Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AccessDermatologyDxRx: Getting Started

What Is AccessDermatologyDxRx?

AccessDermatologyDxRx is a comprehensive resource for all physicians and other healthcare providers including medical students, dermatology residents, internists, oncologists, and infectious disease specialists. With thousands of images that include all of the essential information to help you with clinical decision-making, this resource covers the full scope of dermatologic conditions.

Why is AccessDermatologyDxRx unique?

AccessDermatologyDxRx provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in resident education and clinical practice through these exclusive interactive features:

  • Leading textbooks – Fully-searchable surgical references including the world’s leading texts, including Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, 9/E.
  • Robust Multimedia Library – A unique collection of videos, including biopsies, dermatologic surgery, general dermatology, suturing techniques, and vein treatment.
  • Review Textbooks – Hundreds of review Q&A designed to help users prepare for exams from Barnhill's Dermatopathology Challenge: Self-Assessment & Review.

Visit the AccessDermatologyDxRx support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with AccessDermatologyDxRx and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessDermatologyDxRx. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site.

  • Create a MyAccess Profile: To learn how to create a free MyAccess profile, visit the Access User Center at this link.

Multimedia

A variety of multimedia are available in AccessDermatologyDxRx, including:

  • Biopsies
  • Dermatologic Surgery
  • General Dermatology
  • Suturing Techniques
  • Vein Treatment
  • Animations
  • Clinical Dermatology

Click here to view the complete video library on AccessDermatologyDxRx.

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessDermatologyDxRx through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessDermatologyDxRx via durable URLs, please visit the Access User Center at this link.

Overview of AccessDermatologyDxRx

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessDermatologyDxRx, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check out the Complete Full-Text Library.

Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, 9/E

The acclaimed masterwork of dermatology reinvented by an all new editorial team.

For nearly half a century Fitzpatrick’s has been recognized worldwide as the field of dermatology’s cornerstone text. This trusted classic covers all of the essentials, from the basic science of the skin to the day-to-day clinical issues of managing common skin disorders. Backed by the expertise of more than 500 world-renowned contributors, it is the reference of choice for clinicians, students, and educators.  Fitzpatrick’s skillful blending of science and clinical medicine is matched only by its scope, level of detail, and quality of presentation.

The ninth edition continues this tradition of excellence with sweeping changes designed to make it even more relevant to today’s practice and education. 

The all-new Fitzpatrick’s:

  • New editors diverse in expertise and international in location of practice have endeavored to build on the achievements of previous editions, while providing fresh insight into the content and new thinking regarding optimal structure of the book
  • Reorganized and updated content – important general basic science concepts are extensively covered in dedicated chapters appearing at the beginning of the book, allowing subsequent clinical chapters to focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, in addition to clinical features, diagnosis, clinical course, and management
  • Unmatched visual presentation includes more than 3,000 illustrations, including more than 2,700 full-color photographs; all tables and At-A-Glance boxes are either new or completely revised
  • An improved index to speed you to the information you require about a concept, condition, or therapy

Clinical Dermatology

A comprehensive single-volume text on clinical dermatology.

Featuring a strong focus on diagnosis and treatment, Clinical Dermatology is a concise yet thorough guide to 100 of the most common dermatologic conditions. This latest addition to the LANGE Clinical series is enriched by a full-color presentation and a logical, easy-to-use organization.

More than 250 full-color illustrations Divided into three sections, including "Pearls" and "Pitfalls" throughout the text:

  • Fundamentals of Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Common Skin Diseases
  • Problem Based Dermatology (which includes cases)

Cosmeceuticals and Cosmetic Ingredients

This text helps skin-care professionals understand topical drug delivery through cosmeceuticals, the scientific basis of cosmetic ingredients, and the challenges of using either in a skin care regimen.

The author addresses myths and misconceptions about specific ingredients and carefully details what each can and cannot do. It provides an unbiased brand neutral approach along with detailed information and references to published evidence.

Cosmeceuticals and Cosmetic Ingredients is logically divided into ten sections:

  • Cleansing Agents
  • Moisturizing Agents
  • Barrier Repair Ingredients
  • Skin Lightening Agents
  • Antioxidants
  • Vitamins
  • Other Ingredients (Coenzyme Q10, Ginger, Honey, etc.)
  • Anti-Inflammatory Agents
  • Anti-Acne Ingredients
  • Anti-Aging Ingredients

Color Atlas of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2/E

An all-in-one atlas of cosmetic dermatology covering diagnosis, treatment, and procedures.

