Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessMedicine: Murtagh Collection

About

AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection, or Murtagh Collection for short, provides an indispensable source of information for medical professionals and students alike. For more than 20 years, John Murtagh’s General Practice has been regarded throughout Australasia as the authoritative reference for practicing and aspiring GPs. The seventh edition of John Murtagh’s General Practice includes updates to sexual health and cervical cancer screening, mental health diagnosis and treatment, and chronic disorders which forms the backbone of this digital collection.

Developed over 20 years, the success of this collection stems from the fact that the content is written from the point of view of an experienced general practitioner, underscored by John Murtagh’s diagnostic strategy model. The easy-to-read texts in this collection are coupled with numerous illustrations and photographs and are invaluable, trusted references.

Searching

The search feature in Murtagh Collection is simple and easy to use. 

Search:

  • Search for resources across all content types
  • Auto-suggest appears as you type (can be disabled)
  • You can "phrase search" using quotations
  • Get the same search results by combining terms together or by using AND
    • e.g., asthma pediatrics = asthma AND pediatrics

Search Builder:

To the left of your search results, search builder allows you to:

  • Focus the search by modifying your terms (keyword, title, author, ISBN)
  • Filter results by format (chapter, tables, cases, images, multimedia, etc.)
  • Select textbooks to see results by specific titles 
  • Narrow results by topics

Federated Search:

A federated search expands your results from Murtagh Collection to include results from other McGraw Hill Access Medical sites. 

  • Use the dropdown menu to the left of the search bar to select federated search
  • Search builder elements above apply
  • Green dot indicates the item is available in your subscription 

MARC Records / KBART Title Lists

For more information about McGraw Hill MARC Records and KBART Title lists, including how to receive updates and download records, visit the Access User Center at this link.

Literature

From the homepage in Murtagh Collection, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Murtagh Collection’s unique set of texts can be browsed through the carousel or viewed as an exportable list.

The collection comprises multiple resources including Murtagh’s General Practice, 7/E, the gold standard reference and most influential publication for general practice and primary health care. Together, these resources provide an indispensable source of information for medical professionals and students alike.

Also, John Murtagh’s Cautionary Tales, 3/E, is featured in the collection with new co-author, Sara Bird, who brings a medico-legal perspective to the case studies.

John Murtagh’s General Practice Companion Handbook, 7/E, with new co-author, Dr. Clare Murtagh, brings an early year doctor perspective to the resource.

Murtagh's Practice Tips, 8/E, is a practical, comprehensive resource for busy GPs. It includes simple, clear diagrams and step-by-step instructions to guide them in the management of the most common presenting conditions in their practice. Practice tips includes updates throughout, as well as new content, particularly in the areas of:

  • Wounds and suturing
  • Dressings for burns
  • Lost fillings and crowns
  • CPR in children
  • Nasal irrigation
  • Eustachian tube dysfunction and glue ear

Murtagh's Patient Education, 8/Eprovides busy GPs with a carefully curated collection of concise, easy-to-understand one-page information sheets, covering the most common presenting conditions that doctors can distribute to patients providing them with helpful information to assist them with understanding their condition.

Most of the existing topics in Murtagh's Patient Education have been revised, including major updates to women's health topics; a new mental health section has been created; and 22 new sheets have been added, including:

  • The Australian National Immunization Program Schedule
  • Ovarian cancer
  • Dengue fever
  • Advanced care planning

Additionally, this edition includes major updates to additional women’s health topics such as Domestic Violence, the Combined Pill, Endometriosis, cervical cancer screening and HPV. The new topics include:

  • The infection listeria
  • Toxoplasmosis and Zika virus
  • Genetic disorders: Cystic fibrosis and Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA)
  • Body mass index and BMI ready reckoner
  • Fertility awareness and family planning

In general release for the first time as part of this collection, Murtagh’s Diagnostic Strategies is a quick, handy diagnostic reference for general practitioners and a useful tool for student revision. Also, it is an ideal resource for exam preparation, in particular for the Key Feature Problems component of the RACGP fellowship examination. It is practical, user friendly, and succinctly covers all common problems.

Cases

Murtagh Collection also includes two text resources to facilitate case-based learning. All cases are enabled with durable URLs which can be copied from the browser and embedded into an LMS. Case quiz results can be emailed to an instructor.

Clinical Cases for General Practice Exams, 4/E

  • This book is designed to help medical students and doctors practice clinical cases likely to be seen by Australian general practitioners. This edition includes 86 clinical cases. Each case consists of instructions for the doctor and role-playing patient and a suggested approach, a case commentary, references and recommended further reading. The cases are written in note form as is usual practice in clinical records.
  • By default, the cases are presented by case topic organized into different categories from the text, such as adolescent health and aged care. Users can change this default view to view cases by case number which is a trick to use to challenge yourself so you will not know the topic of the case beforehand.
  • The cases in this text provide a case scenario; instructions for doctor and patient, including patient history; suggestions for how to approach the patient’s case, including examination and management; and a case commentary with common pitfalls, references, and suggestions for further reading.

General Practice Cases

  • The default view of these cases is by case number though they also are organized by content and conceptual categories covered in the text.
  • There are 76 cases supported by 136 questions covering travel medicine to depression.
  • These cases include a case overview and a quiz assessment the results of which can be printed or emailed to other users, such as instructors. Quizzes can also be retaken.
  • A key panel on the right hand side records the number of cases viewed, completed or unopened so that the user can attempt the cases over a period of time and easily keep track of their progress.

 

Renaming Quizzes

In Murtagh Collection, you can rename review quizzes you have completed. In your MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in, Murtagh Collection), under the "My Review Questions" tab, you can select the "Rename" pen tool beside any quiz you wish to rename. This is useful for sharing quiz results.

Click the link below to view a tutorial on how to rename quizzes in your MyAccess profile in Murtagh Collection or visit the Access User Center at this link.

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to User Services for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

How-To: Overview Video

Watch this video showing how to use Murtagh Collection and for more information about the content.

Murtagh Collection Overview Video

Patient Education

The Patient Education handouts in Murtagh Collection provide:

  • Customizable handouts with comprehensive, reliable healthcare information available in adults, pediatrics, and medicines advisors in multiple languages.
  • If you are signed into your MyAccess profile, you can customize the handout.

NOTE: The tutorial and handout below demonstrate use of Patient Ed items in AccessMedicine, but the concepts apply to use of Patient Ed items in Murtagh Collection.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with Murtagh Collection and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in Murtagh Collection. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site.

  • Create a MyAccess Profile: To learn more about how to create a free MyAccess profile, select the PDF link below or visit the Access User Center at this link
  • Reset Your Password: To learn how to reset your MyAccess profile password, watch this tutorial on the Access User Center

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in Murtagh Collection through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in Murtagh Collection via durable URLs, please visit the Access User Center at this link.

Hypothes.is

Hypothes.is is a free platform annotation tool in Murtagh Collection. To learn more, select the PDF guide link below or watch a tutorial on the Access User Center at this link.