The episodes are a user-friendly 4-8 minutes in length. AccessMedicine is mobile optimized, so you can open in a browser and listen on-the-go. Currently features over 100 new audio and podclasses.
These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where Male Complete Anatomy Module and Female Complete Anatomy Module can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.
Anatomy Module Features:
Expand: Provide your learners with more space to immerse in your interactive 3D experience with our new Expand mode. When embedded on desktop or Android (not available on iOS), learners can now expand the browser to span the entire screen without having to leave your page or open a new tab.
Tools: We're introducing a dedicated, and more scalable, toolbar that will promote exploration of the 3D model. "Dissect" is now called "Hide," and we're now giving users access to the "Fade" effect from Human Studio which will allow you to make a structure transparent. Dissection for removal by layers and structures, object tree, tools to identify and rotate.
Help: We've dramatically improved our "Help" experience with richer graphics that show learners on how to interact with the model and a comprehensive 3D interaction key that changes based on the device the learner is using (desktop or mobile).
Anatomy Descriptions: Learners will now have the option of reading more about specific anatomical structures as they explore. When available, individual structures will be linked to Wikipedia descriptions, which are generally sourced from Gray's Anatomy.
Anatomy Search: Learners will now be able to search for specific anatomical structures in your model by name or browse through all of the structures contained in the model in the Anatomy Tree. They can then click on the name to locate and zoom in on the structure in the model. The Anatomy Tree is now contained within the new Anatomy Search tool (right side of the search bar, tree icon).
Reset: Refresh the 3D model without having to reload the page.
Human Anatomy Tours:
Regional Anatomy and Focused Anatomy Modules:
Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. These lectures are covered in the license for educational purposes and include the following categories:
Patient Interview Videos are of high quality and demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations. This resource addresses some of the “softer skills” in medical education and helps to teach emotional intelligence.
Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment.
The current course includes three modules. Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety.
We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.
The Core Concepts in Patient Safety Course has been developed through a collaboration of nurses, physicians, pharmacists, and educators and is designed to be an inter-professional curriculum.
Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe. These videos are based on and supplement DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11e, available in the AccessMedicine Library.
The video collection in AccessMedicine offers users a collection of hundreds of detailed procedural videos online designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules. The videos are organized by different categories, such examination and evaluation, physiologic areas, including:
View the complete video library in AccessMedicine at this link.
Multimedia items come with their own unique durable URLs found in the browser URL link at the top and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS course page, lecture slides, syllabus, etc. See the "Linking to Content" box in this guide to find out more about linking to content on AccessMedicine for course integration.
In each video, users can take advantage of the player tools found in the menu in the video, including to share and download. The accompanying transcript is available for each video on AccessMedicine.
S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast
For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.
For institutional accounts:
For individual subscribers:
Feedback:
Cases in AccessMedicine provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, references, and a comprehensive quiz. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS course page, lecture slides, syllabus, etc. See the "Linking to Content" box in this guide to find out more about linking to content on AccessMedicine for course integration.
Click here to view all cases on AccessMedicine, including:
Study Tools in AccessMedicine provides thousands of review Q&A for board exam preparation and recertification and other resources, including:
The AccessMedicine User Guide walks the user through a step-by-step self-guided tour of the site, including information outlining all of the resources available in AccessMedicine. Select the PDF document below to download the AccessMedicine User Guide.
Webinar Series
To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com.