450 full-color illustrations

Color Atlas of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2e describes both the medical and surgical management of all common cosmetic skin problems. Featuring 450 full-color illustrations and concise bulleted text, the book provides a succinct yet broad review of cosmetic therapy. Covering consultation, management, treatment, and side effects of numerous cosmetic procedures, Cosmetic Atlas of Dermatology features an accessible design perfect for busy practitioners or trainees who require a quick, comprehensive reference for approaching the cosmetic patient.

The consistent presentation includes an overview of a particular condition, cosmetic treatment options, and step-by-step procedural guidance for treatment, side-by-side with pre- and post-treatment color photographs. Dosage guidelines for medical treatments, descriptions/photos/techniques for surgical options, key details on the set-up of each procedure, and a review of the necessary equipment are also provided.


Lasers and Related Technologies in Dermatology

The essential A-Z guide to skin rejuvenation using lasers and related technology.

This comprehensive, yet streamlined book takes you step by step through all current technologies for skin rejuvenation of the face and other areas of the body. Turn to any chapter, and you'll find crystal-clear guidance on the proper operation of each device, along with turnkey insights on their underlying science and clinical indications.

Lasers & Related Technologies in Dermatology begins with a helpful overview of the fundamentals of lasers and related technology, then progresses to chapters which methodically explain the treatment of cutaneous vascular lesions, pigmented lesions, and tattoos. Subsequent chapters highlight such pivotal interventions as body contouring and technology-assisted fat removal; acne treatment; photodynamic therapy; and treatment of leg veins.

FEATURES:

  • Practical, easy-to-apply coverage of the newest, most clinically relevant lasers and related devices, including laser/light devices, ultrasound, radiofrequency, and other must-know technologies for skin rejuvenation
  • Important survey of the basics of lasers and related technology, including the introduction of the theory of selective photothermolysis and the pulsed dye laser, now used for the treatment of vascular conditions, scars, and inflammatory conditions
  • Chapter introductions, patient history sections, chapter-ending conclusions, and full reference citations support key chapter concepts and provide opportunities for further study

Sclerotherapy and Vein Treatment, 2/E

Includes procedure tutorial on DVD!

Widely acclaimed in its first edition, Sclerotherapy and Vein Treatment, 2/E, spans the entire scope of diagnosing and treating varicose and telangiectatic veins.

Reflecting both medical and surgical alternatives, this comprehensive, yet practical, guide offers cutting-edge insights from some of the world’s most prominent experts on the management of venous disease. You will find step-by-step procedural guidance, supported by hundreds of superb full-color illustrations that add clarity to the text and depict the techniques of successful cannulation.

Features:

  • Provides a hands-on overview of medical and surgical techniques
  • Covers the latest advances, including:
    • New diagnostic technologies
    • Micro-phlebectomy
    • Foam sclerotherapy
    • Lasers and high intensity pulsed light Includes contraindications
    • Difficult problems
    • Complications
    • Case studies of common problems

Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair

This book presents the building blocks of suturing and wound repair in an at-a-glance, economical atlas format. Unique to this atlas are Dr. Kantor's tips and pearls for each technique, as well as the caveats of drawbacks and cautions. Each method is diagrammatically illustrated and many are supplemented by the online videos.

In its pages, the author shares his vast expertise and helps other physicians across varied specialties improve outcomes for patients requiring repair of any wound. Starting with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, the atlas then moves on to equipment, positioning, and other key principles. The next section covers 25 suture techniques, providing detailed step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, the last section covers each area of anatomy, guiding the practitioner in what suture to use when, how to modify certain sutures in specific locations, and even how to prepare and execute skin grafts.


Dermatologic Surgery

Introducing the book that bridges the gap between a dermatologic surgery textbook and a dedicated flap and reconstructive guide.

Dermatologic Surgery is a unique resource that offers the benefits of both a single-volume multi-author global dermatologic surgery textbook and a dedicated flap and reconstructive reference. Conveniently organized by flap type as well as regional approach, it offers by far the most comprehensive flap and reconstruction sections of any general dermatologic surgery book. 

The book’s content breakdown attempts to reflect the proportion of time, effort, and training required for a given subject. For example, there are five full chapters (in addition to numerous other sections) dedicated to Mohs surgery. Similarly, a total of 17 richly illustrated chapters, including those devoted to particular flap techniques and regional approaches to reconstruction, address flap and graft closures. Since anatomy is the foundation on which all surgery is built, the anatomy chapter was built on a true ground-up cadaveric study of head and neck anatomy with an eye to clinical relevance. 

Full-length high-quality videos are an essential adjunct to learning procedural techniques, and this text includes the largest video resource of its kind ever compiled. This coupled with almost 3,000 high-quality clinical photographs and nearly 500 professional medical illustrations, including infographics with surgical pearls for each chapter – many bolstered by beginner tips, expert tips, cautions, patient education points, and even billing tips – make this a true primer for real-world skin surgery practice.

Barnhill's Dermatopathology, 4/E

The definitive survey of diagnostic dermatopathology—and the single-best resource for addressing differential diagnosis at the microscopic level.

For virtually every kind of skin lesion, this skill-sharpening resource has everything clinicians need to successfully perform differential diagnosis at the microscopic level. Barnhill's Dermatopathology features a systematic, algorithmic approach that cuts through the complexity of the discipline’s traditional disease-oriented focus, providing a ready-to-use diagnostic tool that puts the entire world of dermatopathology into perspective. 

This classic has won acclaim as the only dermatology pathology resource  that is valuable for both teaching and for clinical practice  and differential diagnosis. While other references may be more exhaustive, denser, or larger, none are more clinically useful as Barnhill's Dermatopathology. With 25% of the dermatology board and recertification examination consisting of dermatopathology topics, this is also an outstanding board review tool. 

Filled with hundreds of color photomicrographs, the book features a clear five-part organization and nearly forty detailed chapters—each reflecting the scientifically rigorous, up-to-date insights of authors who are acknowledged experts in the field. The book’s vast scope encompasses all skin disease processes—inflammatory, non-inflammatory, infections, and proliferations (harmatomas, hyperplasias, and neoplasms, plus disorders of nails and oral mucosa).

• Includes Online Bonus Content
• Increased number of full-color images
• Numerous tables assist clinicians differentiate similar conditions from one another
• New chapters on laboratory methods and stains, and updated immunohistochemistry content

Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/E

Includes all-new videos at: mhprofessional.com/mediacenter. 

More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care

One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Eighth Edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.

Features:

• Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition
• A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease
• ICD-10 codes are included for each disease
• Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy
• Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations


Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color, 2/E

The highly anticipated update of the complete textbook of dermatologic science and practice focusing on the care of patients with moderately to heavily pigmented skin – 21 new chapters with more than 900 photographs!

Dermatology for Skin of Color, 2/E, is a comprehensive reference that thoroughly details every aspect of dermatologic science as it applies to skin of color – from the development of the skin to the biology of hair and nails. All commonly encountered dermatologic problems of Africans, Asians, Arabs, Native Americans, and other peoples are covered, as are other diseases with significant skin manifestations.

This second edition is significantly expanded with 21 new chapters covering dermatology for geriatric, adolescent, and pregnant patients, as well as depigmenting agents, viral infections, cutaneous manifestation of internal malignancy, neurofibromatosis, tuberous sclerosis, photoaging, photosensivity, laser treatment for skin-tightening, toxins and fillers, cosmetic practices in Mexico, effects of tattooing and piercing, sickle cell disease, drug eruptions, and the biology of oral mucosa. It also features many more clinical pictures and improved organization.

Extensively illustrated with more than 900 full-color photos, Dermatology for Skin of Color provides comprehensive coverage of medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment options, pediatric dermatology, differences between skin of color and Caucasian skin, differences between ethnic groups with skin of color, and important basic science information on the structure and function of skin of color. In addition, folk remedies and over-the-counter treatments specifically targeting this population are covered.

Weinberg's Color Atlas of Pediatric Dermatology, 5/E

More than 1,000 superb full-color photographs help you diagnose common and rare pediatric skin disorders.

Weinberg’s Color Atlas of Pediatric Dermatology, 5/E, delivers an unsurpassed collection of more than 1,000 full-color images that provide invaluable guidance for the diagnosis of both common and rare skin disorders of neonates, infants, and children. Trusted by clinicians for more than forty years, this classic reference has been hailed for its clear, high-quality, full-color photographs and concise yet informative textual summaries.

For each condition reviewed in the text, one or more clinical photographs are included, making differential diagnosis faster, easier, and more accurate. A brief, yet thorough overview of important clinical features, etiology, prognosis, and the most current therapeutic approaches is included for each disorder illustrated. Every page reflects the book's magnificent atlas format, with photographs linked to concise text that authoritatively describes the condition illustrated in each image, along with, in most cases, a one-sentence summary of suggested treatment protocols.

Features:

• More than 400 new full-color images to facilitate speedy diagnosis
• New treatment modalities are included when applicable, reflecting the very latest clinical findings and treatment guidelines
• Revised and refreshed legends throughout the text highlight the latest thinking in pediatric dermatology practice
• An essential resource for patient education

Cosmetic Dermatology for Skin of Color

We often ask our experts in their specialties to consider patients of different ethnic and racial types, including Black, Latino, Asian, Middle and Far Eastern, and South Asian patients. Such patients are in some ways similar, and in other ways different, in their cosmetic dermatology needs.

Much of the currently burgeoning demand for cosmetic dermatology emanates from Latin America, the Middle East, and the Far East. Fortunately, improvements in technology have made the treatment of pigmented skin more feasible. For instance, long-pulsed Nd:YAG lasers can be used to safely remove hair in darker-skinned patients, and gentler fractionated lasers can resurface the skin of Indian, African American, and Asian persons without a high risk of pigment change.

The purpose of this text is to collate information about cosmetic procedures in pigmented skin. We define “pigmented skin” or “ethnic skin” as any skin darker than fair Caucasian skin. Thus, pigmented skin includes the darker skin of the Mediterranean; of Africa; of indigenous ethnic areas such as those populated by Native American aboriginal peoples; of India and the Near East; of the Middle East; of the Far East, Latin America  and the Caribbean. Of course, many patients have mixed ethnic heritage. Both genetic endowment and environmental factors will influence an individual patient's suitability for certain cosmetic procedures.

To make the text more useful, they authors have subdivided the content into small parts. Most chapters are only 1000 to 2500 words in length and hence can be easily digested in a single, brief sitting.

No book on cosmetic dermatology would be complete without a section on Cosmeceuticals. Because these constitute a gentle form of noninvasive therapy and because certain Cosmeceuticals may be better suited for patients with skin of color, we have included a chapter on such topical therapies as a transition to the last part of the text.

Dermatologic Therapeutics: A Pocket Guide

The most comprehensive guide to dermatologic drug therapy.

This simple-to-use drug reference provides quick access to skin conditions and the drugs used to treat them. Edited and compiled by leading physicians, Dermatologic Therapeutics: A Pocket Guide, is not just a listing of drugs, but an authoritative pocket reference to help you treat skin disorders on-the-spot.

Features:

  • Skin disorders are listed in an easy-to-use A-to-Z format from Acanthosis nigricans to xerosis
  • More than 100 drugs are listed alphabetically by generic name, both topical and oral, with references to trade names
  • Data is cross-referenced—diseases to drugs, and drugs to diseases—for easy searching
  • Includes key information on contraindications and side effects

AccessDermatologyDxRx features a variety of content concerning diversity in medicine, education, and practice. As part of McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity in our content, the resources here represent what is currently available on AccessDermatologyDxRx, which is a dynamic site featuring regular updates, concerning diversity in medicine. Resources from AccessDermatologyDxRx highlighted on this page include textbooks, chapters, and cases, including:

You can read more about McGraw Hill's commitment to inclusion and diversity at: https://www.mheducation.com/about/inclusion-diversity.html

Review Questions

The Review Questions tab in AccessDermatologyDxRx provides: 

  • Review Questions texts which are great for self-assessment with review Q&A designed to help residents, clerks, and physicians. Users can generate random and custom quizzes, and the results can be emailed.
  • Generate randomized and customized quizzes review questions.

Barnhill's Dermatopathology Challenge: Self-Assessment & Review:

The only fully-illustrated, full-color, question and answer review of dermatologic pathology.

Barnhill’s Dermatopathology Challenge: Self- Assessment & Review provides you with both a practical self-assessment tool and a comprehensive review, all in one compact volume. Covering pertinent clinical and histopathologic encountered in private and academic dermatopathology practice, it enables you to gain a comprehensive understanding of this critical subspecialty area.

This unique book tests your depth of knowledge about cutaneous clinicopathologic correlation through a series of more than 400 illustrated clinical vignette-style questions encompassing over 700 diagnostic entities. Each vignette is accompanied by a detailed explanation discussing relevant clinical and histopathological differential diagnoses. Additionally, each entity covered offers a summary table for rapid review and concise “quick fact” tables that highlight important diagnostic findings.

The high quality images present classic examples of conditions encountered in clinical practice and on board certification exams. Many were taken from the Textbook of Dermatopathology by Barnhill, widely acknowledged as the best resource for differential diagnosis in this field.

Features:

  • Material covered accounts for 25% of the dermatology board and recertification examinations – passing the dermatopathology portion of the exam is required to pass the overall exam
  • Two-page format lets you view the unlabeled image and questions without having to cover the answers
  • All images are clearly labeled to help you learn and review diagnostic features

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Quick Reference

AccessDermatologyDxRx features a robust image gallery from Fitzpatrick’s Dermatology Flashcards for quick reference and to facilitate diagnosis in the clinical setting.

Cases

The Cases tab in AccessDermatologyDxRx provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from the LANGE Clinical Dermatology Cases which presents challenging cases that are commonly seen in primary care. A brief history, a clinical photograph, differential diagnosis options and an explanation of the likely diagnosis are covered.  These real-world cases present an opportunity for medical students, trainees and clinicians to improve their skills in the diagnosis and treatment of skin diseases.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 
  • To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com